India Office,

24th January 1917.

The KING has been pleased to appoint Diwan Bahadur Perungavur Rajagopala Achariyar Avargal, C.I.E., to be a Member of the Executive Council of the Governor of Madras, in succession to Sir Pazhamanheri Sundaram Aiyar Sivaswami Aiyar, C.I.E., whose term of office will shortly expire.

Civil Service Commission, January 30, 1917.

Notice is hereby given that, upon a special recommendation from the Postmaster-General, and with the assent of the Treasury, Mr. Joseph Edward Highton, having served as a Clerk of the Second Division for upwards of eight years, has been promoted to a First Class Clerkship in the Secretary's Office, Dublin, of the General Post Office, with a special certificate granted exceptionally by the Civil Service Commissioners.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1914.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of the undermentioned DISEASES in SCOTLAND for the Week ended 27th January 1917, distinguishing Counties (including Burghs):—

ANTHRAX.

	Outbreaks Confirmed.	Animals Attacked.			
County.		Cattle.	Sheep.	Swine.	Horses.
	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Aberdeen Lanark Wigtown	1 1 1	1 1 1	<u> </u>		
TOTAL	3	3	_		_

SHEEP SCAB.

		C	Outbreaks Reported.				
							No
Aberd	een			. 			3
Ayr							6
Fife							1
Inverr	ess		•••				1 8 2
Perth	•••	•••	•••	•••	• •••	•••	2
	TOTAL						20

PARASITIC MANGE.

COUNTY.			Outbreaks Reported.	Animals Attacked.		
				No.	No.	
Aberdeen				2	11	
T3 - 4				l	2	
Lanark				5	6	
Midlothian (ex.			Edin-	-	_	
burgh)				1	3	
City of Edinbur	gh	•••		2	9	
TOTAL		•••		11 '	31	

The following Areas are now "Scheduled Areas" for the purposes of the Swine Fever (Regulation of Movement) Order of 1908:—

Aberdeenshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Aberdeen, Argyll, Banff, Bute, Caithness, Clackmannan, Elgin, Fife, Forfar, Inverness, Kincardine, Kinross, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, Ross and Cromarty, Stirling, Sutherland, and Zetland, and the detached part of the County of Dumbarton; the Cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, and Perth; and the Burghs of Peterhead, Campbeltown, Elgin, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar, Montrose, Inverness, Falkirk, and Stirling (1st October 1911).—See also under Dumbartonshire, &c.

Argyllshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Ayrshire.—An Area comprising the County of Ayr, and the Burghs of Ayr, Irvine, and Kilmarnock (1st October 1911).

Banfishire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Berwickshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Berwick, Roxburgh, and Selkirk, and the Burghs of Hawick and Galashiels, and also comprising the Parish of Stow, in the County of Midlothian (1st October 1911).

Buteshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Caithness.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Clackmannan.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumbartonshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumbarton (except its detached part), Lanark, Peebles, and Renfrew, and the Burghs of Airdrie, Dumbarton, Greenock, Hamilton, Paisley, Port-Glasgow, and Rutherglen, and the City of Glasgow (1st October 1911).—See also under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Dumfriesshire, &c.—An Area comprising the Counties of Dumfries and Kirkeudbright, and the Burgh of Dumfries (1st October 1911).

Elgin.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Fife.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Forfarshire.—See under Aberdeenshire, &c.

Haddingtonshire.—An Area comprising the County of Haddington (1st October 1911).