

The Edinburgh Gazette

Published by Authority.

This Gazette has now been registered at the General Post Office for transmission by Inland Post as a newspaper. As rms Gazette has now been regretered at the General Post Office for transmission by Inland Post as a newspaper. As regards copies sent by post within the United Kingdom, unless despatched in proper course from a Metropolitan Government Office, or from the Publishing Office of the Gazette, the postage should in future be prepaid at the rate of a halfpenny for each copy. Copies sent abroad should be prepaid at the rate of a halfpenny for every 2 ounces, except in the case of copies sent to Canada, which will be transmissible by the Canadian Magazine Post at the rate of a penny for every pound or fraction of a pound.

FRIDAY, MARCH 12, 1909.

DOWNING STREET, March 6, 1909.

THE King has been pleased to give directions for the appointment of Philip Clarke Cork, Esq., C.M.G. (Administrator and Colonial Secretary, St. Lucia), to be Colonial Secretary of the Island of Jamaica.

DOWNING STREET, March 8, 1909.

The King has been pleased to approve of the appointment of John Norman Campbell, Esq., to be an Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Island of Ceylon.

DOWNING STREET, March 9, 1908.

The King has been pleased to approve of the appointment of Ernest Percy Stuart Roupell, Esq., D.S.O. (Assistant-Secretary to Government), to be a Member of the Executive Council and an Official Member of the Council of Government of the Island of Malta.

> DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE FEVER in SCOTLAND for the Week ended | Argyllshire. - See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

6th March 1909, distinguishing Counties (including Burghs).

	COUNTY.				Outbreaks Confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been Exposed to Infection.
	_				No.	No.
Perth		•••	•••		1	3
	TOTAL				1	3

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908 :-

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banfi, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st August 1906).—See also under Dumbartonshire, &c.