George Cox Fache, Esq., Commissioner of Pensions, for services in connection with War Pensions.

Frederick Chandos Courtenay Fell, Esq., for services in connection with patriotic organisations.

James Findlay, Esq., for services as Chairman of the Overseas Shipowners' Committee, Wellington.

Malcolm Fraser, Esq., for services as Government Statistician.

James Hislop, Esq., for services as Under-Secretary of the Department of Internal Affairs—the Department in charge of War Funds.

William Barr Montgomery, Esq., for services as Comptroller of Customs.

Thomas Moss, Esq., for services as a Member of the National Efficiency Board.

Vera Anita, Mrs. Myers, for services as Head of the Voluntary Staff at the Base Records Office, New Zealand.

John William Poynton, Esq., Stipendiary Magistrate, for services in connection with a Military Service Board.

George Edward Rhodes, Esq., for services in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and Order of St. John of Jerusalem.

Thomas Sheriff Ronaldson, Esq., Assistant Public Trustee, for service as Chairman of the Financial Assistance Board.

The Reverend William Shirer, Senior Presbyterian Chaplain to the New Zealand Military Forces.

Guy Hardy Scholefield, Esq.

George Shirtcliffe, Esq., for services in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and Order of St. John of Jerusalem.

The Right Reverend Thomas Henry Sprott, D.D., Anglican Bishop of Wellington, for services in connection with the selection and allocation of Chaplains to the New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Kingi Topia, High Chief of the Wanganui and Tuwharotoa Tribes, for services in connection with recruiting and in securing land for returned Maori soldiers.

Thomas Wilson, Esq., for services in connection with the Financial Assistance Board.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Alfred Montague Adams, Esq., for services as Chief Executive Officer of the Munitions and Supplies Department.

Rachel Mary, Mrs. Barton, for services in connection with patriotic organisations.

Margaret Brown, Mrs. Blackwell, for services in connection with the Countess of Liverpool Fund for the New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Hilda, Mrs. Bloomfield, for services in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and the Order of St. John of Jerusalem and for the Victoria League.

Annie Elizabeth, Mrs. Blundell, for services in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and Order of St. John of Jerusalem.

Janet, Mrs. Bowie, for Red Cross services.

Violet M'Conochie, Mrs. Brown, for services in connection with soldiers' equipment.

Charles Hayward Burgess, Esq., Mayor of New Plymouth, for patriotic services.

Alexander Burt, Junior, Esq., for services in connection with the Motor Boat Section of the New Zealand Defence Forces.

Edith, Mrs. de Castro, for services in institutions at Cairo and in Canteen at Ismailia, Egypt.

Miss Esther Charles, for patriotic services.

Miss Lydia Clark, for services in connection with the Countess of Liverpool Fund for the New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Miss Ethel Mary Cooper, for services in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and the Order of St. John.

Frances Zoe, Mrs. Courage, for services in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and the Order of St. John of Jerusalem.

Gertrude Alice, Mrs. Crawford, for services in connection with the Countess of Liverpool Fund for the New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Ethel, Mrs. Cuff, for services in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and the Order of St. John of Jerusalem.

Miss Hannah Dawson, for patriotic services.

George Finley Dixon, Esq., for services as Private Secretary to the Minister of Defence.

Mabel, Mrs. Ellison, for service in connection with the New Zealand Branch of the British Red Cross Society and the Order of St. John of Jerusalem.

Harold Gerard, Esq., for services as Assistant Private Secretary to the Minister of Defence.

Louisa Grace Charlotte, Mrs. Greenslade, for patriotic services.

Thomas Gunnion, Esq., for patriotic services.

Miss Brenda Guthrie, for services as a voluntary worker at the Victoria Military Ward of the Wellington Hospital.

Miss Eveline Alice Marian Harcourt, for services on the voluntary staff at Base Records Office, New Zealand.

Miss Kate Harrison for patriotic services.

Henry William Harrington, Esq., for services as Censor.

Heathcote George Helmore, Esq., for services as Aide-de-Camp to the Governor-General of New Zealand.

Emma Carey, Mrs. Hill, for services in connection with the Victoria League.

Margaret Mary Annie, Mrs. Hislop, for services in connection with the Countess of Liverpool Fund.

Ann Margaret, Mrs. Hitchen, for services in connection with Belgian Relief and the entertainment of New Zealand soldiers.

Elizabeth Annie, Mrs. Holdsworth, for services on the voluntary staff at Base Records Office, New Zealand.

William Godfrey Holdsworth, Esq., for services on the voluntary staff at Base Records Office, New Zealand.

Miss Lavinia Jano Kelsey, for patriotic services.

Miss Emma Ethel Maud Ford King, for patriotic
services

Sarah Hannah, Mrs. King, for patriotic services. James Lovell, Esq. for services in connection with Patriotic Funds.

Miss Ethel Constance Chapman Macassey, for patriotic services.