

The Edinburgh Gazette

Published by Authority.

This Gazette has now been registered at the General Post Office for transmission by Inland Post as a newspaper. As regards copies sent by post within the United Kingdom, unless despatched in proper course from a Metropolitan Government Office, or from the Publishing Office of the Gazette, the postage should in future be prepaid at the rate of a halfpenny for each copy. Copies sent abroad should be prepaid at the rate of a halfpenny for every 2 ounces, except in the case of copies sent to Canada, which will be transmissible by the Canadian Magazine Post at the rate of a penny for every pound or fraction of a pound.

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 4, 1908.

FOREIGN OFFICE, November 1, 1908.

THE King has been graciously pleased to appoint—

James William Ronald Macleay, Esq., to be a First Secretary in His Majesty's Diplomatic Service; and

William James Garnett, Esq., and George Augustus Mounsey, Esq., to be Second Secretaries in His Majesty's Diplomatic Service.

FOREIGN OFFICE, November 21, 1908.

The King has been pleased to approve of-

Mr. Henry Stagg as Consul of Panama at Brighton; and

Mr. Jacob Gerber as Vice-Consul of the Argentine Republic at East London, Cape Colony.

FOREIGN OFFICE, November 24, 1908.

The King has been graciously pleased to appoint—

Algernon Law, Esq., C.B., to be an Acting Councillor of Embassy in His Majesty's Diplomatic Service. The Secretary of State for the Home Department hereby gives notice that on the 2nd December 1908 he made an Order under section 8, sub-section 6, of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1906, extending the provisions of that Act, subject to certain modifications, to certain industrial diseases, and amending the previous Order of the 22nd May 1907.

Copies of the Order may be purchased, either directly or through any bookseller, from Messrs. Oliver & Boyd, Edinburgh; Messrs. Wyman & Sons, Fetter Lane, London, E.C.; or Edward Ponsonby, 116 Grafton Street, Dublin.

Whitehall, 3rd December 1908.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation Movement) Order of 1908:—

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and