WHITEHALL, February 1, 1910.

The King has been pleased, by Warrant under His Majesty's Royal Sign Manual, bearing date the 1st instant, to appoint Robert Browne Dunwoody, Esq., heretofore Engineer and Assistant Secretary to the Commission, to be Secretary to the Royal Commission on Canals and Waterways, in the room of William Bartleet Duffield, Esq., Barrister-at-Law, resigned.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 то 1909.

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908 :-

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Suther land, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st August 1906).—See also under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Argyllshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Ayrshire.—An Area comprising the County of Ayr, and the Burghs of Ayr, Irvine, and

Kilmarnock (23rd June 1904).

Banfishire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Berwickshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Berwick, Roxburgh, and Selkirk, and the Burghs of Hawick and Galashiels, and also comprising the Parish of Stow, in the County of Midlothian (30th June 1909).

Buteshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Caithness.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Clackmannan.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Dumbartonshire, &c.—An Area comprising the

Counties of Dumbarton (except its detached part), Lanark, Peebles, and Renfrew, and the Burghs of Airdrie, Dumbarton, Greenock, Hamilton, Paisley, Port-Glasgow, and Rutherglen, and the City of Glasgow (12th April 1906).—See also under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumfriesshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumfries and Kirkcudbright and the Burgh of Dumfries (17th June 1907).

Elgin.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Fife.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Forfarshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Haddingtonshire. — An Area comprising County of Haddington (17th June 1907). Inverness-shire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Kincardineshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Kinross.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Kirkcudbrightshire.—See under Dumfriesshire, &c.

Lanarkshire.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c. Linlithgow, &c. — An Area comprising the Counties of Linlithgow and Midlothian (except the Parish of Stow), the Burghs of Leith and Musselburgh, and the City of Edinburgh (30th June 1909).—See also under Berwickshire, &c.

Midlothian.—See under Linlithgow, &c., and also under Berwickshire, &c. Nairn.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Orkney.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Peebles.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c. Perthshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Renfrew.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c. Ross and Cromarty.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Roxburghshire.—See under Berwickshire, &c. Selkirkshire.—See under Berwickshire, &c. Stirlingshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Sutherland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Wigtownshire.—An Area comprising the County of Wigtown (5th May 1906). Zetland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of the undermentioned DISEASES in SCOTLAND for the Week ended 29th January 1910, distinguishing Counties (including Burghs).

ANTHRAX.

		Outbreaks reported,	Animals Attacked.				
County.			Cattle.	Sheep	Swine.	Horses.	
_			No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Aberdeen		.,.	3	2		1	_
Ayr .:.			3 2 3 2 2 2 1	2 3 3 2 2 2 1			:
Banff			3	3	 .		
Fife			. 2	2	 	_	
Lanark			2	2	·		l —
Perth .			2	2	_	ميت.	-
Roxburgh			1	1	 -		-
Wigtown	•••	•••	2	2		-	-
TOTAL			17	17	_	1	_

GLANDERS (INCLUDING FARCY).

COUNTY.	Outbreaks Reported.	Animals Attacked.	
	No.	No.	
Ayr Midlothian (ex. City of Edin- burgh)	= . · ;	4 1	
Тотаь		5	

SHEEP SCAB.

	,	Outbreaks Reported.			
-					No.
Ayr Inverness		 •••	•••		1
TOTAL		 			2

Board of Agriculture and Fisheries, 1st February 1910.