should consist of and comprise the township of Gorton; that the Denton Chapel District should consist of and comprise the townships of Denton and Houghton; that the district of Saint James in Didsbury, should consist of and comprise the townships of Didsbury, Withington, and Burnage; that the district of Saint Clement in Chorlton-cum-Hardy, should consist of and comprise the township of Chorlton-cum-Hardy; that the district of Saint Matthew in Stretford, should consist of and comprise the township of Stretford, and that part of the township of Moss Side which is contiguous to the township of Stretford; that the Birch Chapel District, in Rusholme, should consist of and comprise the township of Rusholme, and such part of the township of Moss Side, as is contiguous to the township of Rusholme, on the north side of such township; and that the district of Saint Thomas, in Heaton Norris, should consist of and comprise the townships of Heaton Norris, Levenshulme, and Reddish.

"That by five several instruments, under the hand and seal of the bishop of the diocese, dated respectively the fourteenth day of September, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-eight, the fourteenth day of February, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-nine, the eighteenth day of January, one thousand eight hundred and forty, the seventeenth day of May, one thousand eight hundred and forty-nine, and the thirty-first day of July, one thousand eight hundred and fifty-one, a particular district taken out of the said parish of Manchester was (under the provisions of the Church Building Acts or some or one of them) assigned to every of the five several churches next herein-after mentioned, (that is to say,) the church of Christ at Heaton Norris; the church of Christ at Harpurhey-cum-Moston, the church of Saint John at Broughton, the church of Saint Margaret at Whalley Range, and the church of Saint John at Longsight, all in the said parish of Manchester.

"That in the fourteenth year of your Majesty's reign, an Act of Parliament was passed, intituled 'An Act to authorize the division of the parish of Manchester into several parishes and for the application of the revenues of the collegiate and parish church, and for other purposes.'

"That a new church within the said parish of Manchester has been consecrated, since the passing of the said last-mentioned Act, by the name of 'the church of Saint John the Baptist Heaton Mersey,' and such new church has been built and is situate within the said district chapelry so assigned to the said church of Saint Thomas Heaton Norris as aforesaid, but the same was not built in pursuance of the provisions of an Act passed in the sixth and seventh years of your Majesty's reign for making better provision for the spiritual

care of populous parishes.

"That under the provisions of the said Act passed in the fourteenth year of your Majesty's reign, and on the representation of your Majesty's said Commissioners, and by virtue of and in conformity to an Order of your Majesty in Council, dated the second day of February, one thousand eight hundred and fifty-two, a district parish named 'the district parish of Saint John Heaton Mersey, taken wholly out of the said district chapelry which was so assigned to the church of Saint Thomas Heaton Norris as aforesaid, was set out and constituted for and annexed to the said church of Saint John Heaton Mersey, and was severed and disannexed from the said parish of Manchester, and from the said district chapelry so assigned to the said church of Saint Thomas Heaton Norris.

"That in addition to the several churches herein-before mentioned, there are four other consecrated churches in the said parish of Manchester, to which districts have not yet been assigned, namely, the church of Saint Paul at Withington; the church of the Holy Trinity at Hulme; the church of the Holy Trinity at Rusholme; and the church of Saint Paul at Kersall Moor; but none of such four several last-mentioned churches were built in pursuance of the provisions of the said Act, passed in the sixth and seventh years of

your Majesty's reign.

"Your Majesty's said Commissioners beg leave further to represent to your Majesty, that having taken into consideration all the circumstances affecting the said parish of Manchester, and the said several ten chapelry districts, and five particular districts herein-before mentioned, so respectively taken out of the said parish, and assigned or annexed to the said several churches respectively, as aforesaid; it appears to them to be expedient that the said several ten chapelry districts, and five particular districts so respectively assigned to the said several churches respectively as aforesaid, should be superseded by the substitution in lieu thereof of districts for such churches, respectively set out, declared and constituted under the provisions of the first section of the said Act, passed in the fourteenth year of your Majesty's reign, chapter forty-one, intituled "the Parish of Manchester Division Act, one thousand eight hundred and fifty," with such variation of boundaries as to some of such districts as are herein-after mentioned, and that districts should also be set out, declared, and constituted under the provisions of such last-mentioned Section and Act, for the three other consecrated churches before-mentioned, viz.:—the church of Saint Paul at Withington; the church of the Holy Trinity at Hulme; and the church of the Holy Trinity at Rusholme; to which no districts have yet been assigned, with such boundaries as are herein after mentioned, and that a district, under the provisions of the first and third sections of such last-mentioned Act, should be set out, declared, and constituted for the before-mentioned church of Saint Paul, Kersall Moor, to which no district has yet been assigned, and should comprise such part of the adjoining parish of Prestwich, in the county and diocese aforesaid, as is comprised within the boundaries of such district herein-after mentioned, and that such part of the said parish of Prestwich as is included within such boundaries, should be annexed to the district so to be set out and constituted for the said church of Saint Paul at Kersall Moor afore-

"That the district so to be set out and constituted for and annexed to the said church of Saint Peter, Blackley, aforesaid, should be named 'The District of Saint Peter, Blackley,' with the boundaries as follows; that is to say: on the southeast by the township of Moston, on the north-east by the township of Alkrington, on the north and north-west by the township of Heaton, on the west and south-west by the township of Crumpsall, and on the south by the township of Harpurhey, as such district of Blackley is more particularly delineated on the map and plan hereunto annexed, and is thereon coloured red and numbered 1.

"That the district so to be set out and constituted for and annexed to the said church of All Saints, Newton aforesaid, should be named 'The District of All Saints, Newton,' with boundaries as follows; that is to say: by a line commencing at the point where the boundary of the township of Newton crosses the Rochdale Canal near Butler's