thereof had oeen contained in the said Charter, and no question should thereafter be raised as to its

validity:

And it was further provided in the said Charter that the said Constitution when approved should be published in the London Gazette, and from and after the date of such publication should come into force:

And it was further provided that the said Organizing Committee should continue in their offices until the day appointed for the first meeting of the Governing Body under the new Constitution, and on and after that day should cease to hold their offices:

And whereas with a view to carrying into effect the said Charter, the provisions hereinafter con tained have been framed by the Organizing Committee as the Constitution of the said Institute: -

Now it is hereby declared as follows:-

GOVERNING BODY.

1. The Governing Body of the Institute shall consist of the President and Governors.

The Governors, other than the President, shall be classified as follows:-

(a.) Nominated Governors.

(b.) Ex-officio Governors.

(c.) Appointed Governors.

(d.) Elected Governors.

(e.) Representatives for the time being of Associations.

Nominated Governors.

2. The Nominated Governors shall be eighteen in number, of whom twelve shall from time to time be nominated by the Sovereign in writing under Sign Manual, and the remaining six shall be nominated by the President.

3. Nominated Governors shall hold their office for five years. At the expiration of each period of five years the vacancies shall be filled up, as to the Governors nominated by the Sovereign, by the Sovereign; and, as to the Governors nominated by the President, by the President.

Ex-officio Governors.

4. The ex-officio Governors shall be the persons who respectively for the time being hold the offices of-

The Lord Archbishop of Canterbury.

The Lord High Chancellor of England.

The Speaker of the House of Commons.

The Chairman of the London County Council.

The Lord Mayor of London.

The Lord Provost of Edinburgh.

The Lord Mayor of Dublin.

The Governor of the Bank of England.

5. The ex-officio Governors shall continue to be Governors so long as they hold the offices in respect of which they are Governors.

Appointed Governors.

6. The Dominion of Canada and the constituent Provinces thereof shall be represented on the Governing Body by eleven Governors, that

The Dominion of Canada by one Governor.

The Province of Ontario by two Governors. The Province of Quebec by two Governors.

The Province of Nova Scotia by one Gover-

The Province of New Brunswick by one

The Province of Prince Edward Island by one

The Province of Manitoba by one Governor. The North-West Territories of the Dominion by one Governor.

The Province of British Columbia by one Governor.

7. The Governor representing the Dominion of Canada shall be appointed by the Governor-General in Council; the Governors representing the constituent Provinces and Territories shall be appointed by the Lieutenant-Governors in Council in each case.

8. The Australian Colonies shall be represented on the Governing Body by nine Governors, that

The Colony of New South Wales by two

Governors.

The Colony of Victoria by two Governors.

The Colony of Queensland by two Governors.

The Colony of South Australia by two Governors.

The Colony of Western Australia by one Governor.

The nine Governors mentioned in this section shall be appointed by the Governor in Council in each case.

9. The Colony of Tasmania shall be represented on the Governing Body by one Governor, who shall be appointed by the Governor in

10. The Colony of New Zealand shall be represented on the Governing Body by two Governors, who shall be appointed by the Governor in Council.

11. The Cape Colony shall be represented on the Governing Body by two Governors, who shall be appointed by the Governor in Council.

12. The Colony of Newfoundland shall be represented on the Governing Body by one Governor, who shall be appointed by the Governor in Council.

13. The Colonies and possessions, with their respective dependencies, hereinafter mentioned, shall be represented on the Governing Body as follows, that is to say :-

British Guiana, Trinidad, and Tobago by one Governor.

Ceylon by one Governor.

Gibraltar, Malta, Cyprus, Bermuda Fiji, and the Falkland Islands, by one Governor.

Hong Kong by one Governor.

Jamaica, British Honduras, and the Bahamas, by one Governor.

The Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands and Barbados by one Governor.

Mauritius by one Governor.

Natal by one Governor.

The Straits Settlements by one Governor.

The West African Colonies and St. Helena by one Governor.

The Governor representing each of the Colonies, or group of Colonies in this section, shall be appointed by one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State for the time being, after consultation with the Governor or Governors of the Colony or group of Colonies for which such Governor is appointed.

14. Governors representing any Colony, Province of a Colony, or group of Colonies, shall hold their office for five years. If no successor is appointed within three months from the date on which the term of office of any such Governor expires, his seat may be filled up by the Executive Council hereinafter mentioned.

15. India shall be represented on the Governing Body by fifteen Governors, selected as follows :-

Nine as representing the Government of India and the following Presidencies and Provinces, that is to say :- Bombay, Madras, Bengal, the North-West Provinces, the