- Convict Service,—Sarah Clara Stephens, to be Deputy Superintendent, Woking Female Convict Prison.
- County Surveyors (Ireland),-Edward Tankerville Quilton, to be County Surveyor.
- Mint,—Ernest Selwyn Hughes, to be Junior Clerk in the Melbourne Branch.
- Patent Office,—Joseph Fry, to be Keeper of the Manchester Office of the Trades Marks Registry.
- Post Office,—Thomas Morris, to be Postmaster of Drogheda.
- Privy Council Office,—George Pearson Wheeler, to be Chief Clerk of the Judicial Department.

CLERKS OF THE LOWER DIVISION.

- Chancery Pay Office,—Edward Day, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 20).
- Charity Commission,—John William Joyce, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 26).
- Civil Service Commission,—Frederick Hagon and John Morgan, to be Clerks, Lower Divison (October 18).
- Customs,—John Major Bull, Charles Leupolt Jones, and Charles Griffith Nuttall, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 10).
- Exchequer and Audit Office,—George Stanbury Soper, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 9).
- Friendly Societies Registry,-Charles Lincoln M'Intosh, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 2).
- Home Office,—John Henry Gaskin, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 9).
- Inland Revenue,—Henry George Horton, Albert Saker, and Alfred Walter Soward, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 2).
  - Arthur Whewell, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 3).
  - William North, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 5).
  - Joseph Simpson and Henry Edward William Weaver, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 9).
  - John William Tavender, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 13).
  - Nicholas Guiden, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 20).
  - Oswald Smithson and Arland Samuel Ussher, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 31).
- Local Government Board (Ireland),—Richard Rocke, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 20).
- National Education Office (Ireland),--Charles Lennon Biggs, Francis Leo Dodd, John Farrar, John Moses Fay, John Gill, Alexander Edward Nixon, and Thomas O'Reilly, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 27).
  - John Bliss, Ernest Edward Darke, and Charles Bernard Taylor, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 31).
- Patent Office,—John William Baskerville, Henry Archer Cheeswright, William Henry Cheffins, Victor Isidore Feeny, Henry Edgar Duff Jones, Alexander Harper Lobban, Thomas

Press, Thomas Ridge, Edward Sawyer, Frederick Sawyer, John Richard Sturt, and James Grieves Walker, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 20).

- Post Office,—John William Crawfurd, to be Clerk, Lower Division, in the Circulation Department (October 23).
  - Edward William Fairfax Green, to be Clerk, Lower Division, in the Secretary's Department (October 23).
- Privy Council Office (Veterinary Department),— Alfred John Gibbs, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 5).
- Public Works Loan Office,—Charles Gardiner, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 23).
- Reformatory and Industrial Schools, Office of Inspector of,—Frederick Charles Huddle, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 3).
- Seamen's Registry Office,—John Hill Horton, Arthur Jones, and Edward Martin, to be Clerks, Lower Division (October 12).
- Trade, Board of,-Richard Edward Martyr, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 24).
- War Office,—Frank IIerbert James, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 9).
- Works, Office of,—George Frost Jinks, to be Clerk, Lower Division (October 20).

TREASURY CHAMBERS, November 2, 1876.

The Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury give notice that transfers of Clerks of the Lower Division, appointed in pursuance of the Order of Her Majesty the Queen in Council, dated the 12th day of February 1876, from one Department to another of the Public Service, require to be notified to the Treasury for previous approval, and also to the Civil Service Commissioners, in like manner as if such Clerks had been appointed under the earlier conditions of Service, with this exception, that they will not be required to pass any further examination, provided the situations to which they are transferred have been recognised by the Treasury as proper to be included in the Lower Division.

## CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION, November 1, 1876.

The Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice that the Candidates hereinafter named have passed the Preliminary Examination for Men Clerkships in the Lower Division of the Civil Service, viz. :—

Of the Candidates examined on October 24, 1876-

Burns, Thomas Hugh Divers, William Edward Edwicker, William John Hewitt, Alfred Houseman, Harry Webber Kingwell Inch, George Frederick Kingswood, William Richard Jones