CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

November 4, 1902.

In pursuance of the provisions of Her late Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th November 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby annuance that the under-mentioned Appointments, Transfers, and Promotion in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of October 1902:—

A PPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty—Sidney Herbert Plummer, to be Clerk (Class I.) in the Secretary's Department.

John Bagshawe, John Gledhill, Peter John Penney, and George Ernest Woodward, to be Assistant Ordnance Store Officers in the Naval Ordnance Store Department.

Sydney Edward Boyland, to be Assistant Constructor (Third Class).

Philibert Jacques Maurice Desiré Louis George Charles Constant Melotte, to be Established Computer at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich.

John Hiram Allinson, Albert William Brown, George Charles Brown, James Clancy, William Frederick Cobb, Arthur Henry Dove, Harry Richard Dove, Henry James Graham, Edward William Haynes. William Jannaway, William Ernest Jordan, Patrick Keeffe, George Mortimer, William Alfred Mortimer, Joseph William Pervin, Edward Reynolds, Frederick Rogers, Nathaniel Steptoe, and John Williams Tossell, to be Storeholders in the Naval Ordnance Store Department.

Agriculture, Board of—Ernest Ambrose Dunmore, Charles Henry Poynter, and Arthur Vaughan, to be Established Civil Assistants on the Ordnance Survey.

Census Office (Scotland)—William Whyte, to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Customs—Henry Briscoe, Robert Dugdill, Patrick English, Ernest Scruby Fitch, Joseph Patrick Kenny, Michael O'Donovan, Jabez Roberts, Robert Joseph Lynch Rochfort, Robert Scarborough Taylor, Frederick Evelyn Weeks, and William Williams, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Wilfred Harold Bishop, to be Tabulator (Abstractor Class).

Education, Board of—Charles John Crossley, to be Sub-Inspector (First Class).

Charles Addison, Ernest Emmanuel Aguilar (otherwise Ernest Davis), Thomas Arnold Barrett, Walter George Kevern Benson, James Billinghurst, Arthur Edwin Burland, Richard Rhys Davies, Roland William Delves, Jonathan Charles Dickinson, William Martiny Escudiér, William Fox, Austyn Lewis Hughes, Alfred Ernest Lean, Tom Millson, Thomas Mockler, Andrew Murray, Arthur James Oakman, Frederick Augustus Page Patrick, Charles Nelson Patrick, Charles Edward Prater, Herbert Watson Prior, Herbert Edward Prater, Herbert Watson Prior, Herbert Edward Cecil Rosevear, Edward Scrivener, George John Stanford, Harry Howard Taylor, and Arthur Weech, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Exchequer and Audit Department — Francis Netherwood Dixon and Alfred Theodore Vaughan Robinson, to be Clerks on the Directing Staff. India Office—Leonard Day Wakely, to be Clerk (Class I.) in the Correspondence Department.

Inland Revenue — Richard Valentine Nind Hopkins, to be Clerk (Class I.) in the Secretaries' Office.

Andrew O'Leary, John Raymond Redmond, and Archibald James Whitburn, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Mercantile Marine Offices — Frederick Golding Wallis, to be Clerk or Deputy Superintendent.

Post Office—Arthur Richard Kidner, to be Clerk (Class I.) in the Secretary's Office.

Benjamin Arnold Collington, Charles Norwood Frankish, Thomas Alexander Melville, Edward Pidduck, Thomas Porteous, Charles Edward Raison, Henry Barclay Read, Berriman Cook Smith, and Arthur Thompson, to be appointed to Clerkships grouped under the Scheme for the Supplementary Establishment of the Secretary's Office, London.

Herbert Percival Few, to be Third Class Clerk in the Engineer-in-Chief's Office.

Norman Brown, Archibald Henry Calder, James Alfred Clegg, William Grant Cumming, Hubert George Cumpper, William Fuller, Frank John Malcolm Henderson, Thomas O'Farrell, William Stewart, Felton Turnbull, and Frederick Arthur Williams, to be Assistant Clerks (Abstractors).

Clara Blissett, Margaret Scott Wilhelmina Boyd, and Dorothy Scarlett Trehearne, to be Girl Clerks, London.

Privy Council Office—Nellie Copland Lewis, to be Female Typist.

Scottish Office—Percy Jesse Gowlett Rose, to be Clerk (Class I.)

Supreme Court of Judicature (England)—Ernest Charles Moffrey, to be Third Class Clerk.

Trade, Board of—Robert Charlton Wheldon Bell, to be Engineer and Shipwright Surveyor.

Alfred Thomas Diver, to be Statistical Assistant in the Commercial, Labour, and Statistical Department.

William Scott Minchin, to be Assistant Clerk (Abstractor).

Treasury—Leonard Courtney Bromley and Sydney Armitage Smith, to be Second Class Clerks.

War Office—Henry Patrick Roberts, to be Established Civilian Employé in the Army Ordnance Department.

CLERKS OF THE SECOND DIVISION.

Agriculture and Technical Instruction (Ireland), Department of—John Boyd.

Exchequer Office (Scotland)—William Ramsay MacKenzie.

Inland Revenue—Denis Finn (Dublin) and Harry Sutton

Local Government Board (England) — Allan William Gibbey and Harry John Pearman.

Paymaster-General's Office—Louis James Baker.

TRANSFERS,

with the approval of the Lords Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury:—

Education, Board of—Robert Hugh Davies and Henry Claremont Tattam, Clerks of the Second Division, from the Charity Commission.