Rear-Admiral Sir Osmond De Beauvoir Brock,

K.C.V.O., C.B., C.M.G.
Rear-Admiral Richard Fortescue Phillimore, C.B., M.V.O.

To be Additional Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinquished Order:

Captain Henry George Glas Sandeman, R.N. (Commodore, 2nd Class).

Captain James William Combe, R.N. Captain George Bingham Powell, R.N.

Captain Frederic Godfrey Bird, R.N., D.S.O. Captain David Murray Anderson, R.N., M.V.O.

Captain Percy Molyneux Rawson Royds, R.N. Captain Charles Samuel Wills, R.N., D.S.O. Captain Charles Laverock Lambe, R.N. D.S.O.

Engineer Captain Archie Russell Emdin, R.N. Commander (Acting Captain) Harold Escombe, R.N.

Commander (Acting Captain) Donald John Munro, R.N.

Commander (Acting Captain) Fitzmaurice Acton, R.N.

Commander (Acting Captain) Ferdinand Halford Elderton, R.N., D.S.O.

Commander (Acting Captain) Archibald Cochrane, R.N.

Fleet-Paymaster Charles Edward Allen Woolley, R.N.

Fleet-Paymaster Tom Seaman, R.N.

Fleet-Paymaster Charles Henry Rowe, R.N.

Fleet-Paymaster Charles Ernest Batt, R.N.

Fleet-Surgeon Edward Henry Meaden, R.N. Lieutenant-Colonel Francis Doveton Bridges, R.M.L.I.

Major Henry Cleeve Benett, R.M.L.I. Lieutenant-Commander (Acting Commander) David George Hogarth, R.N.V.R.

> Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Downing Street, 1st January, 1918.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotions in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

His Honour Frank Stillman Barnard, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of British Columbia.

Horace Archer Byatt, Esq., C.M.G., Civil Administrator, German East Africa.

Major-General Samuel Benfield Steele, C.B., M.V.O., Canadian Militia.

Herbert James Read, Esq., C.B., C.M.G., Assistant Under-Secretary of State, Colonial

The Honourable John Mark Davies, President of the Legislative Council of the State of Victoria.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Dis $tingwished\ Order:-$

Philip Arnold Anthony, Esq., General Manager of the Federated Malay States Railways.

Algernon Edward Aspinall, Esq., Secretary,

The West India Committee.
Lieutenant-Colonel Louis Edward Barnett, New Zealand Medical Corps.

Harry Fagg Batterbee, Esq., of the Colonial Office; Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for the Colonies.

Rodolphe Boudreau, Esq., Clerk of the Privy Council for Canada.

Esq., Peter Joseph McDermott, Under-Secretary, Chief Secretary's Department, State of Queensland.

Arthur Mews, Esq., Deputy Colonial Secretary, Newfoundland.

The Honourable William Bispham Propeting, Attorney-General and Minister for Railways of the State of Tasmania.

Theodorus Gustaff Truter, Esq., Commissioner of Police, Union of South Africa.

Robert Walter, Esq., Colonial Secretary of the Colony of British Honduras.

Jeremiah Wilson, Esq., Postmaster-General, Union of South Africa.

To be Honorary Members of the Third Class,. or Companions, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

His Highness Daudi Chwa, Kabaka of Buganda.

Louis Antonio Andrade, Esq., District Commissioner for the Island of Zanzibar.

> Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George Downing Street, 1st January, 1918.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotion in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be an Ordinary Member of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

The Honourable Sir Francis Hyde Villiers, G.C.V.O., K.C.M.G., C.B., His Majesty's. Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to His Majesty the King of the Belgians.

To be an Honorary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Adly Yeghen Pasha, Minister of Education in the Egyptian Government.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

John Charles Tudor Vaughan, Esq., M.V.O., Counsellor at His Majesty's Embassy at Madrid

James William Ronald Macleay, Esq., Counsellor of Embassy in His Majesty's Diplomatic Service.

Dayrell Eardley Montague Crackanthorpe, Esq., Counsellor to His Majesty's Legation at Athens.

Edward Henry John Leslie, Esq., of the \cdot Foreign Office.

Hugh Gurney, Esq., M.V.O., First Secretary to His Majesty's Legation at Copenhagen. Guy Harold Locock, Esq., of the Foreign Office; attached to the Department of Com-

mercial Intelligence