Paul Dietrich Cluver, Esq., Mayor of Stellen-

John Dougall, Esq., Honorary Treasurer, Governor-General's Fund.

Robert Dunlop, Esq., of the Natal Branch of the Governor-General's Fund.

Mrs. Eveline Mary Duquemin, for services in connection with the Governor-General's

John Fairbairn, Esq., Joint Honorary Secretary, Red Cross, South Africa.

Pieter Jacobus van Breda Faure, Esq., ex-Mayor of Bloomfontein.

Mrs. Laura Vivienne Fraser, of the Comforts Committee, De Aar.

Mrs. Grace Christian Friedlander, President and Honorary Secretary of the South African Work Rooms, London.

Constantine William Giovanetti, Esq., Mayor of Pretoria.

Alexander Forsyth Girdwood, Esq., Port Goods Superintendent, Cape Town.

Willoughby How, Esq., Honorary Secretary, Port Elizabeth Local Committee of the Governor-General's Fund.

Edwin Gilbert Izod, Esq., South African War Market Committee, Johannesburg.

John Chambers Kemsley, Esq., Mayor of Port Elizabeth.

Mrs. Elizabeth Evelyn Martin, of the Red Cross Committee, Cape Town.

Mrs. Justina Wilhelmina Nancy Moller, of the Comforts Committee, Johannesburg.

Mrs. Susan Ann Murray, of the Red Cross Committee, Bloemfontein.

Mrs. Maria Nuttall, for services in connection with the Governor-General's Fund, Durban. John Orr, Esq., Mayor of Kimberley.

Miss Mary Jeannette Parker, of the Women's Patriotic League, Pietermaritzburg.

Thomas Samuel Parkyns, Esq., for war services on the railways of the South-West Africa Protectorate.

Mrs. Catherine Mary Rees, Member of War Work Committees, East London. Frederick Rowland, Esq., Joint Honorary

Secretary, Red Cross, South Africa.

Mrs. Emma Jane Searle, of the Red Cross Committee, Cape Town.

nomas Sleith, Esq., General Union Defence Forces Institute. Thomas Sleith, General Manager,

Richard Walter Stowe, Esq., for war services in the South African Railway Workshops, Cape Town.

Percy Henry Taylor, Esq., Mayor of Pietermaritzburg.

Arthur Walter Townshend, Esq., Chairman, Visiting Troops Entertainment Committee, Cape Town.

Mrs. Kate Amy van der Bijl, of the Red Cross and Comforts Committees, Cape Town.

Mrs. Rose Lilian Vinteent, of the South African Comforts Committee, London.

John Henry Weaver, Esq., Chief Censor for the Union of South Africa.

Charles Winser, Esq., Honorary Secretary, Natal Red Cross.

## NEWFOUNDLAND.

To be a Knight Commander of the said Most Excellent Order.

The Honourable Patrick Thomas McGrath, LL.D., President of the Legislative Council, Food Controller, Secretary of the Patriotic Fund, and Chairman of the Pensions and Disabilities Board.

To be a Dame Commander of the said Most Excellent Order.

Margaret Agnes, Lady Davidson, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

To be a Commander of the said Most Excellent Order.

The Honourable James Augustus Clift, K.C., Acting Minister of Agriculture and Mines, Vice-Chairman of the Standing Committee of the Patriotic Association, Member of the Recruiting Committee and the Pensions Board.

To be Officers of the said Most Excellent Order. Mrs. Adeline Elizabeth Browning, for services in connection with the reception and treatment of returned sailors and soldiers.

Charles O'Neill Conroy, Esq., K.C., Commandant of the Catholic Cadet Corps.

Mrs. Katherine Emerson, Treasurer of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Walter Baine Grieve, Esq., Honorary Secretary of the Recruiting Committee.

Mrs. Eleonora Thompson MacPherson, Member of the Executive of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Major Alexander Montgomerie, for services in connection with the Royal Newfoundland Regiment.

Mrs. Florence Lavinia Paterson, Member of the Committee for receiving returned soldiers.

Robert George Rendell, Esq., Organiser of the Cadet Corps.

To be Members of the said Most Excellent Order.

William Walker Blackall, Esq., B.A., a Superintendent of Education, for services in connection with recruiting.

Vincent Patrick Burke, Esq., M.A., LL.D., a Superintendent of Education, for services in connection with recruiting.

The Reverend Levi Curtis, M.A., D.D., a Superintendent of Education, for services in connection with recruiting.

Mrs. Elizabeth Selina Green, for services in connection with the Newfoundland War Contingent Association.

Miss Annie Hayward, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

Miss Mary McKay, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Eliza Mary Jane Morris, for services in connection with the Newfoundland War Contingent Association. Captain William Hoyles Rennie, Volunteer

Musketry Instructor, for services in con-nection with the Royal Newfoundland nection Regiment.

Frank Steer, Esq., Honorary Secretary of the Imperial Red Cross Fund in Newfoundland.

CROWN COLONIES, PROTECTORATES, &c.

To be Knights Commanders of the said Most Excellent Order.

The Most Reverend Maurus Caruana, Archbishop, Bishop of Malta.

Sir Everard Ferdinand im Thurn, K.C.M.G., C.B., Vice-Chairman, King George and Queen Mary's Club for the Oversea Forces. rigadier - General Sir William Henry

Brigadier - General Sir Manning, K.C.M.G., C.B., Captain-General