day of February, 1881.

By the Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

THE Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under The Contagious Diseases (Animals) Act, 1878, (in this Order referred to as the Act of 1878,) and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do order, and

it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. The area described in the Schedule to this Order, except the lines of railway within that area as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through that area, without being untrucked within it, (with which transit nothing in this Order shall be deemed to interfere,) is hereby declared to be an area infected with footand-mouth disease.

2. This Order shall take effect from and immediately after the sixteenth day of February, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-one; and words in this Order have the same meaning as in the Act

of 1878.

SCHEDULE.

C. L. Pecl.

An area comprising the Petty Sessional Division of Allertonshire, in the North Riding of the county of York.

THE CONTAGIOUS DISEASES (ANIMALS) ACT; 1878.

THE following areas are now Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease under the abovementioned Act (except the lines of railway within those areas as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through those areas, without being untrucked within them):-

Bedfordshire. - The Petty Sessional Divisions of Bedford, Biggleswade, and Sharnbrook, in the county of Bedford, and the borough of Bedford.

Buckinghamshire.—The county of Buckingham, and the boroughs of Buckingham and Chepping Wycombe.

Cambridgeshire. - The county of Cambridge, and the borough of Cambridge.

Liberty of the Isle of Ely.—The Liberty of

the Isle of Ely, and the borough of Wisbech.

Chester, Cheshire .- The county of boroughs of Birkenhead, Chester, Congleton, Crewe, Macclesfield, and Stockporf, except as follows:—The foreign animals wharves at the Wallasey landing-stage and the Woodside landing-stage at Birkenhead; and the lands and buildings at Birkenhead approved by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage of foreign animals; and such landing-places in that county or in those boroughs as were on 28th January, 1881 (the date of the Order) used for the landing of animals from Ireland.

Derbyshire.-The county of Derby, and the boroughs of Chesterfield, Derby, and Glossop.

Dorsetshire. - The Petty Sessional Division of Blandford, in the county of Dorset, and the borough of Blandford.

Essex.—The county of Essex, and the boroughs of Colchester, Harwich, Maldon, and Saffron Walden, except the lands and buildings at the Victoria Docks, and at Thames Haven, and at Harwich, respectively approved by the Privy Council for the landing and lairage of foreign animals.

T the Council Chamber, Whitehall, the 8th ! Gloucestershire .- (1.) The Petty Sessional Division of Cirencester, in the county of Gloucester.

(2.) The Petty Sessional Division of Tewkesbury, in the county of Gloucester, and the borough of Tewkesbury.

Hampshire.—(1.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Alton, Basingstoke, Fareham, Havant, Odiham, Petersfield, and Southampton, in the county of Southampton, and the boroughs of Basingstoke, Portsmouth, and Southampton, except as follows:-The Royal Clarence Victualling Yard and the other lands and buildings in the port of Portsmouth approved by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage of foreign animals; the foreign animals wharf, and the foreign animals quarautine stations, and the other lands and buildings in the port of Southampton, approved or defined by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage or for the quarantine of foreign animals; and such landing-places in the port of Southampton as were on 11th January, 1881 (the date of the Order) used for the landing of animals from Ireland.

(2.) The Isle of Wight, including the

boroughs of Newport and Ryde.

Huntingdonshire.-The county of Huntingdon, and the boroughs of Godmanchester, Huntingdon, and St. Ives (Huntingdonshire).

Kent.—The county of Kent, and the boroughs of Canterbury, Deal, Dover, Faversham, Folke-stone, Gravesend, Hythe, Maidstone, Margate, Ramsgate, Rochester, Sandwich, Tenterden, and Tonbridge Wells.

eicestershire.—The county of Leicester, and the borough of Leicester.

incolnshire.—The Parts of Holland, the Parts of Kesteven, and the Parts of Lindsey, Lincolnshire, and the boroughs of Boston, Grantham, Stamford, Grimsby, Lincoln, and Louth, except the foreign animals wharf, and the lands and buildings at Grimsby approved by the Privy Council for the landing and lairage of foreign animals.

Vorfolk.—The county of Norfolk, and the boroughs of King's Lynn, Norwich, Thetford, and Yar-

Northamptonshire .- The county of Northamptou, and the boroughs of Daventry and Northampton. Soke of Peterborough.—The Soke of Peterborough, and the borough of Peterborough.

Nottinghamshire.—The county of Nottingham, and the boroughs of East Retford, Newark, and Nottingham.

Oxfordshire.—That portion of the parish of Headington, in the county of Oxford, lying on the north side of the Old Stokenchurch Turnvike Road.

Suffolk.—The county of Suffolk, and the boroughs of Beccles, Bury St. Edmunds, Eye, Ipswich, Southwold, and Sudbury.

urrey.—The county of Surrey, and the boroughs of Godalming, Guildford, Kingston-on-Thames, and Reigate.

Sussex.—The county of Sussex, and the boroughs of Arundel, Brighton, Chichester, Hastings, Hove, and Rye.

Warwickshire.—(1.) So much of the borough of Birmingham, in the county of Warwick, as lies between Jamaica Row, Dean Street, Pershore

Street, and Edgbaston Street.
(2.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Atherstone, Birmingham, Coleshill, Coventry, Rugby, and Solihull, in the county of Warwick.