for many years to reign over a loyal and happy |

Signed in name and by authority of the County Council of the County Zetland.

> JOHN BRUCE, Convener of County. A. SUTHERLAND, County-Clerk.

To the QUEEN'S Most Excellent Majesty.

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR MAJESTY,-

We, the Lord Provost, Magistrates, and Council of the City and Royal Burgh of Aberdeen, beg to approach Your Majesty with the renewed assurance of our loyalty and attachment to Your Majesty's person and throne.

We desire specially to join with all classes of Your Majesty's subjects in offering our most cordial congratulations upon the completion of the sixtieth year of Your Majesty's auspicious reign, and in acknowledging with gratitude the many blessings which the Empire has enjoyed under Your long and beneficent rule.

Your Majesty's reign, which has extended over a period unparalleled in the history of the British Empire, has been singularly marked by the advance of literature, science, and art, the development of commercial and industrial enterprise, and the increase in the material prosperity of the nation. During its course Your Majesty's dominions have been largely extended, and the relations between the mother country and the colonies and dependencies have been consolidated and strengthened.

We also desire respectfully to recognise those personal virtues and graces which have characterised all the acts of Your Majesty's reign, and have exercised so powerful an influence upon all classes of society. The ready and unfailing sympathy which Your Majesty has extended to the suffering of every condition and rank has also shed an additional lustre around the throne, and inspired a deep feeling of affection in the

hearts of the nation.

We earnestly pray that the same Divine Providence which has protected and guided Your Majesty during Your long reign may preserve You for many years to come in health and strength, to be loved and venerated by a loyal and affectionate people.

Signed in name and by appointment of the Lord Provost, Magistrates, and Council, and the Seal of the City hereto affixed, this twenty-first day of June one thousand eight hundred and ninety-seven.

> D. Mearns, Lord Provost. W. GORDON, Town-Clerk:

And the following on the same subject from—

The Bishops of the Episcopal Church of Scotland. Rector, Principal, and Members of the University Court of the University of Aberdeen.

University Court and Senatus Academicus of the University of Glasgow.

The General Council of the University of Aberdeen.

The Clan Menzies.

Directors and other Office-Bearers of the Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary.

Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Biggar.

Dalkeith District Conservative Association.

Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council of Hamilton.

Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council of the Royal Burgh of Cupar.

County Council of Inverness-shire.

Provost, Bailies, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Kingussie.

Provost, Magistrates, and Councillors of the Royal Burgh of Dumbarton.

Members of Avondale Parish School Board.

Inhabitants of the Village of Howwood.

Presbytery of Arbroath.

Provost, Magistrates, and Councillors of the Royal Burgh of Ayr.

Inhabitants of the Parish of Cluny.

Office-Bearers and Members of the Grand Lodge of the Loyal Orange Institution of Scotland.

Provost, Magistrates, and Councillors of the Royal Burgh of Annan.

Inhabitants of the Burgh and Parish of Rothes. Office-Bearers and Brethren of the Masonic Lodge No. 111, Hawick.

Council and Members of the Scottish Society of Literature and Art.

Committee and Members of the Edinburgh Total Abstinence Society.

Inhabitants of the l'arish of Alford.

Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Saltcoats.

President, Patroness, Patrons, Chaplain, and Clerk and other Members of the Weem Curling Club.

Brethren of Alexandria and Bonhill St. Andrew's Royal Arch Lodge of Freemasons.

Sutherlandshire Liberal Unionist Association.

Gospel Temperance Society of Carrubbers Close

"Canongate Kilwinning" Lodge of Freemasons. Boys of the Royal High School of Edinburgh.

Provost, Bailies, and Councillors of the Royal Burgh of Lander.

Heritor, Parish Council, School Board, and Police Commissioners of the Burgh of Buckhaven, Methil and Innerleven, the ancient Burgh of West Wemyss, Public Bodies and Tradesmen, &c., residing therein.

Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Dufftown, and the School Board Members and Parish Councillors of Mortlach Parish.

Kelso Branch of the British Women's Temperance Association.

President and Members of the Edinburgh Society of Musicians.

Office-Bearers and Members of the Scottish Women's Protestant Union.

Inhabitants of the Parish of Airth.

Kirk Session of the Congregation of the Free Church of Scotland at Busby.

Magistrates and Town Council of the Royal Burgh of Arbroath.

School Board of the Parish of Maryhill.

Inhabitants of the Parish of Slains.

Members of the Kyles of Bute Habitation of the Primrose League.

Governors of Aberdeen Asylum for the Blind.

Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Girvan.

Magistrates, Councillors, and Burgesses of the Burgh of Girvan.

Council and other Members of the Scottish Institute of Accountants.

Provost, Magistrates, and Councillors of the Ancient and Royal Burgh of Jedburgh.