LOCAL GOVERNMENT (SCOTLAND) ACTS

CONSTITUTION OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF LANARE

ORDER BY THE SECRETARY OF STATE.

WHEREAS the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County of Lanark, the number of County Councillors for the County and the apportionment of these County Councillors between the landward area and the burghs entitled to be represented on the County Council were determined by Orders dated the 25th October 1929 and the 20th September 1935 made by the Secretary of State under Section 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, and Section 51 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, respectively:

AND WHEREAS the boundaries of certain burghs in the County have been extended, and it is desirable to alter the description and contents of the electoral divisions of Bankhead (No. 19); Carmunnock (No. 20); Newmains (No. 30); Stepps (No. 39); Springboig (No. 40); Chryston (No. 41); Bellshill South (No. 46); and Old Monkland (No. 53) accordingly:

AND WHEREAS the County Council have represented to me that it is desirable to alter the contents and boundaries of the electoral division of Baillieston (No. 52) and to increase the number of County Councillors for the County and the number of County Councillors to be elected for the landward area of the County:

AND WHEREAS I am of opinion that it is expedient to give effect to their representations to the extent and in the manner hereinafter provided:

Now THEREFORE I, the undersigned, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in virtue of the powers conferred on me by Section 5 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, as read with the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, do hereby order as follows:—

. 1. The Order of the Secretary of State dated 25th October 1929, as read with the Order dated 20th September 1935, so far as relating to the electoral divisions of Newmains (No. 30); Stepps (No. 39); Springboig (No. 40); Chryston (No. 41); Bellshill South (No. 46); and the Order of the Secretary of State dated 20th September 1935 so far as relating to the electoral divisions of Bankhead (No. 19) and Carmunnock (No. 20) are hereby recalled, and from and after the date hereof the said electoral divisions shall have the following descriptions and contents, viz.:—

Concenss, viz—		
No. of Division.	Name of Division.	Contents and Boundaries.
19	Bankhead	(1) That part of the parish of Rutherglen which is bounded by the burgh of Rutherglen, the city of Glasgow, and the parish of Carmunnock. (2) That part of the parish of Carmunnock lying to the north of the Lanarkshire and Ayrshire section of the London Midland and Scottish Railway.
20	Carmunnock	(1) The remainder of the landward portion of the parish of Carmunnock. (2) That part of the parish of Rutherglen which is bounded by the burgh of Rutherglen, the parish of Carmunnock, and the parish of Cambuslang. (3) That part of the parish of Cambuslang which lies to the south of the Lanarkshire and Ayrshire section of the London Midland and Scottish Railway and to the west of a line drawn from the point on the parish boundary at which it is crossed by the footpath leading to Whitlawburn Farm along the said footpath in a northerly direction to the point at which it meets Whitlawburn Farm Road; thence along the centre of the said road to the point at which it crosses the Lanarkshire and Ayrshire section of the London Midland and Scottish Railway.
30	Newmains	That part of the landward portion of the parish of Cambusnethan which lies to the west of the Stane Division and generally to the East and North of a line commencing at the point at which the boundary of the burgh of Motherwell and Wishaw is crossed by the centre of the Wishaw and Newmains Branch of the London

Midland and Scottish Railway south of Queen Street,