Sorting Clerks and Telegraph Learners-George Aaron Beale (Birmingham), Maud Mary Cassera (Birmingham), Thomas Arthur Kesterton (Lichfield), Elizabeth Brash M'Luckie (St. Andrews).

Postmen—Herbert Bunning (Peterborough), John O'Connor Carter (Norwich), Joseph 'Taylor (Tamworth), John Tissiman (York).

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 4th June 1870.

Foreign Office :---Staff Officer in the Chief Clerk's Department----Walter Rea Wallis.

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY MESSENGER.

Thomas Blake.

February 1, 1896.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

- Boy Clerks—Bertram Cecil Brambleby, Christopher Byrne, Reginald John Harrison, Alexander Horn, James Mead, Frank Harold Morris, Vincent Charles Mountfort, John Edward Douglas Samuel, John James Scott.
- Post Office: Female Clerks, London-Elizabeth Needham, Isabel Florence Gertrude Strangways.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Trinity House: Boy Clerk-James Ernest Alexander Hunter.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Prisons Department, Scotland: Female Warder-Annie Wylie.

Post Office: Postman, London-Charles William Hawgood.

Porter, London-William Squirrell.

Sorting Clerks and Telegraph Learners-James Coltman (Glasgow), Harry Gay (Derby), Annie Mary O'Sullivan (Cork).

Postmen — John Edwin Manning Allbutt (Bromsgrove), Frank Hubert Higgs (Bridgnorth), George Holliday (York), William Knott (Cardiff), John James Pearce (Richmond, Surrey), Alfred Quinnell (Richmond, Surrey).

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY MESSENGER.

Edwin Parker.

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

February 4, 1896.

In pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the under-mentioned Appointments and Trausfers in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of January 1896 :---

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty-Edward George Farrell, to be Chief Inspector of Shipping, Transport Department. Archibald Yair, to be Assistant Victualling Storekeeper in one of Her Majesty's Naval Yards.

John Arthur Frederick Jones d'Ernée, to be Supplementary Clerk (Abstractor Class).

- Agriculture, Board of—Thomas Webster Cowley, to be Civil Assistant (Higher Grade) on the Ordnance Survey.
- British Museum—Harry Reginald Holland Hall and Henry Symons, to be Assistants.
- Colonial Office Gilbert Edmund Augustine Grindle, to be Second Class Clerk (Class I.).
- Education Department-William Mulhall, to be Sub-Inspector (First Class).
- Foreign Office-Walter Rea Wallis, to be Staff Officer in the Chief Clerk's Department.
- Home Office—Jestyn Hume Nicholl, to be Inspector of Factories and Workshops.
- Inland Revenue Frederick Horner (otherwise Higginbottom), to be Supplementary Clerk (Abstractor Class).

Metropolitan Police Courts Service — Edward Keating Young Rigg, to be Clerk.

Post Office—George Balls Block, to be Postmaster (Aldeburgh).

Jane Maria Southgate, to be Sub-Postmistress (Wells, Fakenham).

Christine Annie Frances Adams, Maud Alice Bartholomew, Jane Butcher, Susan Marion Carey, Evelyn Elizabeth Compton, Florence Amanda Cooke, Hilda Maria Coombes, Agnes Marian Cox, Hanna Crowley, Agnes May Cumming, Josephine Duncan, Emma Teresa Mary Beatrice Graham, Kathleen Hight, Gertrude Elizabeth Howell, Eleanor Mary Iredale, Ethel Mary Le Plastrier, Katherine Mackintosh, Maria May Macpberson, Isabella Maxwell, Jeanie Cowan Parker, Dora Alice Patterson, Madeline Grace Potter, Eliza Rayner, Mabel Alice Sterling, Izabelle Boswell Weir, Mabel Louise Wilding, and Clara Emma Woodhead, to be Female Clerks.

Harry Ainslie Mann and William Charles James Sawyer, to be Junior Examiners in the Department of the Controller of Stores (Telegraphs).

- Register House Departments, Edinburgh—John Maitland Thomson, to be Curator in the Historical and Antiquarian Department.
- Supreme Court of Judicature (England)—Hugh Montgomery Drake and Arthur Owen Thomas, to be Third Class Clerks in the Central Office.
- Trade, Board of Francis Carruthers, James Edmond, Sidney Alexander Houghton, and John M'Ewan, to be Engineer Surveyors (Third Class) in the Marine Department.
- War Office—David Michael Boardman, Charles William Cooper, Henry James Edwards, Edwin Greengrass, Richard Stewart Harrison, Alfred Martinelli, Arthur Charles Pedley, Edmond John Riley, Robert de Montjoie Rudolf, Harry Archbutt Venables, Frederick Henry Warren, and Henry Owen Williams, to be Staff Clerks. Sydney Eugene Brattle, to be Abstractor.

CLERKS OF THE SECOND DIVISION.

Admiralty (for temporary duty)—Charles Gilbert Madin.