Kenneth Ralph Barnes, Esq., Principal of the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art since 1909.

Henry Howarth Bashford, Esq., M.D., B.S., M.R.C.P., M.R.C.S., Chief Medical Officer, General Post Office.

John Alfred Arnesby Brown, Esq., R.A., Artist. Colonel Edward Geoffrey Hippisley-Cox, C.B.E., T.D., D.L., Secretary of the Parliamentary Agents' Society.

Alderman Arthur John Edward Craig, J.P. For political and public services in Peterborough.

Arthur Edwin Cutforth, Esq., C.B.E., F.C.A., Member of the Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. For services to Agriculture.

Ronald Conway Davison, Esq., a member of the Central Council of the National Labour Organisation. For political and public services.

Francis Netherwood Dixon, Esq., C.B., Secretary, Exchequer and Audit Department.

Walter Newman Flower, Esq., Managing Director of Cassell and Company, Ltd.

William John Handfield Haslett, Esq., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., J.P. For political and public services in the Spelthorne division of Middlesex.

Lieutenant-Colonel Claude Vivian Holbrook, C.B.E., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Rugby.

Alderman Arthur Newton Hollely, J.P. For political and public services in Plymouth.

Arthur Jackson, Esq., Managing Director of Sir John Jackson (Singapore), Ltd.

Lieutenant-Colonel John Conway Lloyd, M.C., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Breconshire and Radnorshire.

Stephen Philpot Low, Esq., Solicitor to the Board of Trade.

Alexander MacIntyre, Esq., Chairman and Managing Director of the Sudan Plantations Syndicate, Limited.

Alderman Albert Martin, J.P. For political and public services in Southend-on-Sea.

Alderman Ernest Arnold Mills. For political and public services in Lambeth.

John Moxon, Esq., O.B.E. For public services in Newport, Monmouthshire.

Allan Hume Nicholl, Esq., C.B.E., Chairman of the London Safety First Council and of the National Executive of the National Safety First Association.

Sydney Hugo Nicholson, Esq., M.V.O., D.Mus., F.R.C.O., Warden of St. Nicholas College, Chislehurst. For services to Church music.

Cyril Norwood, Esq., M.A., D.Litt., President of St. John's College, Oxford.

John Rowland, Esq., C.B., C.B.E., M.V.O., Chairman of the Welsh Board of Health.

George Leighton Seager, Esq., C.B.E., J.P. For political and public services in South Wales.

Alderman Albert Smith, J.P. For political and public services in Lancashire.

Charles Herbert Smith, Esq. For political and public services in Birmingham.

Francis Edward James Smith, Esq., President of the Council of the Law Society.

Louis William Smith, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Hallam Division of Sheffield since 1928. For political and public services.

Henry Toy, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Cornwall.

Samuel Turner, Esq., J.P. For public services in Lancashire.

Sydney Richard Wells, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for Bedford since 1922. For political and public services.

Frank Henry Cafaude Wiltshire, Esq., M.C., Town Clerk of Birmingham, Vice-President of the Society of Town Clerks

the Society of Town Clerks.

James Lockwood Wood, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Bradford.

DOMINIONS

Harry Percy Brown, Esq., C.M.G., M.B.E., M.I.E.E., Director-General of Posts and Telegraphs, Commonwealth of Australia.

The Honourable Harold Crisp, Chief Justice, State of Tasmania.

Albert Fuller Ellis, Esq., C.M.G., New Zealand Member of the British Phosphate Commission. Thomas Stewart Gordon, Esq. For public services in the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Honourable James Ross Macfarlan, K.C., LL.B., Senior Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court, State of Victoria.

Robert Blakeway Wade, Esq., M.D., F.R.A.C.S., President of the Medical Board, State of New South Wales.

INDIA

John Francis William James, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Patna, Bihar.

Sajba Shankar Rangnekar, Esq., Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Bombay.

Sarat Kumar Ghose, Esq., Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Fort William in Bengal.

Rai Bahadur Jai Lal, lately Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Lahore, Punjab.

William Alexander Cosgrave, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, lately Chief Commissioner of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Hugh Byard Clayton, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service (retired), Chairman of the Public Services Commission for the Provinces of Bombay and Sind, Bombay.

Major-General Arthur Mordaunt Mills, C.B., D.S.O., Military Adviser-in-Chief, Indian States Forces.

Benegal Narsinga Rau, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Officer on special duty, Reforms Office, Government of India.

John Frederick Hall, Esq., C.S.I., C.I.E., O.B.E., Indian Civil Service, Member, Board of Revenue, Madras.

Hugh Bomford, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Member, Board of Revenue, United Provinces, and lately Acting Governor of the Central Provinces and Berar.

John Rutherford Dain, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Revenue Commissioner, Orissa.

Khan Sahib Adamjee Hajee Dawood, Merchant, Calcutta, Bengal.

Dewan Bahadur Harilal Nemchand Gosalia, Dewan and President, Barwani State Council, Central India.

William Roberts, Esq., C.I.E., Manager, British Cotton Growing Association Farm, Khanewal, Multan District, Punjab.