prosecution of the present War that the sale and supply of intoxicating liquor should be controlled by the State, and to apply to such area so defined the Regulations issued by His Majesty in pursuance of the said Act under the Defence of the Realm Consolidation Act, 1914:

And whereas His Majesty in Council in pursuance of the said first-mentioned Act has issued the Defence of the Realm (Liquor Control) Regulations, 1915, under the said last-mentioned Act:

And whereas it appears to His Majesty that it is expedient for the purpose of the successful prosecution of the present War that the sale and supply of intoxicating liquor in the respective areas defined and specified in the Schedule hereto should be controlled by the State on the ground that War material is being made, loaded, unloaded, and dealt with in transit therein, and that men belonging to His Majesty's Naval and Military forces are assembled therein:

Now, therefore, His Majesty is pleased, by and with the advice of His Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

The Defence of the Realm (Liquor Control) Regulations, 1915, and any Regulations amending the same, shall be, and are, hereby applied to the respective areas defined and specified in the Schedule hereto.

ALMERIC FITZROY.

SCHEDULE.

I. The Midlands Area, being the area comprising the Cities of Birmingham, Coventry, and Worcester, the County Boroughs of Dudley, Smethwick, Walsall, West Bromwich, and Smethwick, Walsall, West Bromwich, and Wolverhampton, the Boroughs of Nuneaton, Royal Learnington Spa, Stratford-on-Avon, Sutton Coldfield, and Warwick, and the Petty Sessional Divisions of Alcester, Atherstone, Coleshill, Coventry, Henley-in-Arden, Kenilworth, Rugby (excepting the parish of Willoughby), Solihull, Stratford and Snitterfield (excepting the parishes of Atherstone-on-Stour, Eatington and Whitchurch), and Warwick (excepting the parish of Chesterton and Kingston) in the County of Warwick, the Boroughs of Bewdley, Droitwich and Kidderminster, and the Petty Sessional Divisions of Bromsgrove, Droitwich, Halesowen, Hundred House, Kidderminster, Oldbury, Redditch, Stourbridge, Stourport and Worcester in the County of Worcester, the Borough of Wednesbury, and the Petty Sessional Divisions of Bilston (including Sedgley), Dudley, Kingswinford and Wordsley, Rowley Regis, Rushall, Wednesbury (including Tipton), and Wolverhampton (including Willenhall) in the County of Stafford.

II. The West Riding Area, being the area comprising the Cities of York, Bradford, Leeds, Ripon, Sheffield and Wakefield, the County Boroughs of Barnsley, Dewsbury, Halifax, Huddersfield and Rotherham, the West Riding of the County of York, the Petty Sessional Division of Bulmer East and the Parish of Shipton in the North Riding of the County of York, the Parishes of Fulford, Naburn, Stillingfleet, Escrick, Deighton Wheldrake, Elvington, Dunnington, and Heslington in the East Riding of the County of York, the Borough of Chesterfield, and the Petty Sessional Divisions of Chapel-en-le-Frith, Bakewell, Eckington and

Chesterfield in the County of Derby, and the Petty Sessional Division of Worksop (excepting the Parishes of Budby, Edwinstone, Ollerton and Wellow) in the County of Nottingham.

III. The Plymouth Area, being the area comprising the County Borough of Plymouth, the Petty Sessional Division of Midland Roborough, the Parishes of Plympton St. Maurice, Plympton St. Mary, Cornwood, Harford, Ivybridge, Yealmpton, Brixton, Ermington, Helbeton, Newton Ferrers, Revelstoke, Plymstock, Wembury and Bere Ferrers in the County of Devon, and the Petty Sessional Division of South East in the County of Cornwall.

IV. The Falmouth Area, being the area comprising the Boroughs of Falmouth and Penryn, the Petty Sessional Divisions of East Kerrier and East Penwith, and the Parishes of St. Anthony-in-Roseland, St. Just-in-Roseland, Gerrans, Philleigh and Feock in the County of Cornwall.

V. The Portsmouth Area, being the area comprising the County Borough of Portsmouth, the Petty Sessional Divisions of Gosport, Fareham and Havant, and the Parishes of Curdridge, Shedfield, Soberton and Hambledon in the County of Southampton, and the Parish of Westbourne in the County of Sussex.

VI. The Pembroke Area, being the area comprising the County of Pembroke.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

LORD CHAMBERLAIN'S OFFICE, ST. JAMES'S PALACE, S.W., November 8, 1915.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following appointments to the Most Honourable Order of the Bath, for distinguished service in the Field during the

operations at the Dardanelles:—

To be Additional Members of the Military

Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant-Colonel James Isherwood, 1st/5th

Battalion, The Lancashire Fusiliers, Territorial Force.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temporary Brigadier-General) Hugh Archie Dundas Simpson-Baikie, Royal Artillery.

Major (temporary Brigadier-General) Francis Earl Johnston, The Prince of Wales's (North Staffordshire Regiment).

AUSTRALIAN IMPERIAL FORCE.

Colonel (temporary Brigadier-General) Joseph John Talbot Hobbs, Commanding Divisional Artillery.

Lieutenant-Colonel Richard Edmond Courtney, 14th Battalion (Victoria).

Lieutenant-Colonel George Jamieson Johnston, 2nd Field Artillery Brigade.

Lieutenant-Colonel James Harold Cannan, 15th Battalion (Queensland and Tasmania).

Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Rosenthal, 3rd Field Artillery Brigade.