quired by this Order, the person failing to cause the same to be so slaughtered shall be deemed guilty of an offence against the Act of 1878.

C. L. Peel.

T the Council Chamber, Whitehall, the 8th day of February, 1883.

By Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

> PRESENT: Lord Privy Seal. Mr. Mundella.

THE Lords and others of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under The Contagious Diseases (Animals) Act, 1878, and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. Notwithstanding anything in The Sales in Districts (Foot-and-Mouth Disease) No. 2 Order of 1882, or in any other Order of Council, the provisions contained in The Sales in Districts (Foot-and-Mouth Disease) No. 2 Order of 1882 shall, as from the commencement of this Order, no longer apply to the Districts described in the Schedule to this Order.

2. Nothing in this Order shall be deemed to invalidate or make unlawful anything done under The Sales in Districts (Foot-and-Mouth Disease) No. 2 Order of 1882 before the commencement of this Order, or interfere with the institution or prosecution of any proceeding in respect of any offence committed against, or any penalty incurred

under, that Order.
3. This Order shall commence and take effect from and immediately after the fifteenth day of February, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-

SCHEDULE Districts.

County of Essex. Borough of Colchester. Borough of Harwich. Borough of Maldon. Borough of Saffron Walden. County of Norfolk, Borough of King's Lynn. Borough of Norwich. Borough of Thetford. Borough of Yarmonth. County of Suffolk. Borough of Beccles. Borough of Bury St. Edmunds. Borough of Eye. Borough of Ipswich. Borough of Southwold. Borough of Sudbury. County of Northampton. Borough of Daventry. Borough of Northampton. County of Bedford. Borough of Bedford. Borough of Dunstable. Borough of Luton. County of Cambridge. Borough of Cambridge. Liberty of the Isle of Ely. Borough of Wisbech. County of Hertford. Borough of Hertford. Borough of St. Albans. County of Huntingdon. Borough of Godmanchester.

Borough of Huntingdon. Borough of St. Ives (Hunts). Soke of Peterborough. Borough of Peterborough. County of Durham. Borough of Darlington. Borough of Durham. Borough of Gateshead. Borough of Hartlepool. Borough of Jarrow. Borough of South Shields. Borough of Stockton-upon-Tees. Borough of Sunderland. County of Northumberland. Borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed. Borough of Morpeth. Borough of Newcastle-upon-Tyne. Borough of Tynemouth. North Riding of the county of York. Borough of Middlesbrough. Borough of Richmond. Borough of Scarborough. West Riding of the county of York. Borough of Barnsley. Borough of Batley. Borough of Bradford. Borough of Dewsbury. Borough of Doncaster. Borough of Halifax. Borough of Huddersfield. Borough of Keighley. Borough of Leeds. Borough of Pontefract. Borough of Ripon. Borough of Rotherham. Borough of Sheffield. Borough of Wakefield. County of Leicester. Borough of Leicester. Parts of Lindsey (Lincolnshire). Borough of Grimsby Borough of Lincoln. Borough of Louth. Borough of York. County of Berks. Borough of Abingdon. Borough of Maidenhead. Borough of Newbury. Borough of Reading. Borough of Wallingford. Borough of Windsor. County of Buckingham. Borough of Buckingham. Borough of Chepping Wycombe. County of Chester. Borough of Birkenhead. Borough of Chester. Borough of Congleton. Borough of Crewe. Borough of Hyde. Borough of Macclesfield. Borough of Stockport. County of Derby. Borough of Chesterfield. Borough of Derby. Borough of Glossop. County of Southampton. Borough of Andover. Borough of Basingstoke. Borough of Lymington. Borough of Portsmouth. Borough of Romsey. Borough of Southampton. Borough of Winchester. County of Kent. Borough of Canterbury.

Borough of Deal.