

The Edinburgh Gazette

Published by Authority.

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 9, 1902.

FACTORY AND WORKSHOP ACT, 1901.

In pursuance of Section 118 of the above Act, the Right Honourable Aretas Akers-Douglas, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, has been pleased to appoint Arthur John Owen to be an Inspector of Factories and Workshops, under the title of Inspector's Assistant.

Whitehall, 3rd December 1902.

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION, December 5, 1902.

The following Candidates have been certified by the Civil Service Commissioners as qualified for the appointments set against their respective names:—

December 1, 1902.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Inland Revenue: Assistant of Excise — John Pullon Sudbury.

Post Office: Girl Clerks — Florence Folsetter Budge, Maud Louise English, Agnes Ida Ollfield.

Male Sorter, London-Edwin John Broad.

Male Learners, Aberdeen—James Melvill Calder, John Findlay Meston, William Kelman Scott.

Male Learners, Liverpool—William David Bain, Joseph John Llewellin, George Wood M'Naught.

Male Learners — Albert Edward Barrass (Nottingham), John Ernest Percy Chamberlain (Nottingham), John Benjamin Cottrell (New-

castle-on-Tyne), Samuel Davies (Birmingham), John Griffiths (Manchester), Frank Melville Hopkin (Leeds), Thomas James Kenning (Birmingham).

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Learner, Birmingham—Walter Vivian Cleaver.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Post Office: Registry Assistants in the Secretary's Office, London—Charles Stuart Bain, Daniel Joseph Coveney.

Postmen, London—Ernest Robert Ballard, Frederick William Forder, Ernest Edward Feskett, William Mears, William Charles Perry.

Porters, London—William Staddon Burton, Robert Charles Caiger, Ernest Edward Hill.

Temporary Assistant Postmen, London—Fred Angell, Reginald John Willis Peat.

Learners—Edith Brown (Barnsley), Thomas-Cahill (Tredegar), Frederick William Stephens (Barrow-in-Furness).

Telephone Operators—Margaret Henrietta Rees (Manchester), Edith Ethel Violet Storer (London).

Postmen—John Joseph Adams (Dublin), Charles Attwood (Bournemouth), Nathaniel George Barnfield (Cheltenham), George Jones (West Bromwich), James Robert Oxley (Warrington), George Reeve (Watford), Joseph Satcher (Brighton), Edward Ernest-White (Cheltenham).