2. The area declared, by Order of Council dated the third day of December, one thousand eight hundred and eighty, to be an area infected with foot-and-mouth disease (namely)-the county of Suffolk, and the boroughs of Beccles, Bury St. Edmunds, Eye, Ipswich, Southwold, and Sudbury,
—is, except the union districts of Bosmere and Claydon, Hartismere, Hoxne, Mutford and Lothingland, Newmarket, Risbridge, Samford, Stow-market, Thingoe, and Woodbridge, and the borough of Ipswich, hereby declared to be free from foot-and-mouth disease, and that area, except as aforesaid, shall, as from the commencement of this Order, cease to be an area or part of an area infected with foot-and-mouth disease.

3. The union districts of Bosmere and Claydon, Hartismere, Hoxne, Mutford and Lothingland, Newmarket, Risbridge, Samford, Stowmarket, Thingoe, and Woodbridge, in the county of Suffolk, and the borough of Ipswich, shall continue to be and are hereby declared to be an area or areas infected with foot-and-mouth disease.

C. L. Peel.

T the Council Chamber, Whitehall, the 29th day of March, 1881.

By the Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

HE Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under The Contagious Diseases (Animals) Act, 1878, and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. This Order shall take effect from and immediately after the thirty-first day of March, one

thousand eight hundred and eighty-one.

2. The area declared, by Order of Council dated the fifth day of January, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-one, to be an area infected with foot-and-mouth disease (namely), the whole of the county of Surrey, and the boroughs of Godalming, Guildford, Kingston-on-Thames, and Reigate,-is, except the petty sessional divisions of Chertsey, Croydon, Epsom, Guildford, Kingston, Richmond, and Wandsworth, and the borough of Reigate, hereby declared to be free from foot-and-mouth disease, and that area, except as aforesaid, shall, as from the commencement of this Order, cease to be an area or part of an area infected with foot-andmouth disease.

3. The petty sessional divisions of Chertsey, Croydon, Epsom, Guildford, Kingston, Richmond, and Wandsworth, in the county of Surrey, and the borough of Reigate, shall continue to be and are hereby declared to be an area or areas infected C. L. Peel. with foot-and-mouth disease.

T the Council Chamber, Whitehall, the 29th day of March, 1881.

By the Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

THE Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under The Contagious Diseases (Animals) Act, 1878, and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. This Order shall take effect from and immediately after the thirty-first day of March, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-one.

2. The area declared, by Order of Council dated the eighth day of February, one thousand eight

hundred and eighty-one, to be an area infected with foot-and-mouth disease (namely),—the county Worcester, and the boroughs of Bewdley, Droitwich, Dudley, Evesham, Kidderminster, and Worcester,—is, except the petty sessional divisions of Halesowen, Northfield, Oldbury, and Stourbridge, and the borough of Dudley, hereby declared to be free from foot-and-mouth disease, and that area, except as aforesaid, shall, as from the commencement of this Order, cease to be an area or part of an area infected with foot-and-mouth disease.

3. The petty sessional divisions of Halesowen, Northfield, Oldbury, and Stourbridge, and the borough of Dudley, in the county of Worcester, shall continue to be and are hereby declared to be an area or areas infected with foot-and-mouth C. L. Peel.

T the Council Chamber, Whitehall, the 31st day of March, 1881.

By the Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

> PRESENT: Lord President. Lord Steward.

THE Lords and others of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under The Contagious Diseases (Animals) Act, 1878, and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

The Foot and Mouth Disease (Infected Areas) Order of 1881 is hereby amended as follows:

(i.) In Article 5 (b.) the word four is substituted for the word six.

(ii.) Article 5 (d.) is revoked.

C. L. Peel.

THE CONTAGIOUS DISEASES (ANIMALS) ACT, 1878.

THE following areas are now Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease under the abovementioned Act (except the lines of railway within those areas as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through those areas, without being untrucked within them):-

Bedfordshire.—The petty sessional division of Sharnbrook, in the county of Bedford.

—The petty sessional divisions of Abingdon, Maidenhead, and Reading, in the county of Berks.

Buckinghamshire.—The petty sessional division of Aylesbury, in the county of Buckingham, and the borough of Chepping Wycombe.

Cambridgeshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Bottisham, Cambridge, Caxton, Linton, and Newmarket, in the county of Cambridge.

heshire.—The county of Chester, and the boroughs of Birkenhead, Chester, Congleton, Crewe, Macclesfield, and Stockport, except as Cheshire .- The county of follows:—The foreign animals wharves at the Wallasey landing-stage and the Woodside landing-stage at Birkenhead; and the lands and buildings at Birkenhead approved by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage of foreign animals; and such landing-places in that county or in those boroughs as were on 28th January, 1881 (the date of the Order) used for the landing of animals from Ireland.

Derbyshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Belper, Chesterfield, Derby, and Eckington, in the county of Derby.

No. 24958.