shall further receive the increase of Territory comprised within the line established by the following Article:--

ARTICLE III.

11 On the side of Belgium, Germany, and Italy, the ancient frontiers shall be re-established as they existed the 1st of January 1792, extending from the North Sea, between Dunkirk and Nieuport, to the Mediterranean, between Cagnes and Nice, with the following modifications:

1. In the department of Jemappes, the Cantons of Dour, Merbes-le-Chatcau, Beaumont, and Chimay shall belong to France, where the line of de--marcation comes in contact with the Canton of Dour, it shall pass between that Canton and those of Boussn and Paturage, and likewise further on it ashall pass between the Canton of Merbes-le-Chatenu and those of Binck and Thuin.

2. In the department of Sambre and Meuse, the Cantons of Walcourt, Florennes, Beauraing, and Gedinne, shall belong to France; where the de-marcation reaches that department, it shall follow the line which separates the said Cantons from the department of Jemappes, and from the remaining Cantons of the department of Sambre and Meuse.

3. In the department of the Moselle, the new demarcation, at the point where it diverges from the old line of frontier, shall be formed by a line to be drawn from Perle to Fremersdorff, and by the limit which separates the Canton of Tholey from the remaining Cantons of the said department of the Moselle.

4. In the department of La Sarre, the Cantons of Saarbruck and Arneval shall continue to belong to France, as likewise the portion of the Canton of Lebach which is situated to the South of a line drawn along the confines of the villages of Herchenbach, Ueberhofen, Hilsbach and Hall (leaving these different places out of the French frontier), to the point where, in the neighbourhood of Querselle (which place belongs to France), the line which separates the Cantons of Arneval and Ottweiler reaches that which separates the Cantons of Arneval and Lebagh. The frontier ou this side shall be formed by the line above described, and afterwards by that which separates the Canton of Arneval from that of Bliescastel.

5: The fortress of Landau having before the year 1792, formed an insulated point in Germany, France retains beyond her frontiers a portion of the departments of Mount Tonnerre and of the Lower Rhine, for the purpose of uniting the said

fortress and its radius to the rest of the kingdom.

The new demarkation from the point in the neighbourhood of Obersteinbach (which place is left out of the limits of France) where the boundary between the department of the Moselle, and that of Mount Tonnerre reaches the department of the Lower Rhine, shall follow the line which separates the Cantons of Weissenbourg and Bergzabern (on the side of France) from the Cantons of Permasens Dahn, and Annweiler (on the side of Germany) as far as the point near the village of Voilmersheim where that line touches the antient radius of the fortress of Landau. From this radius which remains as it was in 1792 the new frontier shall follow the arm of the river de la Queich, which on | beyond the frontier above described, the Principa-

leaving the said radius at Queichheim (that place remaining to France) flows mear the villages of Merlenheim, Knittelsheim and Belheim (these places also belonging to France) to the Rhine which from thence shall continue to form the boundary of France and Germany.

The main stream (Thalweg) of the Rhine shall constitute the frontier; provided, however, that the changes which may hereafter take place in the course of that river shall not affect the property of the Islands. The right of possession in these Islands shall be re-established as if existed at the signature of the Treaty of Luneville, 1

6. In the department of the Doubs the frontier shall be so regulated as to commence above the Ranconnière near Locie and follow the Crest of Jura between the Cerneux, Pequignot and the village of Fontenelles, as far as the peak of that Mountain situated about seven or eight thousand feet to the North-west of the village of La Brevine, where it shall again fall in with the antient boundary of France.

7. In the department of the Leman, the frontiers between the French territory, the Pays de Vand and the different portions of the territory of the Republic of Geneva (which is to form part of Swisserland) remain as they were before the incorporation of Geneya, with France, But the Cantons of Frangy and of St. Julien (with the exception of the districts situated to the north of a line drawn from the point where the river of La Laire enters the territory of Geneva near Chancy following the confines of Sesequin, Lacouex and Seseneuve, which shall remain out of the limits of France) the Canton of Reignier, with the exception of the portion to the east of a line which follows the confines of the Muraz Bussy, Pers, and Cornier, which shall be out of the French limits) and the Canton of La Roche (with the exception of the places called La Roche, and Armanoy with their districts) shall remain to France. The frontier shall follow the limits of these different Cantons, and the line which separates the districts continuing to belong to France, from those which She does not retain.

8. In the Department of Montblanc, France acquires the sub-Prefecture of Chambery, with the exception of the Cantons of L' Hopital, St. Pierre d'Albigny, la Rocette, and Montmelian; and the sab-Prefecture of Annecy, with the exception of the portion of the Canton of Faverges, situated to the east of a line passing between Ourechaise and Marlens on the side of France, and Marthod and Ugine on the opposite side, and which afterwards follows the crest of the mountains as far as the frontier of the Canton of Thones; this line, together with the limit of the cantons before mentioned, shall on this side form the new frontier.

On the side of the Pyrenees, the frontiers between the two kingdoms of France and Spain, remain such as they were the 1st of January, 1792, and a joint Commission shall be named on the part of the two Crowns for the purpose of finally determining the line.

France on her part renounces all rights of Sovereignty, Suzeraineté, and of possession over all the countries, districts, towns and places situated