STATEMENT showing the Quantities Sold and Average Price of BRITISH CORN, per Quarter of 8 Bushels, Imperial Measure,* as received from the Inspectors of Corn Returns, in the Week ended 19th June 1909, pursuant to the Corn Returns Act, 1882.

BRITISH CORN.				QUANTITIES SOLD.		AVERAG	AVERAGE PRICE	
Wheat				Qrs. B 21,292	us. 4	s. 42	d. 7	
Barley	•••	•••		310	7	26	10	
Oats		•••		5,511	7	21	6	

COMPARATIVE STATEMENT for the corresponding Week in each of the Years from 1902 to 1908.

Corresponding	QU.	ANTITIES SOL	AVERAGE PRICE.				
Week in	WHEAT.	BARLEY.	OATS.	WHEAT.	BARLEY.	OATS.	
	Qrs. Bus.	Qrs. Bus.	Qrs. Bus.	s. d.	8. d.	s. d.	
1902	19,278 1	325 3	3,341 4	30 5	24 3	22 9	
1903	38,963 3	2,490 2	10,716 2	27 6	22 0	18 6	
1904	26,025 3	1,055 1	8,529 3	26 - 5	19 2	16 10	
1905	11.574 7	145 2	3,031 7	31 7	23 9	18 10	
1906	19,235 2	203 4	2,087 3	30 5	22 10	20 2	
1907	31,351 0	1,088 7	7,187 2	31 4	24 11	20 9	
1908	37,231 1	847 3	9,551 0	32 0	24 2	18 5	

^{*} Section 8 of the Corn Returns Act, 1882, provides that where returns of purchases of British Corn are made to the Local Inspector of Corn Returns in any other measure than the imperial bushel or by weight or by a weighed measure, that Officer shall convert such returns into the imperial bushel, and in the case of weight or weighed measure the conversion is to be made at the rate of sixty imperial pounds for every bushel of wheat, fifty imperial pounds for every bushel of barley, and thirty-nine imperial pounds for every bushel of oats.

Board of Agriculture and Fisheries, 3 St. James' Square, London, S.W., 19th June 1909. R. H.≈REW.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1903.

The following Areas are now "Infected Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Midlothian.—An Area comprising the Parishes of Cramond (excluding its detached parts, Corstorphine, Colinton, Glencorse, Lasswade, Liberton, Inveresk, Newton, Dalkeith, Cranston, Newbattle, Cockpen, and Carrington, in the County of Midlothian; and also comprising the County of the City of Edinburgh and the Burghs of Leith and Musselburgh (25th March 1909).

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney,

Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st August 1906).—See also under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Argyllshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Ayrshire.—An Area comprising the County of Ayr, and the Burghs of Ayr, Irvine, and Kilmarnock (23rd June 1904).

Banfishire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Berwickshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Berwick, Roxburgh, and Selkirk, and the Burghs of Hawick and Galashiels (17th June 1907).

Buteshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Caithness.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Clackmannan.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumbartonshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumbarton (except its detached part), Lanark, Peebles, and Renfrew, and the Burghs of Airdrie, Dumbarton, Greenock, Hamilton, Paisley, Port-Glasgow, and Ruther-