1879, and 11th March, 1880, who intend to demand payment of the principal sums therein contained at the expiration of the fourth, third, second, and first years respectively of their currency, must leave the said Bills at the Bank of England for examination, not later than the 8th March next, between the hours of ten and two; and payment of the said principal sums will be made at the Bank on and after the 11th day of March next.

Treasury Chambers, Whitehall, February 28, 1881.

WHEREAS by section 3 of the "Wild Birds Protection Act, 1880," the killing and taking of wild birds were prohibited for the time between the 1st day of March and the 1st day of August in each year, and by the 8th section power was given to one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State as to Great Britain, upon the application of the Justices in Quarter Sessions assembled of any county, to extend or vary the time during which the killing and taking of wild birds, or any of them, was prohibited by the said Act, such extension or variation to be made by Order of one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State:

And whereas the Justices for the county of Essex, in Quarter Sessions assembled, have applied to me to the effect that an Order should be made directing that the time during which the killing and taking of wild birds is prohibited shall be varied in the county of Essex, so as to be from the 1st day of April to the 1st day of August, so far only as concerns Curlew, Dunbird, Godwit, Oxbird, Snipe, Widgeon, Wild Goose, and Woodcock.

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable Sir William Vernon Harcourt, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in pursuance of the said Act, and on such application as aforesaid,

hereby order as follows :--

The time during which the killing, wounding, and taking of wild birds is prohibited, shall be varied in the county of Essex so as to be from the 15th day of March to the 1st day of August, so far only as concerns Curlew, Dunbird, Godwit, Oxbird, Snipe, Widgeon, Wild Goose, and Woodcock: Provided that this Order shall be in force until the 1st September, 1881, and no longer.

Given under my hand at Whitehall, this 28th day of February, 1881.

W V Tra

W. V. Harcourt.

Treasury Chambers, February 28, 1881.

THE Secretary of State for War, with the concurrence of the Lords Commissioners of the Treasury, hereby gives notice that the undermentioned employments in the Manufacturing, Commissariat, Ordnance Store, and Engineer Departments of the War Office are added to Schedule B of the Order in Council of 4th June, 1870, viz.:—

All Artificers, Writers, Timekeepers, Messengers, and Labourers of whatever description, employed on daily or weekly rates of wages.

Civil Service Commission, March 1, 1891.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February, 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Transfers in the Civil Service, were notified to them in the month of February, 1881:—

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, Joseph Henry Scrivener to be Pensioner Writer.

Commons, House of, Charles Langton Lockton to be Clerk in the Vote Office.

Patent Office, Harold John Adams, Henry Allen, Percy Howell Cathcart, Moses John Jackson, and Fred Ogden to be Indexing and Abridging Clerks.

Post Office, Alice Sarah Edwards, Amy Mary Howard, and Ellen Isabella Miles to be Female Clerks.

John Casey and Alfred Edward Francis to be Paperkeepers.

Royal Observatory, Edinburgh, Henry Walter Ride to be Second Assistant Astronomer.

Science and Art Department, Frederick William Moore to be Curator in the Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin.

Trade, Board of, William Harris to be Third Class Engineer Surveyor.

War Office, Colonel Herbert George Deedes to be Assistant Under Secretary of State.

Clerks and Boy Clerks of the Lower Division.

Admirally, George Warren to be Clerk.

Chancery Pay Office, Victor Alexander Gamman, Thomas Edwards Jones, Michael Mahony, Henry Sellar, George Jarrett Shervill, and Edmund Myland Stoneham to be Clerks.

Civil Service Commission, Frederick James Foot to be Clerk.

Customs, Alfred Titus Beecroft, John Clements, Stephen James Cutterell, John Evans, William Harris, Thomas Comer Hewett, Thomas Isaac, Thomas Iveney, John Jones, George Juden, James Ladler, Thomas Mordey Mitchell, John Moir, Henry Onslow, William Betts Peach, John Powell, George Richard Saunders, James Slie, Peter Whittle White, and John Worsley to be Clerks.

Education Office, Frederick Alphonse Marie John De Liguoro, Francis George Emler, Alfred Sidney Raworth, and William Edward Shoemack to be Clerks.

Walter Tapper Jerred to be Boy Clerk.

Inland Revenue, Ernest Whitaker to be Clerk.

Post Office, Richard Barber, Wilfred Catchpool, William Holt Hatch, Francis William Hewlett, Thomas Dillon Jones, Francis Middleton, Daniel Henry O'Sullivan, Russell James Reavell, Arthur Ernest Shurlock, Henry Reynolds Telford, Charles Denyer Upham, and Ernest Williams to be Clerks.

Albert Edward Chipperfield, Thomas Herbert Jones, Frederick Milner Ludbrook, Arthur Ernest Shurlock, and Albert Edward Westell

to be Boy Clerks.

Prisons Commission (Scotland), Edwin Jose McClary Dos Santos and John Moore to be Clerks.

Public Works Office (Ireland), Richard Ellwood to be Clerk.

George William West to be Clerk for temporary duty.

Registrar-General's Office (Ireland), Richard Farmer to be Clerk.

## TRANSFERS.

Exchequer and Audit Office, William John Bridgman, Clerk of the Lower Division, from the Valuation Office (Ireland).

Valuation Office (Ireland), Daniel O'Donoghue, Clerk of the Lower Division, from the Exchequer and Audit Office.