- Ministry of Health : Female Writing Assistants —Dorothy Emmeline Andrews, Eisie Evelyn Reed.
- Scottish Board of Health: Female Writing Assistant—Margaret Livingstone Lind.
- Inland Revenue: Established Clerks to Inspectors of Taxes—William James David Carter, John Johnson Elliott, Alcwyn Evans, Edward Hewitt, Selina Kettell, John Harold Marshall Lawrence, Richard Gwatkin Lewis, Alfred Rowland Ward.

Typist-Rosa Mary Lawson.

- Ministry of Labour: Typist—Mary Amelia Hardaker.
- National Insurance Audit Department: Typist —Eva Olive Kathleen Barton.
- Ministry of Pensions : Female Writing Assistants —Andrea Macindoe Gray, Phyllis Mary Gertrude Portch, Annie Francis Wickerson.
- Public Trustee Office: Typist—Edith Hilda White.

Scientific and Industrial Research Department : Typist—Vera Theresa Troman.

Ministry of Transport: Typist-Elsie King.

- Post Office : Female Writing Assistant—Maude Louisa Vaissière.
- AFTER OPEN COMPETITION AND UNDER CLAUSE 2 OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 22ND MARCH 1918.
- Ministry of Labour: Employment Clerk-William James Baker.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

- Prison Service, England and Wales: Subordinate Officer, Division I.—William John Smitherman Price.
- Prison Department, Scotland : Warder—George Cormack Meldrum.
- Post Office : Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Ormskirk—Elizabeth Ann Casson. Skilled Workmen—Alfred Ferris Hatherly,

James Ernest Humby, Charles Henry Little, George Henry Mason, Richard Charles Smith,

Vincent John Sparrowe, William Thomson. Telephonist, London — Beatrice Marion

Telephonist, London — Beatrice Marion Warner.

Telephonist, Glasgow—Ann Mason Macdonald.

Porter or Postman, London—Herbert William Hayles.

Postmen—Peter Beveridge Allan (Edinburgh), Frank Broughton (Boston), James Francis Hinton (Cardiff), Spencer James Lingwood Howlett (Great Yarmouth), John Mahony (Wigan), John M'Farlane (Glasgow), Robert Syme M'Kenzie (Glasgow), William Morton (Berwick), Harold Potts (Crewe), Thomas Shiels (Edinburgh), Bernard Snowdon (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Edward James Waller (Watford).

Temporary Assistant Postman — Donald M'Kenzie.

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 10th January 1910.

- Supreme Court of Judicature, England : Third Class Clerk in the Central Office—William John Milton.
- War Office : Draughtsman Arthur Ernest Lacey.

Technical Assistant—James Wright Amor.

- Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 10th January 1910, and under Clause 2 of the Order in Council of 22nd March 1918.
- Inland Revenue: Assistant Inspectors of Taxes —William Roger Stanley Mostyn, Howard Thomas.

Established Clerk to an Inspector of Taxes— Wyndham Vaughan Williams.

- Department of the Director of Public Prosecutions: Shorthand Writer and Coypyist-Henry Byron Stroud.
- UNDER CLAUSE 7 OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 10TH JANUARY 1910, AND UNDER CLAUSE 1 OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 23RD OCTOBER 1918, AS AMENDED BY THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 9TH DECEMBER 1919.
- Board of Education : Woman Clerk in the Office of Special Inquiries and Reports—Olave Marion Alice Yorke.
- Ministry of Health : Assistant Principal—Hugh Stewart Hunter.
- National Debt Office : Assistant Principal Clerk —Henry Ray Powell.
- Under Clause 2 of the Order in Council of 22nd March 1918.
- Post Office: Male Telegraphist, London-Edward Oaks Organ.

Skilled Workman-Benjamin Simmons.

Storemen in the Stores Department, London —Walter Alfred Green, Harold Ernest Herbert Hull.

Night Telephonist and Call Office Attendant, London—Sidney Alfred Bunting.

Postmen or Porters, London—George John Grant, Percy Harris, Alfred Thomas Morgan, Henry Charles Turner, Harry Ware.

Postmen—George Edward Appleton (Birkenhead and Wallasey), Magnus Hoffman M'Lean Daniels (Glasgow), David Guthrie (Kelso), Harold Hartland (Birmingham), Ernest Hill (Rotherham), George Ernest Hill (Sheffield), Lewis Henry Jones (Oldham), John Kemp (Thetford), Frederick William Laver (Shepton Mallet), Hugh Augustine M'Grevy (Liverpool), George Moir (Peterhead), Rowland Muggleston (Leicester), Frederick Peryer (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Thomas Clarke Rimmer (Birkenhead and Wallasey), Elias Lewis Salisbury (Canterbury), Albert William Shepherd (Wantage), Thomas Timoney (Glasgow), Ernest Langford Vaughan (Bridgend), George AlexanderVeitch (Cumnock), Harold Weatherly (Faversham), Harry Larner Willis (Dartford).

August 4, 1921.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION

Clerical Class (Men)—Frederick Henry Brokenshire, Percival Theodore James Dadley, John Hudson Elder-Duncan, Harry James Gepp

1486