Civil Service Commission, July 2, 1886.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her-Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February, 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Transfers in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of June, 1886:-

APPOINTMENTS.

Commons, House of, Arthur Henry Augustus Ellis to be Clerk.

Consular Service, Horace Dickinson Nugent to be Vice-Consul at New York.

Customs, William Browett, Thomas George Francis Clancy, George Clark, Thomas Dotson Cullis, Francis John Eagle, Edwin Charles Eldred, William James Glave, James Gore, Robert John Boyd Hall, Ernest Alfred Harris, John Holgate (otherwise John Howgate), John Joseph Allen McAuliffe, Edgar Marrable, Charles Henry Molley, Harry William Moore, Martin Moran, James Brendan O'Sullivan, William Edward Parsons, Alfred Henry Phelps, Frederic James Powell, Thomas Reynolds, Thomas Robinson, John Skidmore, Skidmore, Charles Frank Tallack, Richard John Cobby Taylor, William Thomas, George Nugent Thorp, Arthur John Witter, William Henry North Wortley, and Shell George Benjamin Wright to be Out Port Clerks.

Education Department, John Foster to be Inspector's Assistant.

Foreign Office, Francis O'Beirne to be Clerk.

High Court of Justice (England), Frederick Blackmore Etheridge to be First Class Clerk, Chancery Division.

Inland Revenue, David Callum Lethem to be Assistant Surveyor of Taxes.

Post Office, Alexander Phillips Muddiman to be Postmaster (Leighton Buzzard).

Rosamoud Mary Bayes, Jane Birkett Brown, Margaret May Mackay, and Isabella Blaikie Sweet to be Female Clerks.

Prisons Department (Scotland), Robert Gervase Alford to be Clerk of the Works.

Trade, Board of, William Thomas Seaton to be 3rd Class Engineer Surveyor.

Arthur Wellesley Jeffery and William Boultbee Whall to be 3rd Class Nautical Surveyors.

War Office, John Arthur Corcoran to be Clerk

of the Higher Division.

Henry Edwin Boxshall, Gavin James Burns, Henry John Child, Edward Keville Dixon, Griffith John Morris, Herbert William Moxon, Arthur Mechelen Rogers, and George Gates Warren to be Assistant Surveyors in the Royal Engineer Department.

Clerks and Boy Clerks of the Lower Division.

Army Clothing Department, Samuel Henry Newton to be Clerk.

Colonial Office, John Humphrey Williams to be Clerk (for temporary duty).

Customs, John Edward Hamshere to be Clerk.

Paymaster-General's Office, Frederick William Bartlett to be Clerk.

Post Office, William Sidney Barrett, Archibald William Basham, John Jacob Bowring, John Robert Burr, Joshua Cornelius, John Morgans Davies, John Harry Gedge, Edmund Alfred Gregory, Albert George Ireland, Albert John Jorden, George William Joseph McAsey, House, Wingrave, Bucks, Lewis Pawle, Esquire, Joseph William Noble, Alfred Pavitt, Arthur of Rowsham, Wingrave, Bucks, Christopher

James Pearce, Ernest Edwin Rogers, Ernest Smith, Herbert George West, William George West, Arthur Bristowe Wilkinson, and Walter William Woodgate to be Clerks.

Albert William Blackmore, Alfred Marmaduke Booth, Herbert Arthur Box, Charles Henry Byrne, Edwin Carré, William Constant, William Henry Cowham, Frank Aubrey Dawson, George Du Heaume, Walter Osborn Hawes, Julius Albert Hiller, Edward Fisher Hudson, Thomas Samuel Lyons, John Patrick Lawrence Paine, Arthur Pamphlett, Frank Herbert Pattinson, Francis John Payne, Tom Oliver Ridout, James Frank Wilson, and Alexander Young, to be Boy Clerks.

Registrar - General's Office (England), George Frederick Wales Henry and Edward Kemp to be Clerks.

Scotch Education Department, Edwin Douglas Hyatt to be Boy Clerk.

Trade, Board of, Edward Burton, Ebenezer George Clayton, Robert Henshall, and Herbert Edward Wilburn to be Clerks.

Valuation Office (Ireland), John Trathan to be Clerk.

War Office, Arthur Beagley Beavis to be Clerk. Works, Office of, James Young to be Clerk.

Transfers, with the approval of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury:-

Customs, James Ingham, Clerk of the Lower Division, from the Office of Works.

Science and Art Department, Charles James Bateman, Clerk of the Lower Division, from the Valuation Office (Ireland).

Scotch Education Department, Francis Herbert Jones, William Thomas Miller, and Alfred Davey, Boy Clerks of the Lower Division, from the Education Department (England).

Works, Office of, Thomas McDowell, Clerk of the Lower Division, from the Customs Department.

SCHEDULE of Names of Persons referred to in an Act of the forty-ninth and fiftieth years of Her present Majesty, intituled "An Act to "appoint Additional Commissioners for executing "the Acts for granting a Land Tax and other "Rates and Taxes."

ENGLAND.

For the County of Berks. Reverend John Edgell, Lambourne.

For the Borough of Chepping Wycombe, in the County of Buckingham.

William Phillips, High Wycombe, George Wheeler, High Wycombe, James George Peace, High Wycombe, Aubrey Brook Weston, High Wycombe, Thomas John Brook James High Wycombe, Jahr Brook James John Brook James James John Brook James Jame Wycombe, Thomas John Reynolds, High Wycombe, Thomas Marshall, High Wycombe, John Parker, High Wycombe.

For the rest of the County of Buckingham. Tonman Mosley, Esquire, Bangors, Iver, Henry Lawrence Prior, the Rectory, Datchet, the Reverend Henry West, Wraysbury House, Wraysbury, Howard H. Vyse, Esquire, Stoke Place, Stoke, Charles Meeking, Esquire, Richings Park, Iver, Avery Tyrrell, Esquire, Berkin Manor, Horton, Edward Dent, Esquire, Fulmer, the Honourable E. Ellis, Rosenau, Datchet, Meyrick Selby Lowndes, Esquire, of Winslow, Bucks. Stewart Henry Freeman, Esquire, of Old Manor