4.—(a) On and after the 13th day of October, 1913, the right of a voluntary contributor being a member of an Approved Society to medical benefit and sanatorium benefit shall be suspended if, having entered into insurance during the week expiring on the 21st day of July, 1912, he is in arear on the 13th day of October, 1913, in respect of more than thirty-two weekly contributions, or if, having entered into insurance after the 21st day of July, 1912, he is in arrear on the 13th day of October, 1913, in respect of more than twenty-six weekly contributions, subject in both cases to the provisions of sub-section (4) of Section 10 of the principal Act.

5.—(1) On and after the 13th day of October, 1913, where a voluntary contributor being a member of an Approved Society is in arrears, the sum of those arrears calculated as hereinafter provided shall be set off against any sickness benefit which may from time to time become payable to him and his sickness benefit shall be withheld or reduced accordingly.

- (2) For the purposes of the last preceding paragraph the sum of the arrears of a voluntary contributor shall, subject to the provisions of subsection (4) of Section 10 of the principal Act, be ascertained as on each date on which any sickness benefit would be payable, in accordance with the following provisions:—
 - (a) No account shall be taken of any arrears in the case of a voluntary contributor entering into insurance before the 14th day of October, 1912, except in so far as they exceed the amount of three whole weekly contributions or in the case of a voluntary contributor entering into insurance on or after that date except in so far as they exceed the amount of two whole weekly contributions.
 - (b) Where before the 13th day of October, 1913, any sickness benefit to which he would otherwise have been entitled has been reduced, postponed or suspended on account of arrears, the sum of his arrears calculated as aforesaid shall be deemed to have been reduced by a sum equal to the amount of sickness benefit to which, but for such reduction, postponement or suspension, he would have been entitled.

6. This Order may be cited as the National Health Insurance (Arrears) Order, 1913.

Given under the Seal of Office of the National
Health Insurance Joint Committee this
11th day of October, in the year one
thousand nine hundred and thirteen.

R. W. HARRIS,

Clerk to the National Health Insurance Joint Committee,

We consent to this Order.

WEDGWOOD BENN,
WILLIAM JONES,
e Lords Commissione

Two of the Lords Commissioners of His Majorty's Treasury.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1911.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of the undermentioned DISEASE in SCOTLAND for the Week ended 11th October 1913, distinguishing Counties (including Burghs):—

ANTHRAX.

| | iks ed. | Animals Attacked. | | | |
|-----------------|-------------------------|-------------------|--------|----------|---------|
| County. | Outbreaks Confirmed. | Cattile. | Sheep. | Swine. | Horses. |
| | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. |
| Aberdeen | 3 | 3 | _ | | |
| Forfar Perth | 1 7 | I | _ | <u> </u> | |
| Wigtown | 1 | î | _ | 75 | |
| TOTAL | 5 | 6 | _ | 1-8 | 11 - |

The following Area is now an "Infected Area" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Midlothian.—An area comprising the Parish of Corstorphine, in the County of Midlothian (14th July 1913).

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st October 1911).—See also under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Argyllshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Ayrshire.—An Area comprising the County of Ayr, and the Burghs of Ayr, Irvine, and Kilmarnock (1st October 1911).

Banffshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Berwickshire, &c. — An Area comprising the Counties of Berwick, Roxburgh, and Selkirk, and the Burghs of Hawick and Galashiels, and also comprising the Parish of Stow, in the County of Midlothian (1st October 1911).

Buteshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Caithness.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Clackmannan.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumbartonshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumbarton (except its detached part), Lanark, Peebles, and Renfrew, and the