CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION, January 19, 1909.

The Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice that Open Competitive Examinations of candidates for entry as Apprentices in His Majesty's Dockyards and as Boy Artificers in the Royal Navy will commence in London, Portsmouth, Devonport, Chatham, Pembroke, Sheerness, and Cork on the 11th May 1909.

No person will be admitted to compete from whom the Secretary of the Civil Service Commission has not received, on or before the 15th April, an application in the handwriting of the Candidate, on a prescribed form, which may be obtained from the Secretury at once.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st August 1906).—See also under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Argyllshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Ayrshire.—An Area comprising the County of
Ayr, and the Burghs of Ayr, Irvine, and
Kilmarnock (23rd June 1904).

Banffshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Berwickshire, &c.—An Area comprising the
Counties of Berwick, Roxburgh, and Selkirk,
and the Burghs of Hawick and Galashiels
(17th June 1907).

Buteshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Caithness.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Clackmannan.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumbartonshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumbarton (except its detached part), Lanark, Peebles, and Renfrew, and the Burghs of Airdrie, Dumbarton, Greenock, Hamilton, Paisley, Port-Glasgow, and Rutherglen, and the City of Glasgow (12th April 1906).—See also under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumfriesshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumfries and Kirkcudbright, and the Burgh of Dumfries (17th June 1907).

Elgin.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Fije.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Forfarshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Haddingtonshire.— An Area comprising the County of Haddington (17th June 1907).
Inverness-shire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Kincardineshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Kinross.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Kirkcudbrightshire.—See under Dumfriesshire, &c.
Lanarkshire.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c.
Linlithgow, &c.—An Area comprising the

Counties of Linlithgow and Midlothian, the

Burghs of Leith and Musselburgh, and the City of Edinburgh (17th June 1907).

Midlothian.—See under Linlithgow, &c.

Nairn.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Orkney.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Peebles.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Perthshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Renfrew.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Ross and Cromarty.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Rossurghshire.—See under Berwickshire, &c.

Selkirkshire.—See under Berwickshire, &c.

Stirlingshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Sutherland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Wigtownshire.—An Area comprising the County of Wigtown (5th May 1906).

Zetland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of the undermentioned DISEASES in SCOTLAND for the Week ended 16th January 1909, distinguishing Counties (including Burghs).

ANTHRAX.

COUNTY.					Outbreaks Reported.	Animals Attacked. No.
	·					
A berdeen					6	6
Banff		•••	•••		3	3
Berwick		•••			i	. 2
Fife					. 2	$\overline{2}$
Hadding					1	1
Lanark					1	1
Perth					ī	1
Ross and Cromarty					1	1
	Total				16	17

GLANDERS (INCLUDING FARCY).

C	COUNTY.	Outbreaks Reported.	Animals Attacked.	
			No.	No.
Forfar Midlothian		 •	2 1	2 1
Тота	L	 •••	3	3

SHEEP SCAB.

	Outbreaks Reported.						
						No.	
Inverness	•••					1	
-To	[AL	•••	•••	•••		1	

Board of Agriculture and Fisheries, 19th January 1909.