this Order, such Districts being partly within one or more of the said several Unions.

(5.) The River Tees Port Sanitary Authority, the area within the jurisdiction of such Port Sanitary Authority being partly within one of the said Unions.

(6.) Such other Authorities whose Accounts are or may be by law subject to be audited by a District Auditor, and whose Districts or the areas of whose jurisdiction are for the time being partly situated within one or more of the said Unions, as We may by Order under Seal hereafter prescribe.

ARTICLE II. The said District Auditor shall audit the said Accounts according to the provisions of the several Statutes and of the Orders issued by competent authority, in force for the time being in that behalf, and shall perform all such duties and exercise all such powers in connection with the audit of such Accounts as are prescribed and conferred by the said Statutes and Orders.

ARTICLE III. The District in which the said Sidney Dominic Jerrold shall act as Auditor, and which We hereby assign to him for the performance of the duties assigned to him by this Order, and which shall be termed "The North Yorkshire Audit District," shall, until We otherwise prescribe, comprise the area for the time being included in the several Unions and Districts named in the Schedules to this Order, the District of the Port Sanitary Authority named in paragraph (5) of Article I of this Order, and the districts or areas subject to the jurisdiction of any such Authority as is mentioned in paragraph (3) of the said Article I.

ARTICLE IV. In this Order—
The term "Parish" includes any place for which a separate Poor Rate is or can be made or for which a separate Overseer is or can be appointed.

The term "Overseers of the Poor" includes Churchwardens and Assistant Overseers.

## FIRST SCHEDULE

Names of Unions.

Bedale. Bridlington. Driffield. Easingwold. Great Ouseburn. Guisborough. Helmsley Kirkby Moorside. Knaresborough. Leyburn. Malton. Middlesbrough. Northallerton. Pateley Bridge. Pickering. Scarborough. Stokesley. Thirsk. Wetherby. Whitby.

## SECOND SCHEDULE.

Names of Highway Districts.

East Hang. Leyburn. Northallerton. West Bulmer.

Given under the Seal of Office of the Local Government Board, this eighteenth day of August, in the year one thousand eight hundred and ninety.



Knutsford, one of the Ex-officio Members of the Local Government Board.

Hugh Owen, Secretary.

## (SWINE-FEVER.)

By the Board of Agriculture.

THE Board of Agriculture, by virtue and in exercise of the powers in them vested under The Board of Agriculture Act, 1889, and The Contagious Diseases (Animals) Acts, 1878 to 1886, and of every other power enabling them in this behalf, do order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. The Area described in the Schedule to this Order is hereby declared to be an Area infected

with swine-fever.

2. This Order shall take effect from and immediately after the twentieth day of August, one thousand eight hundred and ninety.

In witness whereof the Board of Agriculture have hereunto set their Official Seal this eighteenth day of August, one thousand eight hundred and ninety.



G. A. Leach, Secretary.

## SCHEDULE.

An Area comprising the borough of Wrexham.

Civil Service Commission, August 19, 1890.

THE following Candidates have been certified by the Civil Service Commissioners as qualified for the appointments set against their respective names :-

August 14, 1890.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Boy Clerks, Alfred Garnet Bonny, Ernest John Gayes, William Edward Hall, Joseph New.

Post Office: Female Clerk, London, Edith Rhodes. Female Telegraph Learners, London, Elizabeth Beattie Scott, Gertrude Mary Quarry.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Customs: Boatman, Alfred David Wilson.

Prisons Department (England): Subordinate Officer, Division I, Charles Mortimer.

Supreme Court of Judicature, England, Probate, Divorce, and Admiralty Division: Third Class Clerk, Felix Arthur Clair Oswald.

Prisons Department, Scotland: Guard, James Henry Robinson.

Post Office: Sorters, London, William Henry Beaver, Richard Edward Belcher, Walter Brooks, William Jones, William Samuel Marden, William Abraham Moolenaar, William Ernest Swinyard.

Postman, London, Arthur Thomas Devine. Sorting Clerks and Telegraph Learners, John Darknell (Bath), Mabel Mary Halliday (Leeds), Emma Bennett Killpack (Mold), Walter Douglas Melhuish (Bath), Richard Watson Smith (Biggar), Alfred Charles Williams (Birmingham).