Surgeon-Lieutenaut (temporary Captain) C. B. Keenan, Lord Strathcona's Corps.

Captain H. A. Panet, Royal Canadian Artillery. Lieutenant A. E. Christie, Lord Strathcona's Corps.

Lieutenant L. E. W. Irving, Royal Canadian Artillery.

Lieutenant J. E. Leckie, Lord Strathcona's Corps. Lieutenant J. H. J. Ogilvie, Royal Canadian Regiment.

Lieutenant R. E. W. Turner, Royal Canadian Dragoons.

Captain A. E. Capell, Bethune's Mounted Infantry.

Captain C. J. Collopy, Bethune's Mounted Infantry. Captain F. C. Minshull Ford, Bethune's Mounted

Înfantry.

Lieutenant M. Prior, Bethune's Mounted Infantry. Captain H. R. Cholmondeley, Brabant's Horse. Captain J. S. J. Douglas, Brabant's Horse.

Captain the Honourable L. Ogilvie, Brabant's Horse.

Surgeon-Captain R. C. Perkins, Brabant's Horse. Lieutenant E. S. Stevenson, Brabant's Horse. Colonel J. A. H. Walford, British South Africa

Police. Lieutenant - Colonel H. White, British South

Africa Police. Captain William Ashby, British South Africa Police.

Captain H. Greener, British South Africa Police. Captain H. Bowden, British South Africa Police. Captain Noel Llewellyn, British South Africa Police.

Surgeon-Major - F. A. Holmden, British South Africa Police.

Captain and Adjutant R. C. Graut, Cape Mounted Rifles.

Captain H. T. Lukin, Artillery Troop, Cape Mounted Rifles.

Lieutenant J. E. G. Roy, Cape Mounted Rifles. Captain W. E. O. Mitchell, Cape Pioneer Railway Regiment.

Major N. Wilson, Cape Pioneer Railway Regiment.

Captain J. H. H. Watermeyer, Cape Town Highlanders.

Captain G. Pope Hennessey, Cape Police. Captain J. J. Brownlee, Cape Medical Bearer

Corps. Major T. H. Rodger, Diamond Field Horse. Captain H. G. Turner, De Montmorency's Scouts. Captain D. P. Driscoll, Driscoll's Scouts.

Lieutenant A. Milford, Frontier Mounted Rifles. Surgeon-Major W. F. F. Davies, Imperial Light Horse.

Captain C. H. Fowler, Imperial Light Horse. Lieutenant P. H. Normand, Imperial Light Horse. Captain George Farrar, Kaffrarian Rifles.

Captain J. P. Farrar, Kaffrarian Rifles. Captain W. E. Rickman, Kimberley Light Horse. Captain G. E. Heberden, Medical Officer, Kimberley Light Horse.

Captain T. L. Angel, Kimberley Town Guard. Captain B. E. A. O'Meara, Kimberley Town Ğuard.

Captain S. Richards, Kimberley Town Guard. Lieutenant E. F. Raylan, Kimberley Town Guard. Surgeon-Major J. A. J. Smith, Kimberley Regiment.

Captain C. H. M. Ritchie, Kitchener's Horse. Lieutenant J. E. Jackson, Kitchener's Horse. Lieutenant S. E. Craig, Loch's Horse.

Captain J. B. Rutherford, Lumsden's Horse. Lieutenant H. O. Pugh, Lumsden's Horse.
Captain C. W. Nesbitt, Nesbitt's Horss.
Lieutenant G. Bridges, Protectorate Regiment. Lieutenant J. A. P. Feltham, Protectorate Regiment.

Captain T. G. Glyn, Rhodesian Regiment. Captain G. Hook, South Rhodesian Volunteers. Captain F. Smitheman, Rhodesian Regiment. Lieutenant W. F. Murray, Rimington's Guides. Captain E. R. King, Roberts' Horse. Lieutenant C. Ross, Roberts' Horse. Captain S. Chapin, South African Light Horse.

Captain S. N. Tucker, South African Light Horse.

Lieutenant W. F. Barker, South African Light

Lieutenant R. Turner, South African Light Horse.

Lieutenant G. Marsden, South African Light Horse.

Lieutenant T. S. Wickham, South African Light Horse.

Captain M. G. Farquhar, Thorneycroft's Mounted Infantry

Captain C. Hamilton, Thorneycroft's Mounted Infantry.

Lieutenant R. N. Villiers, Thorneycroft's Mounted

Infantry. Lieutenant G. S. O. Forber, Thorneycroft's

Mounted Infantry. Lieutenant T. W. Howard, Thorneycroft's Mounted Infantry.

Lieutenant W. R. Ponsonby, Thorneycroft's Mounted Infantry.

Major J. Hyslop, Principal Medical Officer, Natal Volunteers.

Lieutenant T. Thompson, Thorneycroft's Mounted.

Infantry.
Captain J. A. Warwick, Warwick's Scouts.
Lieutenant H. MacAndrew, Warwick's Scouts.

## MEMORANDUM.

Lieutenant Robert James Thomas Digby Jones, Royal Engineers, and No. 459, Trooper H. Albrecht, Imperial Light Horse, would have been recommended to His Majesty for the Victoria Cross had they survived, on account of their having during the attack on Waggon Hill (Ladysmith), of 6th January 1900, displayed conspicuous bravery and gallant conduct in leading the force which re-occupied the top of the hill at a critical moment just as the three foremost attacking Boers reached it, the leader being shot by Lieutenant Jones, and the two others by Trooper Albrecht.

The death of Captain and Brevet Major His Highness Prince Christian Victor Albert Ludwig Ernst Anton of Schleswig-Holstein, G.C.B., G.C.V.O, King's Royal Rifle Corps, courred before the Commander-in-Chief in South Africa had forwarded the recommendation for the Distinguished Service Order, which, had he survived, would have been awarded to him by His Majesty in recognition of his services during the campaign in South Africa, 1899-1900.

The King has further been pleased to approve of the grant of the Medal for Distinguished Conduct in the Field to the under-mentioned Soldiers in recognition of their gallant conduct during the operations in South Africa:-