## FACTORY DEPARTMENT, HOME OFFICE, September 14, 1907.

The Chief Inspector of Factories gives notice that, in consequence of the resignation of Dr. W. Allardes, an appointment as Certifying Surgeon, under the Factory and Workshop Act, at Rothes, in the County of Elgin, is vacaut.

## FACTORY AND WORKSHOP ACT, 1901.

In pursuance of section 118 of the above Act, the Right Honourable Herbert John Gladstone, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, has been pleased to appoint Mr. George John Deacon to be an Inspectors' Assistant under the Factory and Workshop Act, 1901.

Home Office, Whitehall, 14th September 1908.

Commissions signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of the City of Aberdeen.

Sir John Fleming, LL.D., of Dalmuinzie, to be Deputy-Lieutenant. Dated 10th September 1908.

Colonel James Ogston, V.D., of Kildrummy, to be Deputy-Lieutenant. Dated 10th September 1908.

## WAR OFFICE, September 15, 1908.

The King has been graciously pleased to confer the Volunteer Officers' Decoration upon the under-mentioned Officers of the Volunteer Force, who have been duly recommended for the same under the terms of the Royal Warrant, dated 25th July 1892:—

#### SCOTTISH COMMAND.

ROYAL GARRISON ARTILLERY (VOLUNTEERS).

1st Edinurgh (City); Captain and Honorary Major Henry O'Connor.

1st Lanarkshire; Captain and Honorary Major Alexander Henderson (retired).

#### INFANTRY (VOLUNTEERS).

The Queen's Rifle Volunteer Brigade, The Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment); Surgeon-Major John Hugh Alexander Laing, M.B.

4th Volunteer Battalion, The Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment); Captain and Honorary Major Andrew Gray.

2nd Volunteer Battalion, The Highland Light Infantry; Major William Meikle, junior.

4th (Donside Highland) Volunteer Battalion, The Gordon Highlanders; Captain and Honorary Mujor (Honorary Lieutenaut in the Army) Harry Forbes, D.S.O. (retired).

Quartermaster and Honorary Captain John Hopkins.

1st Dumbartonshire Volunteer Rifle Corps; Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel David Dunn August

Surgeon-Lieutenant-Colonel John Robert Fleming Cullen, M.D. (retired).

### CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

September 15, 1908.

The Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice, in pursuance of the Order in Council of 22nd March 1879, as amended by Clause 21 of the Order in Council of 29th November 1898, that, with the concurrence of the Lords Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury, persons holding Clerkships (Class I.) in the Home Civil Service, who are presented for Certificates of Qualification under Clause VII. of the Order in Council of 4th June 1870, upon their transfer to Clerkships of the same grade in other departments, shall be exempt from payment of fees in respect of the issue of such Certificates of Qualification.

\*\* The notice in the London Gazette of 5th April 1898, relating to the fees payable by Clerks (Class I.) on their transfer to other departments, is hereby cancelled.

#### CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION,

September 15, 1908.

Notice is hereby given that, upon a special recommendation from the Commissioners of Inland Revenue, and with the assent of the Treasury, Mr. Robert John Mackrell, having served as a Clerk of the Second Division for upwards of eight years, has been promoted to a Clerkship of the First Division (Second Class) in the Estate Duty Office, Dublin, of the Department of Inland Revenue, with a special certificate granted exceptionally by the Civil Service Commissioners.

# DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan. Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st August 1906).—See also under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Argyllshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.