Captain Joseph Martin Mottley, from 10th May | Paymasters:

Captain Philip Somerville, from 14th May 1870. Captain Edmund Norcott, from 18th May 1870.

In accordance with the provisions of the Order in Council of 22d February 1870, the following Officer has been placed on the Retired List from the 14th instant:

> Chief Inspector of Machinery Afloat George Murdoch.

# ADMIRALTY, June 17, 1870.

In accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of 22d February 1870, the undermentioned Officers have been placed on the Retired List of their respective ranks, from the 15th instant:-

### Captains:

Augustus Butler. Henry Wandesford Comber.

# Commanders:

Webb Elphinstone Stone. Charles William Andrew. George Poole. Edward John Lawson.

Commander Charles William Andrew has been allowed to assume the rank of Retired Captain from the 15th instant.

Lieutenant Henry Denman Macaulay. Staff Captain George Henry Kerr Bower, C.B.

## Staff Commanders:

Thomas Bowen. George Henry Blakey. Edward Wilds. George Gilpin.

Staff Captain George Henry Kerr Bower, C.B., has been allowed to assume the rank of Retired Captain from the date of his retirement, and

Staff Commander George Henry Blakey has been allowed to assume the rank of Retired Commander from the same date.

# Navigating Lieutenants:

Alexander Fraser Boxer. George Patterson. Francis Odell Simpson. John Spencer Compton. William Edmund McGrath. Robert Henry Hawes. Francis Blueman Christian. Archibald Thomas Miller. James Greenwood Liddell.

### Chief Engineers :-

John Loudon. Thomas Waterland. William Brookes Baird. Thomas Anderson. Charles Wright. James Connor. George Wilson. Henry James Layland. John Henry Comyn Bishop. Charles Tucker. Ebenezer Clements. John Wallace Carpenter. George Alfred Wells.

William Pinhorn. Edwin Augustus Smith. William Brewer Venor Farror. William Bolton Pearce. Charles S. Giles. Stephen Fisher. Thomas M. Ramage. William Wiles. Thomas Pidcock. James Cobbold Aldridge. Watson William Parminter. Edwin Charles Davison. Arthur A. Speed. Joseph Cave Paine. Stuart Watson. Edwin M. Stone. James Glassford Gooding Simmonds. Thomas Taylor Wise. Nicholas Giles. Francis G. Pearce. Henry Richmond Shaw. John Wenman Warwick Green. Christopher John Martin. Brice William White. John Billingham Swann. Frederick Thomas Robins. William Terrell Grieve. William Pitt Burdwood. Richard Cooke Beale.

## Paymasters:

William Pinhorn, Edwin Augustus Smith, William Brewer Venor Farror, Stephen Fisher, William Wiles, James Cobbold Aldridge, Watson William Parminter, Arthur A. Speed, and Joseph Cave Paine, have been allowed to assume the rank of Paymaster-in-Chief from the 15th instant.

# Assistant Paymasters:

Francis Braddon. Charles Mackern. John Isaac Willcocks. George John Roberts. John Heath. Edward Abbott Burniston. Francis John Pulman. William Carter. Thomas Silk. John Swain Scriven. Thomas Werry Cleave. David Acheson. Edward William Jago. John George Card. Arther Hodson. William Bayly Spence. Nicholas Lower Gedye. Edwin Henry Stephen William Card. Robert Richard Hopkins. Richard Harbord. James Tatlock. Chidley Kearnan O'Molony.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Aberdeen.

Royal Aberdeenshire Highland Militia. Lieutenant John Alexander Man to be Captain. Dated 11th June 1870.