- 2nd Cambridgeshire (Cambridge University)
  Corps, Lieutenant Reginald Mortimer Higgs
  Mortimer resigns his Commission. Dated 3rd
  November, 1881.
- 1st Dumbartonshire Corps, Acting Surgeon Donald Patrick Stewart resigns his appointment. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 1st Elgin Corps, Lieutenant Charles Grant Mackenzie resigns his Commission. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 3rd Hampshire Corps, Captain Samuel W. Seward is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- Surgeon John Robert Kealy, M.D., is granted the honorary rank of Surgeon-Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- 2nd (East) Kent Corps, Lieutenant John Edwin Hilary Skinner resigns his Commission. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 7th Lancashire Corps, John Melloden Shaw, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 20th Lancashire Corps, Captain John Lees Aspland to be Major. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 1st Leicestershire Corps, Edward Henry Hopton, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 2nd Lincolnshire Corps, The undermentioned Honorary Assistant - Surgeons resign their Commissions:—
- · William Newman, M.D. Dated 16th November, 1881.
  - Francis Snaith. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 7th Middlesex (London Scottish) Corps, John Roy Campbell, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 9th Middlesex Corps, Henry Burgess Weatherall, Gent., to be Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 2nd Midlothian and Peeblesshire Corps, Captain James Paterson is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- 2nd Norfolk Corps, James Preston Larkman, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 1st Northamptonshire Corps, The Right Honourable J. P. Earl Spencer, K.G., whose resignation of his Commission as Major was notified in the Gazette of 23rd July, 1880, is permitted to retain his rank, and to continue to wear the uniform of the Corps on his retirement. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 2nd Somersetshire Corps, Charles Edmond Norman, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 8th Surrey Corps, Richard Foster, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 2nd Sussex Corps, Charles Mortimer Lewis, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 1st Warwickshire (Birmingham) Corps, Lieutenant Henry William Carter resigns his Commission. Dated 16th November, 1881.
- 1st Wiltshire Corps, The undermentioned Officers resign their Commissions:—
  - Captain Thomas Abraham Jerningham Cocksedge. Dated 16th November, 1881. Lieutenant William Allen. Dated 16th November, 1881.
  - Honorary Chaplain the Reverend Horace Meyer, M.A. Dated 16th November, 1881.

lst North Riding of Yorkshire Corps, Lieutenant Charles Ellison Mills to be Captain. Dated 16th November, 1881.

Civil Service Commission, November 14, 1881.

THE Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice, that at an Open Competitive Examination for the situation of Second Class Assistant in the Royal Observatory, Greenwich, held under the Regulations, dated the 19th August, 1861, notice of which examination was given in the London Gazette of 16th September, 1881, the undermentioned Candidate obtained the first place—

Hollis, Henry Park

## PORT OF FOLKESTONE. LIMITS OF PORT.

WE, the undersigned, Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, do hereby, under the authority of "The Customs Consolidation Act, 1876," appoint Folkestone on and after the 1st day of January, 1882, to continue and be a Port in that part of the United Kingdom called England, and do hereby declare that the limits of the said Port of Folkestone, shall commence at Copt Point, in the county of Kent, being the western limit of the Port of Dover, and shall extend westwardly along the coast of the county of Kent, and the coast of the county of Sussex, to the point of the headland called Galley Hill, on the coast of Sussex, being the eastward limit of the Port of Newhaven, and shall extend seaward to a distance of three miles from low-water mark, along the coast within the said limits, and shall include all islands, bays, harbours, rivers, and creeks within the aforesaid limits.

And we, the said Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury, do hereby, on the day and year above-mentioned, annul all former limits of the Port of Folkestone, and all limits of the Port of Rye, and declare the said Port of Rye to be no longer a Port for Customs purposes.

Whitehall, Treasury Chambers, the 9th day of November, 1881. Arthur D. Hayter. John Holms.

## PORT OF NEWHAVEN. Limits of Port.

WE, the undersigned, Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, do hereby, under the authority of " The Customs Consolidation Act, 1876," appoint Newhaven, on and after the 1st day of January, 1882, to continue and be a Port in that part of the United Kingdom called England, and do hereby declare that the limits of the said Port of Newhaven shall commence at the point of the headland called Galley Hill, on the coast of Sussex, being the western limit of the Port of Folkestone, and shall extend along the coast of the county of Sussex to the northeastern part of the parish of Rottingdean, in the said county of Sussex, being the eastern limit of the Port of Shoreham, and shall extend seaward to a distance of three miles from low-water mark, along the coast within the said limits, and shall include all islands, bays, harbours, rivers, and creeks within the aforesaid limits.

And we, the said Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury, do hereby, on the day and year above mentioned, annul all former limits of the Port of Newhaven.

Whitehall, Treasury Chambers, the 9th day of November, 1881.

Arthur D. Hayter.

John Holms.