## DOWNING STREET, December 30, 1913.

The King has been pleased to make the following appointments, to take effect from the amalgamation of the territories of Northern and Southern Nigeria on the 1st January 1914:—

Sir Frederick John Dealtry Lugard, G.C.M.G., C.B., D.S.O. (now Governor of both Northern and Southern Nigeria), to be Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria, with the designation of Governor-General of Nigeria.

Alexander George Boyle, Esq., C.M.G., (Colonial Secretary of Southern Nigeria), and Charles Lindsay Temple, Esq., C.M.G. (Chief Secretary to Government, Northern Nigeria), to be Lieutenant-Governors in the Protectorate of Nigeria.

His Majesty has also been pleased to give directions for the appointment of Sir Edwin Arney Speed (Chief Justice, Northern Nigeria), to be Chief Justice of Nigeria, on the amalgamation of the Supreme Courts of Northern and Southern Nigeria.

## DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1911.

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st October 1911).—See als: under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Argyllshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Ayrshire.—An Area comprising the County of
Ayr, and the Burghs of Ayr, Irvine, and
Kilmarnock (1st October 1911).

Banffshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.
Berwickshire, &c.—An Area comprising the
Counties of Berwick, Roxburgh, and Selkirk,
and the Burghs of Hawick and Galashiels,
and also comprising the Parish of Stow, in
the County of Midlothian (1st October 1911).

Buteshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Caithness.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Clackmannan.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumbartonshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumbarton (except its detached part), Lanark, Peebles, and Renfrew. and the Burghs of Airdrie, Dumbarton, Greenock, Hamilton, Paisley, Port-Glasgow, and Rutherglen, and the City of Glasgow (1st October 1911).—See also under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumfriesshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumfries and Kirkcudbright, and the Burgh of Dumfries (1st October 1911).

Elgin.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Fife.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Forfarshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Haddingtonshire.—An Area comprising the County of Haddington (1st October 1911). Inverness-shire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Kincardineshire.—See under Aberdeenshire. &c. Kinross.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Kirkcudbrightshire.—See under Dumfriesshire, &c. Lanarkshire.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c. Linlithgow, &c. - An Area comprising the Counties of Linlithgow and Midlothian (except the Parish of Stow), the Burghs of Leith and Musselburgh, and the City of Edinburgh (1st October 1911).—See also under Berwickshire, &c. Midlothian.—See under Linlithgow, &c., and alsounder Berwickshire, &c. Nairn.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Orkney.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Peebles.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c. Perthshire. - See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Renfrew.—See under Dumbartonshire, &c. Ross and Cromarty.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Roxburghshire.—Śee under Berwickshire, &c. Selkirkshire.—See under Berwickshire, &c. Stirlingshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Sutherland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c. Wigtownshire.—An Area comprising the County of Wigtown (1st October 1911). Zetland.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of the undermentioned DISEASES in SCOTLAND for the Week ended 27th December 1913, distinguishing Counties (including Burghs):—

## ANTHRAX.

		Outbreaks Confirmed.	Animals Attacked.				
COUNTY.			Cattle.	Sheep.	Swine.	Horses.	
			No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Aberdeen Ayr Banff Fife Forfar Lanark Wigtown			4  1 3 1 1	4 1 3 1 2 1			- - - -
TOTAL			11	13	_	_	1

## PARASITIC MANGE.

Count	Outbreaks Reported.	Animals Attacked.	
		No.	No.
Lanark City of Edinburgh Selkirk	 	1 1 1	] ] ]
TOTAL	 	3	3

Board of Agriculture and Fisheries, 30th December 1913.