Civil Service Commission. August 6, 1920.

NOTICE OF CANCELLATION.

The following notice, which appeared in the London Gazette of 2nd April 1920, is cancelled:

> CERTIFICATE GRANTED. March 23, 1920.

War Office: Messenger-Henry Charles Harris.

Civil Service Commission, August 6, 1920.

In pursuance of the provisions of His late Majesty's Order in Council of the 10th January 1910, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the undermentioned Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, etc. (including Assignments of Second D vision Clerks), for the month of July 1920 :--

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED, ETC.

July 1, 1920.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Civil Service Commission: Assistant Clerk (Abstractor)—John Morton Scott Jupp.

Ministry of Labour: Woman Clerk-Elizabeth Alice West.

Public Trustee Office: Woman Clerk-Dulcie Grace Clifford.

AFTER COMPETITION UNDER THE RECONSTRUC-TION SCHEME.

Customs and Excise Department: Officers of Customs and Excise-Harold Joseph Hayward, William Henry Innes, Patrick Joseph Kelly, Sidney George King, John Andrew Pringle, Alfred Slaughter.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Broadmoor or Rampton Criminal Lunatic Junior Attendant-Frank Louis Asylum:

Prison Service, England and Wales: Matron or Warder—Edith Mary Vaughan.

Post Office: Female Sorting Clerks and Tele-graphists—Nattelia Kate Burridge (Birming-ham), Constance Isabel Snell (Sidmouth), Esther Mary Elizabeth Steere (Aldershot), Irene Tomlinson (Bradford).

Typists-Winifred Irene Baxter (Bristol), Jennie Jones (Stoke-on-Trent), Ellen Kemish (Watford).

Post Office: Skilled Workmen—Charles William Clarke, John Henry Cole, William Samuel Granger Edward, Joseph William Geraghty, Joseph Hugh Wallace Hampton, Michael Hayes, Albert Rayner, John Cole Sanderson, George Thorn, John William Dudley Whitehouse.

Telephonists, London—Edith Mary Challis, Doris Evelyn Evans.

Telephonists — Lilian Ethel Eltringham (Newcastle - on - Tyne), Margaret Shaw M'Meechan (Glasgow), Dorothy Hilda Miller Inland Revenue: Established Clerk to an In-(Glasgow), Mary Louisa Osborne (Plymouth),

Louie Parsons (Brighton), Lillian Stout (Durham), Dora Gertrude Śwann (Chelmsford), Janet Leishman Walker (Paisley), Caroline Wilson (Manchester).

Porter or Postman, London - William Frederick Mitchell.

Postmen-Bertie Wilson Broomfield (West Hartlepool), Edward Thomas Cobb (Hythe), Herbert Davis (Woodbridge), Joseph Garvey (Todmorden), William Kyte (Birmingham), Stephen Swanson Landles (Lairg), Sydney Charles Letchford (Okehampton), William John Miller (Linlithgow), Sidney Relf (Cranbrook), William Albert Rountree (Glasgow), Harold Stirling (Sheffield), Samuel John Tassell (Grantham), Thomas James Way (Milford Haven), James Edwin Wright (Middlesbrough).

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 10th January 1910.

Admiralty: Third Grade Clerks in H.M. Naval Establishments — Leslie Parker Johnston, William Wright.

Board of Agriculture for Scotland: Inspector -James Russell M'Callum.

War Office: Messenger—Henry Charles Harris.

Post Office: Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Macduff-Jamesina Hay Henry.

Typists-Annie Elizabeth Green (Sheffield). Gertrude Jennings (Sheffield).

Telephonists, London—Rose Ellen Gilbert, Dorothy Moyes.

Postmen, Dundee—Thomas Spence.

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council OF 10TH JANUARY 1910, AND UNDER CLAUSE 1 of the Order in Council of 23rd October 1918, AS AMENDED BY THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF THE 9TH DECEMBER 1919.

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries: Assistant Solicitor and Legal Advisor-Andrew Denys Stocks.

Staff Clerk in the Publications Branch-Harold Cecil Long.

Inland Revenue: H.M. Assistant Inspector of Taxes-Emrys Aeron Thomas.

Department of Overseas Trade: Minor Staff Officer—Sidney Walter Rose.

Ministry of Labour: Male Clerks in the Employment Department - Cuthbert Horace Alder, Thomas Cotgrave, Leslie John Deamer, Peter George Dunne, Michael Power, Thomas Wilfred Rankin, George Arthur Thorne, Harry Tipping, Walter Wiggington.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION AND UNDER CLAUSE 2 OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 22ND March 1918.

Fishery Board, Scotland: Fishery Officer—John James Riach.

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 10th January 1910, and under Clause 2 of THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 22ND MARCH

spector of Taxes-Charles Ledger.