

## The London Gazette.

## Published by Authority.

## TUESDAY, JULY 14, 1857.

A T the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 25th day of June, 1857,

PRESENT,

The QUEEN's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

HEREAS by an Act passed in the session of Parliament, holden in the fifty-seventh year of the reign of His late Majesty King George the Third, intituled "An Act to empower His "Majesty to suspend training and to regulate "quotas of the Militia," it is, amongst other things, enacted, that it shall be lawful for His Majesty, by any Order or Orders in Council, to suspend the calling out of the militia of the United Kingdom, or any part of the United Kingdom, or of any county, riding, shire, stewartry, city, town, or place, for the purpose of being trained and exercised in any year, and to order and direct, that no training or exercising of the militia of the United Kingdom, or of any part of the United Kingdom, or of any county or counties, riding or ridings, shire or shires, stewartry or stewartries, city or cities, town or towns, or place or places, specified in any such Order or Orders in Council, shall take place in any year, anything contained in any Act or Acts of Parliament relating to the militia to the contrary notwithstanding."

And whereas it has seemed fit to Her Majesty, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to suspend the calling out of the militia of certain parts of the United Kingdom hereinafter mentioned, for the purpose of being trained and exercised in the year eighteeen hundred and fiftyseven; now, therefore, Her Majesty, by the advice of Her Privy Council, doth hereby suspend the calling out of the regiments of militia specified in the Schedule annexed to this Order, for the purpose of being trained and exercised in the year eighteen hundred and fifty-seven, which Schedule is hereby directed to be taken as part of this Order; and it is further ordered that this Order and the said Schedule be published in the London Gazette.

Wm. L. Bathurst.

Schedule of Militia Regiments referred to in the foregoing Order in Council.

England. Anglesey. Bedford. Berks.

Brecknock.
Bucks.
Cambridge.
1st Cheshire.

1st Cheshire.
2nd Cheshire.
Cornwall Rangers.
Cornwall Miners Artil-

lery.
Cumberland.
Denbigh.
1st Derby.

2nd Derby.

1st Devon. 2nd Devon. Devon Artillery.

Dorset.
1st Durham.
2nd Durham.

East Essex. West Essex.

Glamorgan.
1st Gloucester.
2nd Gloucester.

Hampshire. Hampshire Artillery. Isle of Wight Artillery.

Isle of Wight . Hereford.

Hertford. East Kent. West Kent.

Kent Artillery. 1st Lancashire.

2nd Lancashire. 3rd Lancashire.

4th Lancashire. 5th Lancashire.

6th Lancashire. Lancashire Artillery. Leicester.

North Lincoln. South Lincoln.

London.
1st Middlesex.

3rd Middlesex. 4th Middlesex.

5th Middlesex. Monmouth.

Montgomery,

Order in Council.

| 1st Norfolk.
| 2nd Norfolk.

2nd Norfolk.
Norfolk Artillery.
Northampton.

Northumberland. Nottingham.

Oxford.

Pembroke Artillery Radnor.

Shropshire.
1st Somerset.

2nd Somerset. 1st Stafford.

2nd Stafford. 3rd Stafford.

Suffolk Artillery. West Suffolk.

1st Surrey. 2nd Surrey.

Sussex.
Sussex Artillery.
1st Tower Hamlets.

2nd Tower Hamlets. 1st Warwick. 2nd Warwick.

Wilts.

Worcester. East York.

North York. 1st West York.

2nd West York. 3rd West York.

3rd West York. 4th West York.

SCOTLAND.

Aberdeen Argyle Ayr

Berwick Dumfries.

Edinburgh County
EdinburghCityArtillery

Fife Artillery. Forfar Artillery.

Inverness.

Galloway. 1st Lanark.

2nd Lanark. Perth.

Renfrew.

Ross. Stirling.