- 1st Volunteer Battalion, the Prince of Wales's '(North Staffordshire Regiment), Lieutenant J. H. Knight to be Captain. Dated 4th September, 1889.
- 1st Dumbartonshire, George Brown, Gent., to be Second Lieutenant. Dated 4th September, 1889.

EXCHEQUER BILLS.

THE Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury hereby give notice to the holders of Exchequer Bills issued under the authority of the Act 29 Vic., c. 25, and dated the 11th March, 1887, that the Interest thereon for the half-year ending on the 11th September, 1889, will be payable at the Bank of England, on and after the 11th September next; and that the Interest of such Exchequer Bills for the following half-year, to 11th March, 1890, will be at the rate of three per centum per annum.

per centum per annum. Treasury Chambers, Whitehall,

· **· ,**

September 2, 1889.

Civil Service Commission, September 3, 1889.

THE following Candidates have been certified by the Civil Service Commissioners as qualified for the appointments set against their respective names :--

August 29, 1889.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

- Lower Division: Boy Clerks, George Edmund William Browne, Thomas Keeler, James Frederick George Price, James Cameron Smith.
- Post Office: Female Telegraph Learner, London, Clara Ethel Dilley.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

- Office of Works: Park Keeper, Joseph Garner Cartwright.
- Prison Department, Scotland: Warder, John Cowie.
- Post Office: Postman, London, Alfred John Chapman.

Postmen, Edward Charles Barton (Cheltenham), Alfred John Gibbs (Burton-on-Trent), Henry Kift (Sittingbourne), James Vague (Camborne).

FOR REGISTRATION AS TEMPORARY BOY COPYIST. Joseph Ambrose Neill.

August 30. 1889.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Lower Division: Boy Clerk, Robert Rutherford Nichol.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

- Customs: Boy Messenger, Liverpool, William Atkinson Fulton.
- Prison Department, Scotland: Warder, Hew Guthrie.
- Post Office: Sorting Clerks and Telegraph Learners, John Brooks (Middlesbrough), Joseph Henry Griffiths (Swansea), Julius Guy Pettet (Hythe, Kent).

Postmen, David Davies (Llanelly), Joseph Duffy (Drogheda), Gregory John Jones (Chatham), Walter Mavin (Newcastle-on-Tyne), John Henry Smith (Bromsgrove), Herbert Twort (Tunbridge Wells), Patrick Walsh (Cahir), Charles Henry Wilson (Sudbury, Suffolk).

August 31, 1889.

AFTER ÖPEN COMPETITION.

Post Office: Telegraph Learners, London, Arthur ' Baswell, Harry Probert.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Post Office: Postmen, London, William Edward. Butfield, William Henry Taylor.

Sorting Clerk and Telegroph Learner, Swindon, Florence Elizabeth Weaving.

UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL. OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Education Department: Sub-Inspector, John Foster.

Civil Service Commission, September 3, 1889.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February, 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments, Transfers, and Promotion in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of August, 1889:---

APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, Arthur William Codd and Frederick Henry Sharban to be Draughtsmen, Hydrographical Department.

· Horatio Johns and James Owens to be Second Class Assistant-Constructors.

- Consular Service, Frederick Peter Leay to be Vice-Consul, Panama.
- Ecclesiastical Commission, George Albert Andrews . to be Junior Clerk.
- Education Department, John Foster to be Sub-Inspector.

William Henry Brown to be Inspector's Assistant.

- Factory Inspectors' Department, James Edward Ashworth and David Walmsley to be Inspectors of Factories and Workshops.
- Patent Office, William Herbert Davies to be Draughtsman.
- Post Office, William Wigley Berry, James Malin, and Henry Millard to be Clerks, Returned Letter Office.
 - Herbert John Langton and Charles Ward to be Factory Clerks.
 - John Davies (Dowlais) and Walter Drew (Paignton) to be Postmasters.

Emily Allen to be Female Clerk.

Science and Art Department, James Brenan to be Head Master, Metropolitan School of Art, Dublin.

Charles Vernon Boys to be Assistant Professor of Physics at the Normal School of Science.

Clerks and Boy Clerks of the Lower Division.

- Admiralty, Arthur George Read, William Henry Saunders, and John Arthur Smith to be Boy Clerks.
- Army Clothing Department, Arthur Watts Whittaker to be Boy Clork.
- Education Department, George Duguid Adams to be Boy Clerk.
- Inland Revenue, Frederick William Brown to be Boy Clerk, Dublin.
- Irish Land Commission, Henry John Gage to be Clerk (for temporary duty).
- Local Government Board (Ireland), Arthur Henry Lee to be Clerk.
- Paymaster-General's Office, John Richard Cole and Charles Edward Doubleday to be Clerks (for temporary-duty).
- Post Office, Albert Edward Cocks, William Thomas Jesse Hickman, Thomas Keeler,