CROWN OFFICE, March 29, 1870. MEMBER returned to serve in the present PARLIAMENT.

City of Bristol.

Elisha Smith Robinson, of Sneyd Park, in the county of Gloucester, Esq., in the room of Francis Henry Fitzhardinge Berkeley, Esq., deceased.

ADMIRALTY, April 1, 1870.

The following promotions and appointments, dated 1st April 1870, have taken place, consequent on the retirement of the undermentioned Officers, viz. :-

General Henry Ivatt Delacombe, C.B., Royal Marine Light Infantry. General Sir Fortescue Graham, K.C.B., Royal

Marine Artillery.

General John Tatton Brown, C.B., Royal Marine Light Infantry.

Royal Marine Artillery.

Lieutenant-General Sir Thomas Holloway, K.C.B., to be General.

Major-General Henry Carr Tate to be Lieutenant-General.

Colonel Commandant George Augustus Schomberg, C.B., to be Major-General.

Colonel and Second Commandant Charles Loudon Barnard, C.B., to be Colonel Commandant

Lieutenant-Colonel and Brevet-Colonel John William Collman Williams, A.D.C., Assistant-Adjutant-General, to be Colonel and Second Commandant (Supernumerary).

Lieutenant-Colonel and Brevet-Colonel George Stephen Digby, C.B., to be Colonel and Second

Commandant.

Royal Marine Light Infantry.

Lieutenant-General Sir Anthony Blaxland Stransham, K.C.B., to be General.

Lieutenant-General Alexander Anderson, C.B., to be General.

Major-General John Hawkins Gascoigne, C.B., to be Lieutenant-General.

Colonel-Commandant George Lambrick, A.D.C., to be Major-General.

Colonel and Second Commandant Charles Louis to be Colonel-Commandant of the Chatham Division.

Lieutenant-Colonel and Brevet Colonel Peregrine Henry Fellowes to be Colonel and Second-Commandant, and attached to the Portsmouth Division.

ADMIRALTY, April 1, 1870.

In accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 22d February 1870, and former Regulations, the following Officers have been placed on the Retired List of their respective ranks from this date:

Admiral Sir William James Hope Johnstone, K.C.B. (heretofore Rear-Admiral of the United Kingdom.)

Admiral Sir William Fanshawe Martin, Bart., K.C.B.

Admiral Sir Michael Seymour, G.C.B. Admiral Henry Eden.

Admiral John Alexander Duntze.

Admiral Charles Ramsay Drinkwater Bethune, C.B. Admiral Sir Thomas Sabine Pasley, Bart.

Admiral the Right Honourable Lord Edward Russell, C.B. Admiral Sir Robert Smart, K.C.B., K.H. Admiral Sir Baldwin Wake Walker, Bart. Vice-Admiral Sir Lewis Tobias Jones, K.C.B. Vice-Admiral Woodford John Williams. Vice-Admiral Charles Eden, C.B. Vice-Admiral Edward Pellew Halsted. Vice-Admiral William Henry Anderson Morshead, Vice-Admiral Arthur Lowe. Rear-Admiral George Giffard, C.B. Rear-Admiral John Lord Stokes. Rear-Admiral Frederick Henry Hastings Glasse, C.B. Rear-Admiral George Thomas Gordon. Rear-Admiral George William Douglas O'Callaghan, C.B. Rear-Admiral Thomas Pickering Thompson. Rear-Admiral Wallace Houstoun. Rear-Admiral John Fulford. Rear-Admiral Edwin Clayton Tennyson D'Eyn-Rear-Admiral Sidney Grenfell, C.B. Rear-Admiral Richard Strode Hewlett, C.B. Rear-Admiral Sir John Charles Dalrymple Hay, Bart., C.B. Rear-Admiral James Willcox, C.B. Rear-Admiral Hugh Dunlop, C.B. Rear-Admiral Frederick Byng Montresor. Rear-Admiral Edward Southwell Sotheby, C.B. Rear-Admiral Michael De Courcy, C.B. Rear-Admiral the Right Honourable Lord Frederick Herbert Kerr. Rear-Admiral Thomas Wilson, C.B. Rear-Admiral William Edmonstone, C.B. Rear-Admiral James Newburgh Strange. Rear-Admiral James Charles Prevost. Rear-Admiral James Aylmer Paynter. Captain Edward Tatham, C.B. Captain Henry Charles Otter, C.B. Captain George Wodehouse. Captain Thomas Abel Bremage Spratt, C.B. Captain John Borlase, C.B. Captain John Montagu Hayes, C.B. Captain Edward Pelham Brenton Von Donop. Captain George William Preedy, C.B. Captain Matthew Stainton Nolloth. Captain Richard Dunning White. Captain William John Samuel Pullen. Captain Stephen Smith Lowther Crofton. Captain Charles Codrington Forsyth. Captain Thomas Saumarez.
Captain James William Vaughan, C.B.
Captain Donald M'Leod M'Kenzie. Captain John Seccombe. Captain Joseph Grant Bickford. Captain Edward George Hore. Captain William Andrew James Heath. Captain Francis Arden Close. Captain William Wood. Captain Henry John Blomfield. Captain Charles Egerton Harcourt Vernon. Captain William Horton. Captain Richard Bulkeley Pearse.

Captain Herbert Philip De Kantzow.

Captain Joseph Henry Marryat. Captain Montagu Frederick O'Reilly.

Captain Montagu Buccleugh Dunn. Captain James Richard Veitch. Captain Henry Frederick McKillop.