Female Telegraph Learners in the London Postal Districts—Maud Madeline Sparks, Ethel Louisa Trimby.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

British Museum: Boy Attendant—William Percy Winter.

Broadmoor Criminal Lunatic Asylum: Female Attendant (Third Class)—Ellen Emily Tyman.

Prisons Department, England: Subordinate Officer, Division II.—James Daniel M'Mullen.

Assistant Matron-Eliza Ann Boulton.

Prisons Department, Scotland: Warder-James Reid.

Prisons Service, Ireland: Warder — Francis M'Dyer.

Post Office: Sorting Clerks and Telegraph Learners
—John George Britton (Stowmarket), Charles
Thomas Callaghan (Coleraine), Herbert Charles
Churchill (Petersfield), Francis Elizabeth Clark
(Newcastle-on-Tyne), Eleanor Gold (Kendal),
Samuel Henry (Castle-Douglas), Nellie Jefferson
Hope (Sheffield), Florence Emily Langmaid
(Newport, Monmouthshire), Jane Fleming
Mustarde (Dunbar), Bernard William Ogden
Rider (Leeds), Gertrude Stembridge (Sheffield),
John George Turnbull (Newcastle-on-Tyne),
Edith Mand Voller (Guildford).

Postmen — Thomas Ashton (Shrewsbury) William Henry Brown (Brighton), Frederick Victor Higgins (Brighton), Thomas James Higgins (Croydon), Henry Hunt (Reading), Walter Kemp (Petersfield), John Hamer Milner (Manchester), Frederick Plested (Watford), Harry Robinson (Blackpool).

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY COPYISTS (NEW CLASS).

Charles Samuel Eltenton, Ethelbert Hall, Joseph John Haydock, Abraham Harvey Lyon, Edwin Byrom Murphy, Joseph Smith O'Loughlin.

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY MESSENGER.

Ignatius Heey.

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSIÓN, .

May 4, 1897.

In pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the under-mentioned Appointments and Promotion in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of April 1897:—

Al Pointments.

Admiralty—Alfred James Binney, George Lawrence Dodridge, and Thomas Hersey Powell, to be First Class Writers in the Naval Store Department of Her Majesty's Naval Yards.

Henry Louis Jonathan Masson, to be Junior Assistant Schoolmaster in Chatham Dockyard.

William Meyrick Bussell, John Hall Clifton, George Frederick Cotton, Percival Charles Franklin, Walter Goddard, John Greig and Ernest Robert Martin, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractor Class).

Agriculture, Board of—Henry Quinton, to be Civil Assistant (Higher Grade) on the Ordnance Survey.

Colonial Office: Frederick George Augustus Butler and Charles Thomas Davis, to be Second Class Clerks.

Consular Service—Henry Alexander Ramsden, to be Vice-Consul at Manila.

William Norman Dunn, to be Student Interpreter in China, Japan, or Siam.

Grosvenor Camille Henri de Jacobi du Vallon, Andrew Ryan, Harold Eustace Satow, and Avalon Shipley, to be Student Interpreters in the Ottoman Dominions, Persia, Greece, or Morocco.

Customs—Sydney George Howell, William Charles M Donald, Ernest Alfred Pattinson, Ernest Stuart Payne, James Smith, Henry Arthur Sydenham, and Edward Weatherhead, to be Tabulators or Assistant Clerks (Abstractor Class).

Education Department—Walter John Moulton and Thomas William Ward Whetnall, to be appointed to Minor Staff Posts.

Walter Edwin Brown, Alfred James Field, Charles Edward Hugo, Colin Murray M'Kenzie, Cyril Bennett Millard, Albert Ellis Short, and Thomas Jesse William Albert Sime Tait, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractor Class).

Foreign Office—Hugh William Galsford, to be Attaché in the Diplomatic Service, or Clerk on the Establishment of the Foreign Office.

Home Office—Henry Charles Digby Fearon, to be Inspector of Factories and Workshops.

William Davenport and Stephen Edward Penfold, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractor Class) in the Department of the Chief Inspector of Factories.

Inland Revenue—James Muir, to be Assistant Surveyor of Taxes.

William Carmichael, to be Examiner of Income Tax and Inhabited House Duty Arrears in the Office of the Comptroller of Stamps and Taxes, Edinburgh.

William Harry Wright, to be appointed to a Minor Staff Post.

John Radforde, to be appointed to a Minor Staff Post in the Accountant and Comptroller General's Department.

Irish Land Commission—Henry George Carson, Edward Patrick Joseph Flynn, John James Gilfoyle, Edward John Gillgan, William John Good, John Howe, Joseph Patrick Kennedy, Francis Kiernan, John Long, James Joseph Macnamara, Francis Joseph Maguire, James O'Brien, William James Redmond, and Thomas Talty, to be Abstractors in the Church Property Department.

Local Government Board (England)—Florence Kate Dunthorne and Louisa Mary Sutton, to be Female Typists.

Patent Office—Arthur Nicholls, to be Assistant Examiner.