

# The Edinburgh Gazette.

## Published by Authority.

## TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 5, 1876.

### CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION, September 1, 1876.

N pursuance of the provisions of Clause 20 of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Transfers in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of August 1876 :---

#### $\Lambda$ PPOINTMENTS.

- Admiralty,—Thomas Courtney Abbot, James Baker, Frederick Evans, George Robert Mascall, John Joseph Pickard, and William Smith, to be Clerks (Lower Division), Record Department.
- Army Purchase Commission,—David Michael Boardman, to be Clerk (Lower Division).
- British Museum,—Bernard Barham Woodward, to be a Junior Assistant.
- Colonial Office,—Alexander Murray Ashmore and Louis Oxley Pyemont Pyemont, to be Ceylon Writers.
  - Frederick Gordon Penney and Charles James Skinner, to be Straits Settlements' Cadets.
- Convict Service,—Walter John Barnes and Frederick Joseph Price, to be Clerks.
- Education Office,-Richard Matta, to be Inspector's Assistant.
- Inland Revenue,—Richard Bassett, Charles John Bentley, William Gardiner Burridge, Martin Myles Burke, Spencer O'Brien Maryon

Flower, Richard Humphry, John Keily, John Francis Duterran Latham, Henry Thomas Palmer Phelps, John Radforde, Thomas Stair, Thomas Edward Swain, George Were, and Charles Vincent George Gordon Yorke, to be Clerks (Lower Division).

- Mint,—Arthur Ventris Murphy, to be Clerk (Lower Division).
- National Education Office (Ireland), John Bourke, to be Clerk (Lower Division).
- Petty Sessions' Clerks (Ireland), Office of Registrar of,—William Burke Campion and Alexander Colles, to be Junior Clerks.
- Post Office,—Robert Bruce, Edward Crabb, and Frederic Mitchell Hodgson, to be Clerks (Grade I) in the Secretary's Office.
  - Frederick Seymour Bamford, to be Clerk (Lower Division).
  - Elizabeth Ballantyne, to be Postmistress of Lanark.
  - Florence Mary Georgina Fry, Augusta Maraquitta Morris, to be Female Clerks, Savings' Bank Department.
  - Catherine Flynn and Emma Marina Sheppy, to be Counterwomen.
  - Eleanor Mary Meadows, Annie Alicia Shaw, and Anne Sarah Bell, to be Female Returners.
- Privy Council Office,—Henry Edward Moon, to be Clerk (Lower Division).
- Registrar General's Office (England),—George William Bernhardt, Thomas Storer Marshall Day, Joshua Rounthwaite Dixon, John Leval Garner, and Anthony Charles John Strettell, to be Clerks (Lower Division).