ORDER, 1881.

By the Lord Lieutenant and Privy Council of Ireland.

COWPER.

W HEREAS, in consequence of the prevalence in certain parts of England of Foot-and-Mouth Disease, the Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council passed an Order bearing date the 3rd day of January, 1881, making regulations as to markets, fairs, exhibitions, and public sales of animals in England, and imposing certain restrictions in respect thereof, and it is by the said Order provided that the said Order should commence and take effect from and immediately after the 16th day of January, 1881, and should cease to have effect from and immediately after the 28th day of February, 1881.

And whereas, it is expedient to take measures to prevent the introduction of Foot-and-Mouth Disease into Ireland.

Now, We, the Lord Lieutenant-General and General Governor of Ireland, by and with the advice of Her Majesty's Privy Council in Ireland, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in Us vested under the Contagious Diseases (Animals) Act, 1878, and of every other power enabling Us in this behalf, do order, and it is hereby ordered as follows :

I. This Order may be cited as the "Importation of Animals (Ireland) Order, 1881."

II. This Order shall commence and take effect from and immediately after the 1st day of February, 1881, and shall cease to have effect from and after the 28th day of February, 1881, except as regards the recovery of any penalty incurred thereunder before that day, and words in this Order have the same meaning as in the Animals (Ireland) Order.

III. It shall not be lawful to import into or land in Ireland any animals from that part of the United Kingdom called Great Britain.

Given at the Council Chamber, Dullin Castle, the 31st day of January, 1881.

Robert R. Warren. W. H. F. Cogan.

Edward Sullivan, M.R. H. Law.

Henry Ormsby. Gerald Fitzgibbon, Jr. Thos. Steele.

THE CONTAGIOUS DISEASES (ANIMALS) ACT, 1878.

THE following areas are now Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease under the abovementioned Act (except the lines of railway within those areas as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through those areas, without being untrucked within them):-

- Bedfordshire.-The Petty Sessional Divisions of Bedford, Biggleswade, and Sharnbrook, in the county of Bedford, and the borough of Bedford.
- Buckinghamshire.-The county of Buckingham, and the boroughs of Buckingham and Chepping Wycombe.
- Cambridgeshire. The county of Cambridge, and the borough of Cambridge.

Liberty of the Isle of Ely .- The Liberty of the Isle of Ely, and the borough of Wisbech.

- Derbyshire.—The county of Derby, and the boroughs of Chesterfield, Derby, and Glossop.
- Dorsetshire.-The Petty Sessional Division of Blandford, in the county of Dorset, and the borough of Blandford.

IMPORTATION OF ANIMALS (IRELAND) | Essex .- The county of Essex, and the boroughs of Colchester, Harwich, Maldon, and Saffron Walden, except the lands and buildings at the Victoria Docks, and at Thames Haven, and at Harwich, respectively approved by the Privy Council for the landing and lairage of foreign animals.

> Gloucestershire.-(1.) The Petty Sessional Division of Cirencester, in the county of Gloucester. (2.) The Petty Sessional Division of Tewkesbury, in the county of Gloucester, and the borough of Tewkesbury.

> Hampshire.-(1.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Alton, Basingstoke, Fareham, Havant, Odiham, Petersfield, and Southampton, in the county of Southampton, and the boroughs of Basingstoke, Portsmouth, and Southampton, except as follows :- The Royal Clarence Victualling Yard and the other lands and buildings in the port of Portsmouth approved by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage of foreign animals; the foreign animals wharf, and the foreign animals quarantine stations, and the other lands and buildings in the port of Southampton, approved or defined by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage or for the quarantine of foreign animals; and such landing-places in the port of Southampton as are at the date of this Order used for the landing of animals from Ireland.

(2.) The Isle of Wight, including the boroughs of Newport and Ryde.

- Huntingdonshire .- The county of Huntingdon, and the boroughs of Godmanchester, Huntingdon, and St. Ives (Huntingdonshire).
- Kent.—The county of Kent, and the boroughs of Canterbury, Deal, Dover, Faversham, Folke-stone, Gravesend, Hythe, Maidstone, Margate, Ramsgate, Rochester, Sandwich, Tenterden, and Tonbridge Wells.
- Leicestershire .- The county of Leicester, and the borough of Leicester.
- Lincolnshire.-The Parts of Holland, the Parts of Kesteven, and the Parts of Lindsey, Lincolnshire, and the boroughs of Boston, Grantham, Stamford, Grimsby, Lincoln, and Louth, except the foreign animals wharf, and the lands and buildings at Grimsby approved by the Privy Council for the landing and lairage of foreign animals.
- Norfolk.-The county of Norfolk, and the boroughs of King's Lynn, Norwich, Thetford, and Yarmouth.
- Northamptonshire .--- The county of Northampton, and the boroughs of Daventry and Northampton. Soke of Peterborough.-The Soke of Peterborough, and the borough of Peterborough.
- Nottinghamshire.--The county of Nottingham, and the boroughs of East Retford, Newark, and Nottingham.
- Oxfordshire.-That portion of the parish of Headington, in the county of Oxford, lying on the north side of the Old Stokenchurch Turnpike Road.
- Suffolk.-The county of Suffolk, and the boroughs of Beccles, Bury St. Edmunds, Eye, Ipswich, Southwold, and Sudbury.
- Surrey .-- The county of Surrey, and the boroughs of Godalming, Guildford, Kingston-on-Thames, and Reigate.

Sussex .- The county of Sussex, and the boroughs of Arundel, Brighton, Chichester, Hastings, Hove, and Rye.