The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of His Majesty's Birthday, to declare that the undermentioned shall be sworn of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council:—

The Honourable James Gray Stuart, M.V.O., M.C., M.P., Member of Parliament for Moray and Nairn since December 1923. A Lord Commissioner of H.M. Treasury and Scottish Unionist Whip since May 1935.

Herwald Ramsbotham, Esq., O.B.E., M.C., M.P., Member of Parliament for Lancaster since May 1929. Parliamentary Secretary to the Board of Education, November 1931 to June 1935, and to the Ministry of Agriculture, November 1935 to 1936. Minister of Pensions since September 1936.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of His Majesty's Birthday, to signify his intention of conferring Baronetcies of the United Kingdom on the following:—

Sir Edward Taswell Campbell, J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for North-West Camberwell, 1923 to May 1929, and for Bromley since September 1930. For political and public services.

Major William Philip Colfox, M.C., J.P., M.P.,
Member of Parliament for North Dorset 1918–1922 and for West Dorset since 1922. For political and public services.

William Julien Courtauld, Esq., J.P. For public services and benefactions in Essex.

Robert Hutchison, Esq., M.D., C.M., LL.D., D.Sc., F.R.C.P.Ed., President of the Royal College of Physicians.

Harry Oakes, Esq. For public and philanthropic services.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of His Majesty's Birthday, to signify his intention of conferring the Honour of Knighthood upon the following:—

William Fawell Ascroft, Esq., J.P., D.L. For public services in Preston.

Stanley James Aubrey, Esq., Chairman of the Committee of Lloyd's.

Clarence Edward Bartholomew, Esq., O.B.E., Chairman and Managing Director of Bryant and May Ltd. For public and social services.

Max Beerbohm, Esq., LL.D., Writer and Caricaturist.

Edwin John Butler, Esq., C.M.G., C.I.E., D.Sc., M.B., F.R.S., Secretary to the Committee of the Privy Council for Agricultural Research and Secretary to the Agricultural Research Council.

Francis Carnegie, Esq., C.B.E., M.Inst.C.E., M.I.Mech.E., Chief Superintendent of Ordnance Factories, War Office.

Cecil Thomas Carr, Esq., LL.D., Editor of Revised Statutes and Statutory Rules and Orders.

John Forster, Esq., Deputy Umpire under the Unemployment Insurance Acts.

William Fraser, Esq., C.B.E., Deputy Chairman of the Anglo-Iranian Oil Company. Frederic Bertram Galer, Esq., F.I.A., J.P., D.L.

Frederic Bertram Galer, Esq., F.I.A., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Streatham. William Waymouth Gibson, Esq., President of

the Council of the Law Society.

John Wilson Gleed, Esq., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Lincolnshire. Philip Edward Haldin, Esq. For political and

public services.

Alderman Arthur Harbord, C.B.E., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Great Yarmouth, 1922–24; and since 1929. For political and public services.

Robert Ernest Kelly, Esq., C.B., M.D., F.R.C.S., Professor of Surgery, University of Liverpool, Senior Honorary Surgeon, Liverpool Royal Infirmary.

Professor John Graham Kerr, LL.D., F.R.S., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Scottish Universities since June 1935. For political and public services in Scotland.

Alderman Hubert Aloysius Leicester J.P. For political and public services in Worcester.

Douglas M'Craith, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Nottingham.

Alexander Campbell Maclean, Esq. For public

and philanthropic services.

Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Edmund Martin,
C.M.G., J.P., Chairman of the Leicestershire
County Council.

George Morton, Esq., K.C., Chairman of the General Board of Control for Scotland, and Sheriff of Aberdeen, Kincardine and Banff.

Professor Owen Willans Richardson, LL.D., D.Sc., F.R.S., Yarrow Research Professor of the Royal Society, University of London.

James Martin Ritchie, Esq., C.B.E., J.P., Chairman of the Bridgeton Employment Committee.

Lieutenant-Colonel Edmund Royds, O.B.E., D.L., Member of Parliament for Grantham, 1910-22. For political and public services in Lincolnshire.

Councillor Frank Leyden Sargent. For political and public services in East Islington.

Thomas Drummond Shiels, Esq., M.C., M.B., Ch.B., Chairman of the Joint Standing Committee for Educational work of the Nonpolitical Empire Societies in London.

Allan Gordon Smith, Esq., D.L. For political and public services.

Bernard Sugden, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in the West Riding of Yorkshire.

Professor Jocelyn Field Thorpe, C.B.E., D.Sc., F.R.S., Chairman of the Smoke Sub-Committee, Chemical Defence Committee, War Office.

Major James Clifford Tozer, J.P. For political and public services in Plymouth.

Wynn Powell Wheldon, Esq., D.S.O., Permanent Secretary, Welsh Department, Board of Education.

Albert Scholick Wilkin, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Herbert Geraint Williams, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for Reading, 1924-29, and for Croydon South since 1932, Parliamentary Secretary to the Board of Trade, 1928-29. For political and public services.

Isaac Henry Wilson, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Mitcham, Surrey.