Northamptonshire.—(1.) The parishes of Crick, Winwick, Watford, West Haddon, Guilsborough, and Nortoft, in the county of Northampton.

(2.) The parish of Braybrooke, in the county

of Northampton.

(3.) The parish of Thorpe Lubenham, in the county of Northampton.

Rutland.—So much of the parish of Stoke Dry, as is situate in the county of Rutland.

Staffordshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Burton-upon-Trent; Shenstone, Elford, and Rugeley; the township of Draycott-in-the-Clay, in the petty sessional division of Uttoxeter; in the county of Stafford; and the boroughs of Burton-upon-Trent, and Lichfield.

Suffolk.—The parish of Dennington, in the union district of Hoxne, in the county of Suffolk.

Warwickshire.—(1.) The parish of Kingsbury, in the petty sessional division of Atherstone, in the county of Warwick.

(2.) The parish of Seckington, in the petty sessional division of Atherstone, in the county

of Warwick.

Wiltshire.—(1.) The parish of Poole Keynes, in

the county of Wilts.

(2.) The parish of Pertwood; so much of the parishes of Chicklade and East Knoyle as lies to the north of the road from Chicklade to Willoughby Hedge; and so much of the several parishes of Hill Deverill, Brixton Deverill, and Monkton Deverill, as lies to the south-east of the Deverill River, in the county of Wilts.

(3.) So much of the parish of Overton, in the

(3.) So much of the parish of Overton, in the county of Wilts, as lies to the north of the main road from Marlborough to Beckhampton.

(4.) So much of the parishes of Durrington, and Bulford, respectively, in the county of Wilts, as lies to the west of the River Avon; and so much of the parish of Amesbury, in the said county, as lies to the west of the said River and to the north of the northern boundary of the main road from Amesbury to Rollestone.

(5.) The parish of Great Somerford, and so much of the parish of Little Somerford as is in the occupation of Mr. Thomas Sloper, in the

county of Wilts.

(6.) So much of the parishes of Broken-borough, Charlton, and Malmesbury St. Paul (exclusive of the Local Board District of Malmesbury), in the county of Wilts, as is comprised within the inner boundaries of the Fosse-road, the road from Malmesbury to Five Lanes, and the road from Five Lanes to Long. Newnton.

Yorkshire (East Riding).—(1.) 'The petty sessional division of North Hunsley Beacon, in the East Riding of the county of York.

(2.) The petty sessional division of Bainton Beacon, in the East Riding of the county of

York.

(3.) All the lands and buildings situate at Bridlington, in the petty sessional division of Dickering, in the East Riding of the county of York, within the following boundaries, namely,—Marton-road, Sewerby Heads-road, Forty foot-lane, the Promenade, Chapel-street, Prospect-street, Quay-road, Saint John's-street, Kirkgate, and Pinfold-street, respectively.

Yorkshire (North Riding).—The townships of Kirbymoorside, Welburn, Beadlam, Nawton, Wombleton, Skiplam, Fadmoor, Gillamoor, Hutton-le-Hole, Great Edstone, Little Edstone, and North Holme, in the North Riding of the county of York.

Yorkshire (West Riding).—The whole of the petty sessional division of Bolton-by-Bowland, in the West Riding of the county of York.

Veterinary Department, Privy Council Office, 8th November, 1881.

Foreign Office, November 7, 1881.

THE following Charter has been granted to the North British Borneo Company upon a Petition to Her Majesty in Council:—

VICTORIA, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland Queen, Defender of the Faith.

To all to whom these presents shall come

Greeting.

WHEREAS an Humble Petition has been presented to Us in Our Council by Alfred Dent, of 11, Old Broad-street, in the city of London, Merchant; the British North Borneo Provisional Association Limited; Sir Rutherford Alcock, of 14, Great Queen-street, in the city of Westminster, Knight Commander of Our Most Honourable Order of the Bath; Richard Biddulph Martin, of 68, Lombard-street, in the city of London, Banker, a Member of the Commons House of Parliament; Richard Charles Mayne, Companion of Our Most Honourable Order of the Bath, a Rear-Admiral in Our Navy; and William Henry Macleod Read, of 25, Durhamterrace, in the county of Middlesex, Merchant.

And whereas the said Petition states (among other things) to the effect that on the 29th day of December, 1877, the Sultan of Brunei, in the Island of Borneo, made and issued to the Petitioner Alfred Dent and another, or one of them, three several grants of territories, lands, and islands therein mentioned, and a commission.

And whereas the said Petition further states that by the first of the grants aforesaid the Sultan of Brunei granted to the grantees co-jointly their heirs associates successors or assigns all the territory and land belonging to the Sultan on the West Coast of Borneo comprising Gaya Bay from Gaya Head to Loutut Point including Sapangar Bay and Gaya Bay and Sapangar Island and Gaya Island and all the other islands within the limits of the harbour and within three marine leagues of the coast, likewise the province and territory of Pappar adjoining the province of Benoni and belonging to the Sultan as his private property; and in consideration of that grant the grantees promised to pay severally and co-jointly to the Sultan his heirs or successors the sum of four thousand dollars per annum; and by that grant the said territories were from the date thereof declared vested in the grantees their heirs associates successors or assigns for so long as they shall choose and desire to hold them; provided however that the Sultan should have the right to resume the control and government of the said territories if the above-mentioned annual compensation should not have been paid for three successive years.

And whereas the said Petition further states that by the second of the grants aforesaid the Sultan of Brunei granted to the grantees co-jointly their heirs associates successors or assigns all the territories belonging to the Sultan from the Sulaman River on the north-west coast of Borneo unto the River Paitan on the north-east coast of the island containing twenty-one states together with the island of Banguey and all the other islands within three marine leagues of the coast for their own exclusive uses and purposes; and in consideration of that grant the grantees pro-