The following award has also been approved:—

To receive the Distinguished Service Medal.

Engine Room Artificer, 3rd Class, Edward William Reginald Bevan, O.N. M.1189.

Admiralty, 12th January 1916.

His Majesty the KING has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following appointments to the Distinguished Service Order and for the award of the Distinguished Service Cross to the undermentioned Officers:—

To be Companions of the Distinguished Service Order.

Commodore Charles Duncan Johnson, M.V.O., R.N.

Captain Ernest Wigram, R.N. Captain Frederic Godfrey Bird, R.N.

Captain Humphrey Wykeham Bowring, R.N. Commander William George Hastings Bickford, R.N.

To receive the Distinguished Service Cross.

Lieutenant Lionel Frederick Robinson, R.N. Skipper Laurence Scarlett, R.N.R.

The following awards have also been made :-

To receive the Distinguished Service Medal.

Chief Petty Officer Jesse Philip Champion, O.N.155570.

Petty Officer Edgar Stowe, O.N.182402.

Leading Seaman Herbert James Tree, O.N. 224325.

Seaman Francis Comber, R.N.R., O.N.1622 D. Second Hand Thomas John Prior, R.N.R.,

O.N.1089 S.A.
Able Seaman (Mercantile Rating) Charles

Joughin.

Chief Yeoman of Signals Daniel Paul Foley,

O.N.191303. Leading Signalman Arthur Henry Woodgate, O.N.239957.

Leading Signalman William Smith, O.N.213714. Leading Signalman George Wickwar, O.N.191551. Leading Signalman Francis Herbert Banks, O.N.229772.

Leading Telegraphist Stanley William John Spooner, O.N.222998.

Chief Engine Room Artificer, 1st Class, James Paterson, O.N.269167.

Chief Engine Room Artificer, 1st Class, Albert Wynn, O.N.269218.

Chief Engine Room Artificer, 2nd Class, John Tait, O.N.270687.

Engine Room Artificer, 4th Class, Robert Spiers, O.N.M.10941.

Acting Engine Room Artificer, 4th Class, Edmond Stuart Joseph White, O.N.M.12159.

Acting Engine Room Artificer, 4th Class, Percival Charles Hayward, O.N.M.11920.

Blacksmith Stephen Thomas Smith. O.N.M. 2725.

Corporal Sidney Morriss, R.M.L.I., O.N. Po./15842.

The following Officers and men are commended for service in action :—

Flight Commander Francis Knox Haskins, R.N. Lieutenant Commander Robert Herbert Borgnis Hammond-Chambers, R.N.

Lieutenant Commander (now Commander)
Francis Hutchinson Laprimaudaye Lewin,
R.N.

Lieutenant Reginald James Blakeney Drew, R.N.

Sub-Lieutenant Malcolm Nickle English, R.N.R. Sub-Lieutenant (Acting Lieutenant) David Victor Spence Watson, R.N.R.

Engineer Sub-Lieutenant William Taylor Wilson, R.N.R.

Skipper Alexander Buchan, R.N.R. (W.S.A. 1315).

Skipper James Peck, R.N.R. (W.S.A.869). Chief Petty Officer Frank Jones, O.N.170433.

Chief Petty Officer John Slee, O.N.177228.

Petty Officer Peter Inkson, O.N.215564.

Petty Officer Stephen Henry Lawrence Macey, O.N.164791.

Able Seaman Maurice David Phillips, O.N. 198932 (R.F.R. Dev.B.3848).

Boy 1st Class Sidney Archibald Quinlan, O.N. J.30847.

Second Hand William Ritchie, R.N.R., O.N. 1461 S.A.

Deck Hand Samuel John Pack, R.N.R., O.N. 3870 D.A.

Deck Hand Robert Watson, R.N.R., O.N. 4152 D.A.

Chief Yeoman of Signals Charles Parker, O.N. 161007.

Yeoman of Signals William Henry White, O.N.224985.

Signalman Edmund Rixon, R.N.V.R., O.N. Wales Z/876.

Engine Room Artificer, 3rd Class, Thomas Andrew Stewart Thomson, O.N.M.12164.

Stoker Petty Officer Percival George William Hill, O.N.K/3472.

Engineman Robert Sheriff, R.N.R., O.N. 393 E.S.

Engineman Archibald Thacker, R.N.R., O.N. 1770 E.S.

Shipwright, 2nd Class, Samuel Tolcher Pepperell, O.N.M.7015.

Sergeant Arthur Tushaw, R.M.L.I., Ch./F. 12651.

Private Richard George Greening, R.M.L.I., Po/13744 (R.F.R./B.1080).

NOTICE OF INTENDED DISTRIBUTION OF NAVAL SALVAGE MONEY.

Department of the Accountant-General of the Navy, Admiralty, S.W., 11th January 1916.

Notice is hereby given to the Officers, Seamen, and all persons interested therein, that the distribution of the awards for the salvage of the Derelicts, "L. C. Tower" and "Baltzer" by His Majesty's Trawler "Ina William" on the 6th and 7th July 1915, and the 13th and 14th August 1915, respectively, will commence on Wednesday the 12th instant, in the Prize Branch of the Department of the "Accountant-General of the Navy, Admiralty, S.W."