INDIA OFFICE, June 19, 1911.

The King has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Coronation, to make the following promotions in the Most Exalted Order of the Star of India :-

To be a Knight Grand Commander.

General the Right Honourable Sir Dighton Macnaghten Probyn, V.C., G.C.B., G.C.V.O., K.C.S.I., I.S.O.

To be a Knight Commander.

Krishna Gobinda Gupta, Esq., C.S.I., Member of the Council of India.

## CHANCERY OF THE ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE,

DOWNING STREET, June 19, 1911.

The King has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Coronation, to give directions for the following promotions in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George :-

To be Ordinary Members of the First Class' or Knights Grand Cross, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

The Right Honourable Lord Denman, P.C., K.C.V.O., Governor-General and Commander-in-Chief designate of the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Right Honourable Sir George Houstoun, Reid, K.C.M.G., High Commissioner in London for the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Right Honourable Sir Charles Fitzpatrick, K.C.M.G., Chief Justice of Canada.

The Honourable Sir Richard Solomon, K.C.B., K.C.M.G., K.C.V.O., High Commissioner in London for the Union of South Africa.

Colonel Sir Frederick John Dealtry Lugard, K.C.M.G., C.B., D.S.O., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Hong Kong.

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

Sir John Michael Fleetwood Fuller, Bart., Governor of the State of Victoria.

The Honourable James Carroll, Native Minister and Minister of Stamp Duties of the Dominion of New Zealand.

The Honourable John George Findlay, K.C. LL.D., Attorney-General of the Dominion of New Zealand.

The Honourable Sir Percival Maitland Laurence, LL.D., Puisne Judge of the Cape of Good Hope Provincial Division of the Supreme Court of South Africa; in recognition of services as Chairman of the Deliminitation Commission under the South Africa Act, 1909.

Hartmann Wolfgang Just, Esq., C.B., C.M.G., Assistant Under-Secretary of State Colonial Office, and Secretary to the Imperial

Rear-Admiral William Rooke Creswell, C.M.G., Director of the Naval Forces of the Commonwealth of Australia.

John Pringle, Esq., M.B., C.M.G., Member

of the Privy and Legislative Councils of the Island of Jamaica.

Major-General John Charles Hoad, C.M.G., Chief of the General Staff of the Military Forces of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Colonel David Harris, C.M.G., Member of the House of Assembly of the Union of South

Herbert Cecil Sloley, Esq. C.M.G., Resident Commissioner, Basutoland.

Frederick James Clarke, Esq., C.M.G., Member of the Executive Council and Speaker of the House of Assembly of the Island of Barbadoes.

John Rose Bradford, Esq., M.D., D.Sc., a Secretary to the Royal Society.

To be Honorary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

His Highness Abdul Hamid Halimshah ibni Adhmat Tajudin, Sultan of Kedah.

His Highness Zainul-ab-din ibni Marhum, Ahmad, Sultan of Trengganu.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

Captain Cecil Hamilton Armitage, D.S.O., Chief Commissioner of the Northern Territories of the Gold Coast.

Chewton Atchley, Esq., I.S.O., Librarian, Colonial Office.

James William Barrett, Esq., M.D., Member of the Council and Lecturer of the University

Marcus Henry De la Poer Beresford, Esq., I.S.O., late Secretary to the Administration, Northern Nigeria.

Arthur Wimbolt Brewin, Esq., Registrar-

General of the Colony of Hong Kong. Henry William Frederick Cottingham Brodhurst, Esq., Government Agent, Western Province of the Island of Ceylon.

Robert Gervase Bushe, Esq., Auditor-General of the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago.

Lieutenant Herbert Alexander Child, R.N., Director of Marine, Southern Nigeria.

Arthur Ernest Collins, Esq., Principal Clerk, Colonial Office.

Colonel Robert Joseph Collins, I.S.O., Comptroller and Auditor-General, Dominion of New Zealand.

William Sayer Comissiong Esq., Member of the Executive and Legislative Councils of the Island of Grenada.

Robert Thorne Coryndon, Esq., Resident Commissioner, Swaziland.

Lieutenant-Colonel Wilfred Bennett Davidson-Houston, Commissioner of the Presidency of Montserrat.

Robert Alexander Falconer, Esq., M.A., LL.D., D.Litt., President of the University of Toronto.

Frederick Fitchett, Esq., LL.D., M.A., Public Trustee, Dominion of New Zealand.

Edward Thomas Grannum, Esq., Auditor-General of the Island of Barbados.

Henry Eugene Walter Grant, Esq., Colonial Secretary of the Leeward Islands.

Alfred Claud Hollis, Esq., Secretary for Native Affairs, East Africa Protectorate.

Eyre Hutson, Esq., Colonial Secretary of the Colony of Fiji.