# CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION, July 4, 1911.

The Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice that on the 18th September 1911, and following days, an Open Competitive Examination will be held in London, Edinburgh, Dublin, Bedford, Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Nottingham, Plymouth, Southampton, Aberdeen, Dundee, Glasgow, Belfast, Cork, and Limerick, under the Regulations dated the 22nd March 1910, and published in the London Gazette of the same date, at which Examination not fewer than 100 Candidates will be selected for Clerkships in the Second Division of the Civil Service, provided they satisfy the Civil Service Commissioners that they are duly qualified.

No person will be admitted to Examination from whom the Secretary, Civil Service Commission, has not received, on or before the 24th August, an application, in the handwriting of the Candidate, on a prescribed form, which may be obtained from the Secretary at once.

## CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION, July 4, 1911.

In pursuance of the provisions of His late Majesty's Order in Council of the 10th January 1910, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the under-mentioned Appointments, Promotions, &c. (including Assignments of Second Division Clerks, and Transfers of Assistant Clerks of the Abstractor Class) for the month of June 1911:—

## I. CERTIFICATES ISSUED, ETC.

June 1, 1911.

## AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Customs and Excise Department: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor)—Frederick Thomas Tribble.

Board of Trade: Assistant Clerks (Abstractors)
—William Noel Edwards, Samuel Henry
Hastings.

Post Office: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor)——Leonard Norman Hicks.

Male Learner, London-John Simpson.

Female Learner, Southampton—Annie Dalgliesh.

### AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Sorters, London—George Arthur Curgenven, Goldin Thomas Totman, John Richard Whitman.

Male Learners — Cecil Herbert Harding (Southend-on-Sea), Frederick George Wilcock (Oundle).

### WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Post Office: Postman, London—Frederick William Tunnell.

Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Mountain Ash S.O., Aberdare—Johnny Lewis.

Telephonist, Hull—Ivy Wigelsworth. Lineman—William Francis Simpson. Postmen — Percy Bishop (Hungerford), Peter Christopher Dunne (Curragh Camp), Robert Murray M'Heyne Gollan (Inverness), Henry Hayter (Llanelly), Jonathan Sewell (Kendal).

Temporary Assistant Postmen — William George Arnold, Charles Edward Symkiss, William Henry Widdowson.

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 10th January 1910.

Inland Revenue: Clerks to Surveyors of Taxes
—John Costello, Edward Fish Simmons,
Ernest Charles Terry.

Nationial Education Office (Ireland): Junior Inspector of National Schools—Christopher Patrick Dardis.

Board of Trade: Engineer Surveyor (Third Class)—Alfred Henry Longstaffe.

# FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY CLERKS.

Bertram Wagener Balk, Alan Gordon Thom Barkway, Dudley Frank Barton, Clarence Reginald Deardon Drummond, George Irvine, Woolf Margolsky.

### June 2, 1911.

### AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Second Division: Clerk-Frank Harold Bowen.

Post Office: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor)— Victor Ernest Michael MacSwiney.

Male Sorter, London—William Theodore Furness.

Girl Clerks, London—Ella Lottie Canter, Ethel Clara Soper.

Female Typists, London—Dorothy Hilda Cornwell, Margaret Florence Parfett.

Female Learner, Brighton-Elinor Willard.

### AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, North Midland District—Mary Edith Wood.

Male Learner, London—Joseph Rosenthal. Male Learner, Rochdale—Robert Drake.

Female Learners—Marjorie Wilson Brett (Wellingborough), Dorothy Frances Lees (Guildford).

### WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Portsmouth Dockyard: Ship-wrights-William Finley, Robert Mills Rown-tree

Prison Service, England and Wales: Subordinate Officer, Division I.—Thomas William Hutchinson.

Post Office: Postman or Porter, London—William Morris Sullivan.

Telephonist, London—Dorothy Annie Crane.
Postmen—Fred Barton (Clacton-on-Sea),
Thomas Breen (Waterford), Samuel Brown
(Manchester), John Kenny (Leeds), Frederick
Cameron M'Intosh (Aberdeen), George Arthur
Thompson (Blackpool).