(PORT OF SOUTH SHIELDS.)

A T the Council Chamber, Whitehall, the 9th day of May, 1881.

By the Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

THE Lords of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under The Contagious Diseases (Animals) Act, 1878, and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do hereby define the following part of the Port of South Shields, in the county of Durham, as a foreign animals wharf:

All that space in the port and borough of South Shields, being a part of the Tyne Dock, the property of the North Eastern Railway Company and situate between the Tyne Dock and the road leading from South Shields to Tyne Dock and called Slake Row, inclosed in a line commencing at the water on the timber discharging jetty on the eastern side of the said Dock at a point two hundred and seven feet south-west of the southwest corner of the Jarrow Chemical Works, thence passing in an easterly direction for a distance of six hundred and forty-six feet to the north-west corner of the building called the Sanatorium and slaughter house and bounded by a wooden fence, thence in a northerly direction for a distance of thirty-six feet bounded by the wooden fence of the slaughter-house yard, thence in a south-easterly direction for a distance of thirty-six feet bounded by the north eastern stone wall of the slaughter-house yard and the slaughter-house, thence in a southerly direction for a distance of five hundred and thirty-seven feet and bounded by the east stone wall of the slaughter-house and the said Sanatorium, thence in a westerly direction for a distance of thirtyfour feet and bounded by the south wooden wall of the said Sanatorium and slaughter-house, thence in a northerly direction for a distance of seventy-nine feet and bounded by the west wooden wall of the said Sanatorium and slaughter-house, thence in a westerly direction for a distance of six feet and bounded by a wooden fence, thence in a northerly direction for a distance of two hundred and seventy-five feet and bounded by a wooden fence and wooden gates, thence in a westerly direction for a distance of one hundred and twenty-two feet and bounded by a wooden fence and wooden gates, thence in a northerly direction for a distance of one hundred and ninety feet and bounded by a wooden fence, thence in a westerly direction for a distance of five hundred and ten feet and bounded by a wooden fence, and terminating at the water at the east side of the said Dock at the timber discharging jetty before mentioned at a point five feet south of the point of starting before mentioned, all which space is coloured pink on the plan of part of the Tyne Dock deposited for the purposes of this Order at the Privy Council Office, a copy of which is deposited at the office of the Town Clerk of the borough of South Shields. C. L. Peel.

## THE CONTAGIOUS DISEASES (ANIMALS) ACT, 1878.

THE following areas are now Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease under the above-mentioned Act (except the lines of railway within those areas as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through those areas, without untrucking):—

Bedfordshire. - (1.) The parishes of Biggleswade,

Potton, and Sutton, in the petty sessional division of Biggleswade, in the county of Bedford.

(2.) The parishes of Upper Gravenhurst, and Lower Gravenhurst, in the petty sessional division of Ampthill, in the county of Bedford.

Buckinghamshire.—The township of Waddesdon (with the exception of the detached part thereof known as Ham Green), and the parishes of Upper Winchendon, and Quarrendon, in the petty sessional division of Aylesbury, in the county of Buckingham.

Cambridgeshire.—(1.) The whole of the petty sessional division of Bottisham, in the county of Cambridge.

(2.) The parishes of Chesterton, Histon, Milton, Waterbeach, Landbeach, Impington, and Cottenham, in the petty sessional division of Cambridge, in the county of Cambridge.

(3.) The parishes of Caxton, and Little Gransden, in the petty sessional division of Caxton, in the county of Cambridge.

(4.) The parish of West Wratting, and so

(4.) The parish of West Wratting, and so much of the adjacent parish of Balsham as is in the occupation of Thomas Burkis, in the petty sessional division of Linton, in the county of of Cambridge.

(5.) The parishes of Burwell, and Wicken, and the hamlet of Burwell Reach, in the petty sessional division of Newmarket, in the county of Cambridge.

Cheshire.—(!.) The township of Seacombe, in the petty sessional division of Wirral, in the county of Chester.

(2.) The township of Sutton, in the petty sessional division of Prestbury, in the county of Chester.

(3.) The township of Haslington, in the petty sessional division of Nantwich, in the county of Chester.

(4.) The township of Tiverton, in the petty sessional division of Eddisbury, in the county of Chester.

(5.) The township of Torkington, in the petty sessional division of Stockport, in the county of Chester.

Cumberland.—The borough of Carlisle, and so much of the county of Cumberland as lies within the following boundaries (namely),—from the Murrell Hill-road by the Beck on the south side of the Cemetery up to Holme Head Bay, and so down the river Caldew to the borough boundary.

Derbyshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Belper, Chesterfield, Derby, and Eckington, in the county of Derby.

Dorsetshire.—(1.) The parishes of Turnworth, Winterbourne Clenston, Winterbourne Houghton, and Winterbourne Stickland, in the petty sessional division of Blandford, in the county of Dorset.

(2.) The parishes of Tarrant Keinston, and Tarrant Rawston, in the petty sessional division of Blandford, and the parishes of Preston-cum-Crawford, Tarrant Rushton, and Witchampton, in the petty sessional division of Wimborne, in the county of Dorset.

Durham.—So much of the county of Durham, as lies between the river Derwent as far as Lintz Ford on the south, the road leading to the Spen on the west, Blaydon Burn stream on the north, and the river Type on the north-east, in the township of Winlaton.

Essex.—(1.) The whole of the petty sessional division of Beacontree, in the county of Essex.