

# The Edinburgh Gazette

# Published by Authority.

## TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 5, 1905.

DOWNING STREET, August 30, 1905.

THE King has been pleased to approve of the re-appointment of William Henry Figg, Esq., to be an Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Island of Ceylon.

### CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

September 1, 1905.

The Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice that an Open Competitive Examination for situations as Female Sorter in the General Post Office, London, will be held in London on the 24th October 1905, under the Regulations dated 3rd December 1901, and published in the London Gazette of the same date.

Appointments will be offered to not fewer than ten of the Candidates highest on the list, provided they obtain the necessary aggregate of marks and are duly qualified in other respects.

No person will be admitted to Examination from whom the Secretary of the Civil Service Commission has not received, on or before the 5th October, an application, in the Candidate's own handwriting, on a prescribed form, which may be obtained from the Secretary at once.

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

September 1, 1905.

In pursuance of the provisions of Her late Majesty's Order in Council of the 29th Nevember 1898, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the under-mentioned Appointments, Promotions, &c. (including Assignments of Second Division Clerks), for the month of August 1905:—

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED.

August 1, 1905.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Learner, London—William Edward Passingham.

### WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Chatham Dockyard, Shipwright— Percy William Britcher.

Prisons Department (England): Assistant Matron—Hannah Beynon.

Post Office: Postmen or Porters, London—John Hart, John Lawrence, Thomas Edward Taylor.

Porter or Postman, London—Frank Mundell. Postmen, London—Alfred Reginald Cleall,

Frank George Winskill.

Temporary Assistant Postmen, London—Albert George Kinnerly, Frederick Graham Seymour, Samuel Ralph Tompsett.

Postmen—William Eastwood Green Hamilton (Manchester), James Thompson (Preston), Francis Wilkins (Sittingbourne).