CHANCERY OF THE ROYAL VICTORIAN ORDER, |

ST. JAMES' PALACE, March 8, 1905.

The King has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the visit to London of His Royal Highness The Prince of Bulgaria, to make the following promotion in and appointments to the Royal Victorian Order:—

To be Honorary Knights Grand Cross.

Robert Alphonse André, Count de Bourboulon, Lord Chamberlain to His Royal Highness The Prince of Bulgaria.

Major-General Pierre Markoff, Aide-de-Camp General, and commanding the "Regiment de la Garde à Cheval" of His Royal Highness The Prince of Bulgaria.

To be Honorary Knight Commander.

Dimitry Tzokow, Diplomatic Agent of His Royal Highness The Prince of Bulgaria at the Court of St. James'.

To be Honorary Members of the Fourth Class.

Wladimir Drandar, Private Secretary to His Royal Highness The Prince of Bulgaria.

Paul Emile Alexandre Marie de Chèvremont, Assistant Private Secretary to His Royal Highness The Prince of Bulgaria.

Stephen Nikyphoroff, 1st Secretary, Bulgarian Diplomatic Agency in London.

To be Knight Commander.

George William Buchanan, Esq., C.V.O., C.B., His Majesty's Agent and Consul-General at Sofia. (Received the Honour of Knighthood.)

To be Member of the Fourth Class.

Lieutenant-Colonel Herbert John Du Cane, R.A., Military Attaché to His Majesty's Agency at Sofia.

CHANCERY OF THE ROYAL VICTORIAN ORDER,

ST. JAMES' PALACE, March 21, 1905.

The King has been graciously pleased to make the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Royal Victorian Order, to take effect from the dates noted:—

To be Honorary Commander.

17th March 1905. Manuel Garcia.

To be Knight Grand Cross.

7th March 1905. Sir Frederick Treves, Bart., K.C.V.O., C.B., Serjeant Surgeon to His Majesty.

To be Knight Commander.

10th March 1905. Maurice William Ewart de Bunsen, Esq., C.V.O., C.B., His Majesty's Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary at Lisbon. (Received the honour of Knighthood.)

To be Commander.

28th February 1905. Major-General Robert Arthur Montgomery, C.B., Commanding Portsmouth Defences. FOREIGN OFFICE, March 11, 1905.

The King has been pleased to approve of— Señor Michael de Cordova as Consul-General of Nicaragua at Kingston, Jamaica;

Don José de Cubas y Sagarzazu as Consul of Spain at Newcastle-on-Tyne, with Consular jurisdiction over Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Durham;

Mr. Eugène Etienne Dubief as Consul in charge of the French Vice-Consulate at Jersey, with Consular jurisdiction over the Channel Islands;

Don Joaquim Garcia Conde, junior, to be Consul of Mexico at Newcastle-on-Tyne; and

Señor J. Ignacio Diaz Granados as Consul of Colombia at Port of Spain, Trinidad.

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

March 21, 1905.

The Ci il Service Commissioners hereby give notice that an open Competitive Examination for the situation of Second Class Clerk in the Office of His Majesty's Woods, &c., will be held in London and Dublin, commencing on the 2nd May 1905, under the Regulations dated 5th January 1900, and published in the London Gazette of the same date.

The number of situations to be filled will be the number vacant at the time of the Examination.

No person will be admitted to the Examination from whom the Secretary, Civil Service Commission, has not received, on or before the 13th April, an application, in the Candidate's own handwriting, on a prescribed form, which may be obtained from the Secretary at once.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

The following Areas are now subject to the provisions of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1903:—

Aberdeenshire, Banffshire, Caithness, Elgin, Forfarshire, Inverness-shire, Kincardineshire, Naim, Orkney, Perthshire, Ross and Cromarty, Sutherland, and Zetland.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen. Banff, Caithness, Elgin, Fortar, Inverness, Kincardine, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Sutherland, and Zetland; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Elgin, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, and Inverness (20th March 1905).

Ayrshire.—An Area comprising the County of Ayr, and the Burghs of Ayr, Irvine, and Kılmarnock (23rd June 1905).

Banffshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Caithness.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Elgin.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Forfarshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Inverness-shire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Kincardineshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Nairn.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Orkney.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Perthshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Ross and Cromarty.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

| Sutherland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. | Zetland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.