To be Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Miralai Francis Douglas Baker Bey, M.C., Assistant Commandant, Cairo City Police.

Captain Basil Hubert Cooper. For services rendered to British interests in Philadelphia.

Nellie Elizabeth Eddy, Mrs Macrae. For relief work among the British Community in Buenos Aires.

Cecil Gervase Hope-Gill, Esq., His Majesty's Vice-Consul at Jedda.

Christopher William Stanway, Esq., Auditor-General to Sudan Government.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Miss Nora Bing, Employed in His Majesty's Legation at Oslo.

Frank Derek Corfield, Esq., Assistant District Commissioner, Upper Nile Province, Sudan.

Reginald Thomas Davidson, Esq., British Vice-Consul at Kansas City.

Eustace Geoffrey Harvey Formby, Esq., British Vice-Consul at Seville.

Charles Frederick Ogle Gibson, Esq., First Archivist at His Majesty's Embassy at Brussels.

Daniel Herbert Paterson, Esq., Chief Clerk's Department, Ordnance Service, Egyptian Army.

Eileen, Mrs. Reid. For untiring work for the British Legion in Santiago.

Elizabeth Sutherland, Mrs. Turner, Registrar at His Majesty's Legation at Copenhagen.

## CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W.1, 1st January 1934.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following appointments to the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:—

To be Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Daisy, Mrs. Bates. For services in connection with the welfare of Australian aborigines.

Herbert William Champion, Esq., Government Secretary, Territory of Papua, Commonwealth of Australia.

Agnes, Mrs. Dennis, M.A., of Halifax, Nova Scotia. For a lifetime of distinguished service to the cause of humanity.

George Martin Farrow, Esq., J.P., President of the Limbless Soldiers' Association, State of New South Wales.

Francis Layton Foord, Esq., Deputy Resident Commissioner and Government Secretary, Basutoland.

Miss Laura Holland, R.R.C., of Vancouver, British Columbia. For work in organising and developing outpost welfare services and child protection work in Eastern and Western Canada.

Charles Albert Knowles, Esq., Private Secretary to successive High Commissioners in London for the Dominion of New Zealand.

Miss Helen MacMurchy, M.D., lately Chief, Division of Child Warfare, Department of Pensions and National Health of Canada.

Robert Aubrey Oxlade, Esq., Chairman of the Board of Cricket Control, Commonwealth of Australia.

Miss Edith Catherine Rayside, R.R.C., Superintendent of Hamilton General Hospital, Ontario. For public services.

Miss Elizabeth Laurie Smellie, R.R.C., Chief Superintendent, Victorian Order of Nurses for Canada.

Miss Charlotte Whitton, M.A., Executive Director, The Canadian Council on Child and Family Welfare.

Laura, Mrs. Wood, M.A. For services to educational and cultural development in New Brunswick.

To be Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—

Justine Lacoste, Madame Beaubien, of Montreal, Quebec. For services for sick and crippled children; in founding and extending the St. Justine Hospital.

Gladys Emily, Mrs. Campbell, of Windsor, Ontario. For personal service in every form

of community welfare.

Miss Gertrude Childs, Supervisor, Department of Public Welfare of the Province of Manitoba.

Miss Jessie Maud Colby, of Stanstead, Quebec. For maintaining the best traditions of community service and citizenship.

Miss Marguerita Douglas Fowler, of Swan River, Manitoba. For establishing and maintaining Saint Faith's House as a community centre in Northern Manitoba.

Lillian, Mrs. Freiman, of Ottawa, Ontario. For community work; service to returned soldiers; leadership in Jewish charitable organisations.

Lucy, Mrs. Hallenstein. For philanthropic and social services in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Caro Leclerc, Madame Hamilton, Presidentefondatrice, L'Assistance Maternelle, Montreal, Quebec.

Donald Mackay, Esq. For services in connection with scientific exploration and survey in the interior of Australia.

Violet Clara, Mrs. MacNaughton, of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. For services to practical agriculture and organisation of rural women.

Miss Sibylla Emily Maude. For services in connection with District Nursing in the Dominion of New Zealand.

Miss Jane Anna Mowbray, President of the Auckland Branch of the Victoria League, Dominion of New Zealand.

Jessica Frederica Pauline, Mrs. Sawyer, State President of the Country Women's Association, New South Wales. For services to the Commonwealth of Australia.

Abe Shannon, Esq. For public and philanthropic services in the State of South Australia.

Miss Ruby May Simpson, of Regina, Saskatchewan. For work for the Junior Red Cross nursing services and health education in the province of Saskatchewan.