North Riding of Yorkshire, to Wit. Midsummer Sessions, 1867.

of the Lady the Queen, holden for the North Riding of the county of York, at Northallerton, in the said Riding, on Tuesday in the first week after the 24th day of June, to wit, the 2nd day of July, in the thirty-first year of the reign of our Sovereign Lady Victoria the First, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, Queen, Defender of the Faith, before the Right Honourable Alan Earl Cathcart (Chairman), The Right Honourable Amias Charles Orde Powlett, and others, their Fellows, Justices of our said Lady the Queen, assigned to keep the Peace of our said Lady the Queen in the said Riding, and also to hear and determine divers felonies, trespasses, and other misdemeanors, committed within the Riding aforesaid.

Whereas at the last General Quarter Sessions of the Peace holden at Northallerton, in and for the said Riding, on the 9th day of April last, a Provisional Order for dividing the said Riding into nineteen highway districts, under the provisions of the Act of the 25th and 26th Victoria, chapter 61, was made in manner and to the effect therein set forth, and it was thereby ordered that the confirmation or otherwise of the said Provisional Order should be taken into consideration at this present Court of General Quarter Sessions. And whereas the said Provisional Order having been taken into consideration at this present Court of General Quarter Sessions, and it appearing expedient that the said Provisional Order should be varied:

Now, therefore, it is ordered by this Court that the said Provisional Order so made as aforesaid shall be and the same is hereby varied in manner hereinafter set forth.

And it is ordered that the said Riding shall be divided into sixteen highway districts to be respectively known by the several names, and to comprise the several parishes and townships hereinafter set forth:—

No. 1. The Northallerton Highway District, to comprise the following parishes and townships, that is to say:—

Ainderby Steeple Morton-on-Swale Appleton Wiske Nether Silton Newby Wiske Birkby Northallerton Borrowby Brompton North Otterington Cotcliffe Osmotherley Over Dinsdale Crosby Danby Wiske Over Silton Deighton Romanby East Cowton Sigston South Cowton East Harlsey South Otterington East Rounton Ellerbeck Sowerby-under-Cotcliffe Girsby Thimbleby 1 3 2 2 Great Langton Thornton-le-Beans Great Smeaton Thornton-le-Moor Gueldable Thrintoft 🐇 Warlaby Hornby Welbury Hutton Bonville West Harlsey Kiplin Landmoth-cum-Catto West Rounton Lazenby Whitwell Winton, Stank, and Hal-Leak Little Langton likeld

Yafforth

Little Smeaton

No. 2. The Birdforth Highway District to comprise the following parishes and townships, that is to say:—

Ainderby Quernhow
Ampleforth
Asenby
Bagby
Balk
Birdforth
Boltby
Brawith
Byland
Carlton Husthwaite
Carlton
Catton
Cundall
Cowshy

Coxwold
Dalton
Dishforth
Elmer with Crakehall
Fawdington

Fawdington
Feliskirk
Holme
Hood
Howe
Humberton
Hutton-Conyers
Hutton-Sessay
Kepwick
Kilburn, High and Low

Kirby Hill
Kirby Knowle
Kirby Wiske
Knayton
Langthorpe
Leckby

Marton-le-Moor

Maunby Middleton Quernhow Melmerby Milby Morton

Newsham, with Breckenbrough North Kilvington Norton Conyers Norton-le-Clay Oldstead

Pickhill with Roxby Rainton with Newby Sand Hutton Sessay

Skipton
South Kilvington
Sutton - under - Whitestonecliff

Sutton with Howgrave Thirkleby with Osgoodby Thirlby

Thirsk
Thornton Bridge
Thorp-le-Willows
Topcliffe
Thornbrough

Thornton Baxby
Thornton Bridge
Thornton-le-Street
Upsall

Wath Wildon Grange

No. 3. The Bulmer East Highway District to comprise the following parishes and townships, that is to say:—

Barton-le-Willows
Buttercrambe
Claxton
Clifton
Cornbrough
Crambe
Earswick
Flaxton
Foston
Gate Helmsley
Harton
Haxby
Heworth
Holtby
Huntington

Lillings Ambo

Low

Easingwold

Farlington

Flawith

Helperby

Murton
Osbaldwick
Rawcliffe
St. Marygate
Sand Hutton
Sheriff Hutton
Skelton
Stittenham
Stockton-on-the-

Stockton-on-the-Forest Strensall Thornton-le-Clay Towthorpe Upper Helmsley Warthill Wigginton

No. 4. The Bulmer West Highway District to comprise the following parishes and townships, that is to say:—

Aldwark
Alne
Angram Grange
Beningbrough
Brafferton
Bransby-cum-Stearsby
Crayke
Dunsforth, High and

Huby Husthwaite Linton Marton with Moxby

Myton with Ellenthorpe Newburgh Newton-on-Ouse

High and Oulston.
Overton
Raskelf
Scackleton
Shipton
Skewsby with Dalby